Like our FB page

Like our website
Tweet @bowlingball
Follow @bowlingball
Use and distribution of this article is subject to our terms and conditions
whereby's information and copyright must be included.

Jason Belmonte Wins Back to Back Chris Schenkel PBA Player of the Year Award

Jason Belmonte

Australia's Jason Belmonte was recently announced as the 2014 Chris Schenkel PBA Player of the Year for the second consecutive year. Following back-to-back major championship victories in the Barbasol PBA Tournament of Champions and USBC Masters as well as a third victory in the PBA Oklahoma Open, Belmo was a runaway winner for POY.

Belmonte becomes the 2nd foreign born bowler to win this award, joining Amleto Monacelli of Venezuela (1989, 1990). He is also the only two hander to take home the coveted honor.

Also awarded with honors were 23 year old Marshall Kent of Yakima, WA with the 2014 Harry Golden PBA Rookie of the Year following his victory at the Saudi Arabia Kingdom International Open and Brunswick Euro Challenge.

Brett Spangler of Niles, OH took home the Steve Nagy OBA Sportsmanship Award and Missy Parkin of Laguna Hills, CA was awarded with the Tony Reyes PBA Community Service Award.

Information provided by the Professional Bowlers Association and