Like our FB page

Like our website
Tweet @bowlingball
Follow @bowlingball
Use and distribution of this article is subject to our terms and conditions
whereby's information and copyright must be included.

Brummett, Pate Named Collegiate MVP's For 2016-2017 Season


BATON ROUGE, La. – Wichita State junior Sydney Brummett and Midland senior Nick Pate were announced as the Most Valuable Players for the 2016-2017 collegiate bowling season by the National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association (NCBCA).

Brummett and Pate were recognized for their performances at the Night of Champions banquet. The banquet brings together the 32 teams that advanced to the Intercollegiate Team Championships, which kicks off Thursday at the Raising Cane’s River Center.

Brummett and Pate also earned the same honor Wednesday from the International Bowling Media Association (IBMA).

Brummett, a three-time and current Junior Team USA member, collected two individual wins as she helped the Shockers to five Tier 1 titles during the 2016-2017 campaign. Brummett, also a member of Team USA 2017, led the nation in average (208.96) and average differential (35.02) during Tier 1 competition.

Brummett was joined by teammates Laura Plazas and Hollyann Johansen in earning first- team All-America honors. Emmanuel’s Destiny Harper and Urbana’s Maude Demers also earned spots on the first team.

Pate, the most valuable player at the 2015 ITC and a Team USA member in 2017, took home individual wins in three consecutive events during his senior year. He added three additional top-five finishes while averaging 217.5 in Tier 1 competition.

Pate was joined by 2014-2015 NCBCA Most Valuable Player Michael Tang of San Jose State, Wisconsin-Whitewater ’s Zach Woelfel, McKendree’s Greg Young and Arizona State’s Chase Nadeau as first-team All-America members.

Abigail Ragsdale of St. Francis- Illinois and Andrew Letscher of Pikeville were recognized as the NCBCA Rookies of the Year. Wichita State’s Mark Lewis was selected as the women’s coach of the year for the fourth time, and Wisconsin-Whitewater ’s Shawn Wochner earned his second Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year award on the men’s side.

For more information on USBC Collegiate, visit Collegiate.

Article was posted with permission from Stars & Strikes, America's Bowling Newsmagazine.