Like our FB page

Like our website
Tweet @bowlingball
Follow @bowlingball
Use and distribution of this article is subject to our terms and conditions
whereby's information and copyright must be included.

Kevin Dornberger Honored With 15th Annual John Davis Award 8/5/2015

Kevin Dornberger, current President of the World Bowling Tour, has been named as the 2015 recipient of the prestigious "John Davis Award". The surprise announcement was made during the Phantom Radio Show at Bowl Expo in Las Vegas, Nevada.

A long time friend of John's, Kevin has spent the past 50-plus years in our great sport. He has been an avid bowler in AJBC, ABC and USBC sanctioned competition since 1955. He has been a part owner of a bowling center and he was also a member of the PBA for 10-years. His impressive resume' also includes being a USBC Silver Level Coach and he has worked with 7-collegiate champions at the Youth Level. He is a Past-President of Team USA Bowling, General Counsel of the USBC, Director of Team USA, President of the FIQ, American Zone Presidium Director and he is also currently the President of the World Bowling Tour which was formerly called the World Tenpin Bowling As- sociation (WTBA).

When the word of John's unexpected passing surfaced, Kevin dropped everything that he was doing and flew to Florida to take part in the celebration of life ceremony. He was visibly shaken when he took to the podium to give an im- promptu speech. He talked about their friend- ship and how much John and the Kegel Company had done with and for the WTBA. Among other things, he promised to create an award on the World Bowling Tour to honor John. This new award would be called "The John Davis Memorial Award". That award was established in 2014.

John Davis, the man who started The Kegel Company, had been totally involved in bowling for nearly his entire life. At an early age, John's dad taught all of his children how to bowl. That "love affair" with this great Sport, had been going on for over a half a century. In his 50-plus years of involvement with bowling, it is safe to say that no one had done more for the Sport of bowling than John Davis. Even though The Kegel Company is a relatively small one, his personal investment in bowling was always unselfish and unmatched.

His innovations, inventions, contributions, etc., have all been well documented in the past His leadership in both technology and humanities, both in this Country and Worldwide, made him perhaps the most sought after figure in the game. His behind-the-scenes committee "work" was always globally welcomed. Because of his vast accomplishments and devotion to the Sport, the Award (aptly called: "The John Davis Award"), was established by Kegel in his name. This prestigious honor is presented annually to a deserving per- son who is actively involved in trying to advance the Sport. A beautiful, "one-of-a-kind", perpetual plaque, bearing each recipients name, is permanently displayed in The Kegel Training Center, in Lake Wales, Florida.

Congratulations Kevin, and thank you for all of your untiring efforts with this great sport.

(Established in 2001)
2001 Joyce Deitch
2002 John Weber
2003 Ted Hoffman, Jr.
2004 Jim Dressel
2005 Mark Gerberich
2006 Carmen Salvino
2007 Linda Davis
2008 Gary Parsons
2009 Len Nicholson
2010 Walt Steinsiek
2011 Gary Beck
2012 Kim Thorsgaard Jensen
2013 Barbara and Bill Chrisman
2014 Mark Davis
2015 Kevin Dornberger

Article was posted with permission from Stars & Strikes, America's Bowling Newsmagazine.

Click here to shop 2020 Custom Drilling Sale! Need Help? Click here to access our contact information. Click here to enter our Weekly Giveaways! We give away 3 bowling balls a week!
WeeklyContestText Click here to shop all Pyramid bowling bags