Go to Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic »

Only show reviews for Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.57Write a Review    Read all 49 reviews

I Love It
 
76% (37 of 49)
I Like It
 
14% (7 of 49)
It's Ok
 
4% (2 of 49)
I Don't Like It
 
4% (2 of 49)
I Hate It
 
2% (1 of 49)

Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 12/01/2006 00:00 ( stars)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


If you have read any of our other reviews you will see that we never really have anything bad to say about Hammer bowling balls. The Raw Hammer Toxic is no exception.

We felt pretty confident about this ball based on the performance of the previous Raw Hammer series. All of them are very consistent performers and seem to react well for all styles of bowlers.

We kept our layout pretty simple. The pin is 5" from the PAP and we just kicked the cg right of it a little. At first glance when we threw this ball we thought we found a hard hitting mid-performance ball for when they start to dry out. After a few games we discovered how wrong we were. This ball is a beast for the level of performance its price allows it to sell in.

The ball reaction was as smooth as it gets through the heads with a very strong transition when it hits the dry in the backend. We ended up with a ball that was straighter than our Widow's or our Premiere Series balls from Ebonite (SR300, RXS300 and No Limit) but had as much a place in our bag as any of them.

The great thing with newer mid-performance balls is they react enough to warrant using them on the fresh oil as much as when they start to break down. We are able to throw this ball on our typical house shot from start to finish with very small moves all night. Hammer has hit another home run with their Raw Hammer Toxic, oh and by the way it looks pretty cool going down the lane.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: cchausse 12/09/2006 18:40 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
I stopped bowling in the mid - 90's with about a 210 average, then went bowling with a friend and realized how much I still love this darn game, so here I am. I had no good equipment since it had been so long ago when I quit, and since I don't like balls that hook out of the house, I had to try this beautiful green thing. I had the blue Pearl Hammer way back when so I'm already a huge Hammer fan. Anyway, I'm a left handed tweener. My PAP is 5 1/2 over and 1/2 up. The ball is drilled 4 X 4 and I love it on synthetic lanes, but only like it on wood. It hooks too early on wood and I have to play very deep. The Raw Hammer Toxic bowling ball hits very hard, and if you're wondering, my first outing with the ball was 219, 187, 199, 278. I'm carrying a solid 210 now so that's not too bad. I like the way this ball carries the 7 for me...4 games and I have yet to see a 7 pin. Also, tight hits carry the 6 pin about 80% of the time because it's not entering the 1-2 at an insane angle, another plus in my book. The light hits usually carry very well also. I strongly advocate that I do NOT need to hook the ball 30 boards to slice the rack...and today I proved it. This ball will not handle heavy oil but it's not supposed to....it'd be fun to try though. My wife asks me what I want for Christmas......all I say is it's Red and round. Looks like Santa will be getting me a Hammer Doom this year.

If you're curious, on the house shot: wood; I played 20, out to about 7. On synthetics I played 15 out to about 7. All in all, I love this ball. After all them years, I'm still addicted....ya gotta love it!

Happy bowling!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: MARAUDER2003 01/11/2007 03:21 ( stars)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
Top weight = 4 oz
Pin placement = 3-4 inches
Gross weight = 16 lbs
Drilling per instructions = High RG-Length layout
Lane conditions = drier to medium oil patterns
Factory finish

I’m a novice, so take my advice/comments with caution and I hope I make sense of what I write. I’ve only been bowling for two months, most of the time once a week, sometimes twice. Anyways, I was bowling with a house ball and my average was 135. I decided to get a good ball and the Raw Hammer Toxic bowling ball was the chosen one. My average went up to 185! This ball is excellent. With the above layout, the ball will go long (and straight) and at the very end will hook with very strong backend. My hook (because the way I throw the ball, and not to mention that I come from throwing a straight ball) is somewhat limited but I like it that way. My friend gave this ball a try and the ball hooked even more. Now, if you have a heavy oil lane, the ball will just go straight (no hook) with this layout, at least in my case. If you throw this ball in the 1,2 pocket pins, you will get a strike 9 out of 10 times. I don’t throw the ball too hard, yet the pin reaction looks like I threw the ball faster and harder, I’m beginning to think that their slogan is true. On other note, don’t listen to people that tells you that this ball is too much for you if you are a novice. In my case, I already want to try the most aggressive bowling balls out there.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by MARAUDER2003


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: h23vtec 06/17/2009 04:30 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    185
Sport Shot Average    175
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
i got this ball used and had it redrilled for my specs. it was just an ok ball. had a nice backend move with a pretty good hitting power once it got to the pocket. worked well on drier lanes also. i probably wouldnt buy one new but if you can find one used, why not?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by h23vtec


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: BatkidValentine28 08/01/2008 05:35 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    208
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
The toxic is not my favorite ball in the world.

It hooks more than anything i have had which is very odd to me, but the focus was on the hook so much that this ball has little energy to hit the pins. This is one of the weakest hitting balls that I have had... and yet its hook is outrageous.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BatkidValentine28


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: jmilam99 03/05/2008 06:37 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I love this ball, I just got it and drilled with pin under my bridge of my fingers and cg kicked out 45 degrees. I shot two 289 games and a 236 for a total 814 series. Right out of the box finish and this ball hooks like a monster and its supposed to be a med oil ball and this hooks more than my Anger. But I do love the Anger too don't get me wrong on this ball but I just love to pull out my Toxic first. Thanks Hammer for your great products and I am looking forward to more great balls in the future.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: ezzy 03/05/2009 19:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    216
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
This ball is one of the best balls for the money I ever purchased. I had it drilled strong and it takes off on the drier lanes. It cuts through the oil good on the mid-level lanes. It hits like a tone of bricks. I have a Morich Awesome Hook and this leaves far less 10 pins. The ball is good for a cranker but it must be drilled strong.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: zach.attack 10/26/2008 16:33 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    201
Sport Shot Average    170
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    5 1/4 over 6 1/2
 
I love the toxic. it is the best bowling ball in my bag. I use it every chance I get. I thing I about it is it is not a good spear ball for 10 pins. I LOVE IT.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by zach.attack


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: Beau Jest 05/09/2008 01:09 ( stars)


 
I am a natural full-roller. All of my balls are drilled for that. (This pin is set immediately below and slightly to the left of the thumb.) I have an:



(a) older, Burgundy Zone Pro;

(b) a newer SuperNova; and

(c) this Toxic Hammer (which I've had for a month or two now.)



When rolled over the same mark, the same way, here's how the three balls generally react:



(a) The Zone has a wide, arching path, rolling into the pocket rather hard;

(b) The SuperNova rolls straight then grips at a sharp angle straight to the pocket.

(c) The Toxic Hammer reacts similar to the SuperNova, but breaks in a sharp hook instead of a straight angle.



Here's the real feedback...if I strongly flip my fingers at the point of release...



(a) The Zone is not affected;

(b) The Supernova will finish with a slight and short flip right before it hits the pocket;

(c) The Toxic Hammer will finish with a noticable and longer flip right before it hits the pocket.



I'm finding that the Toxic Hammer is far more consistent and predictable than the other two, even when I release it wrong. I'm also finding that this ball lusts for an inside line. (The Zone prefers an outside line and the SuperNova likes to ride the gutter.) Lately, I've found lots of success starting at the 24-board (I'm right-handed) and rolling it over the 14-board. However, if I release it incorrectly (but still manage to follow-through), it will ride between the 20-board and 15-board all the way down, then hook sharply at the last second into the pocket. Also, if I accidentally pull to the right (but still follow-through), it will head straight for the gutter, then hook and flip rather dramatically.



Last thing for you to know, I have a comparatively relaxed release with low revs. The Zone used to be my primary ball, but now the Toxic Hammer has usurped it.





Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Beau Jest


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: bignutsp 04/25/2008 09:47 ( stars)


 
This is my first real ball so to say I love it, I feel, is out of ignorance (I have no other ball to compare it to). From what I've experienced thus far, this ball is a champ. It seems to be very versatile. I can bowl on dry or freshly oiled lanes, and vary the amount of hook I put on the ball. With the amount of success I've experienced thus far, I see myself staying with this ball for quite awhile.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: ninespare9 03/30/2008 00:41 ( stars)


 
The biggest problem I had with this ball is that it carried oil down very quickly, the problem has declined considerably since I got it. It definitely goes very long and breaks hard; it's not my best ball but it definitely performs well on wood lanes; 2 740+ series in the first 3 months with this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ninespare9


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: tthompson111 03/25/2008 19:34 ( stars)


 
Another great ball with this core. Has very good length for a pearl ball and enough action to pull back to the pocket even on miss-throws. I found this ball to have a very even roll when you let the ball do the work. If you want to crank it, it responds with a violent snap on dry back ends. Don't forget that most bowling balls are condition specific. If this ball doesn't work for you on a particular night, then change equipment or your bowling style. More wrist, less wrist, make adjustments, change your target.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by tthompson111


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: 2fingerwonder 03/15/2008 14:38 ( stars)


 
I personally dont like this ball. The only time it is good is in median-low and low oil conditions. I bowl alot of tournments and I have yet to use it. If I were to recomend a bowling ball it would be the widow pearl. Not all hammers are as bad as this one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 2fingerwonder


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: hammerbuck63 03/01/2008 18:45 ( stars)


 
This thing hooks and hits with power. Biggest problem for me is when things start drying out I have problems controlling it, but recently solved that problem by adding the Cherry Vibe to my bag. Now I feel like I have a good 1 2 punch.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hammerbuck63


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: strikinlefty 02/29/2008 14:58 ( stars)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
The Raw Hammer Toxic stinks I roll over the third arrow doesn't get any hook action or carry. I bought 1 and I was really disappointed no carry no hook thanks Ebonite and Hammer this ball sticks thanks for making me waste my money Ebonite.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by strikinlefty


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: cambo317 02/23/2008 07:52 ( stars)


 
OMG - the best bowling ball in the world! I couldn't believe the major backend hook. I'm 14 and I just bowled my highest game with it a 265! It is awesome and I hope you like it if you buy it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: Hammerhead300 10/28/2007 00:20 ( stars)


 
I am a 220 average bowler if the Raw Hammer Toxic was the only ball I had it would probably be 150. I normally throw a Black Widow and crush the pocket. I bought this for lighter oil, this ball might work OK inside but outside it just doesn't hit like I thought it would.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Hammerhead300


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: rad23 08/22/2007 11:50 ( stars)


 
I drilled this up with a two inch pin. Pin above the fingers and CG an inch below my fingers. This ball goes really long but still turns the corner hard. Best ball for the house shot and it looks great going down the lane.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rad23


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: pheelux 08/06/2007 12:43 ( stars)


 
After reading the specs on this ball, I decided to make the purchase to see what it could do for me. And I am glad I did. I throw an aggressive hook and decided to drill this to be little tamer on the back-end. I am glad I did. This ball screams into the pocket and my ball is 15lb. 4 oz. It hits like a freight train. If you throw decent revs this ball will kill the pocket on medium to heavy oil. Overall I think it would benefit any bowler, no mater the throwing style, in improving their game. Definite punch when it connects the pocket. Recommendation: Get it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: sakde3z1 07/21/2007 20:18 ( stars)


 
This ball is OK. I love it, but sometimes it is inconsistent. When the lanes are not perfect, make sure to be ready for a frustrating night. When the lanes ARE perfect, your opponents will be crying. For those willing to give this ball a try, I recommend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: Bubba2502 07/02/2007 15:04 ( stars)


 
I bought the Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic for my father for fathers day. He loves it, he shot 298 with it already. If you want a ball that reacts get the Hammer Toxic. And it looks very nice going down the lane.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: bowlingguy32 06/23/2007 21:57 ( stars)


 
The Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic bowling ball is awesome, loves oil and will hook on a dime. It does not do well on dry lanes. The first time I used the ball I bowled a 185, 256 and a 190, it has awesome backend power and I highly recommend this ball to a lot of beginners, as well, only because this ball works hard even if you don't throw it right.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: keeones23 06/22/2007 16:47 ( stars)


 
Call it a god send because the Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic ball is as good as it gets on medium light conditions. I am able to get a lot of looks with this ball. This was much more ball than I anticipated even after reading all the reviews. It gets down the lane and as soon as it reaches the drier boards it makes its move. Strong and continuous through the pins. 10 out 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by keeones23


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: JesterD79 06/16/2007 17:43 ( stars)


 
I have had my Toxic for about 6 months now and I still love it!!! It is great on medium oil and as the lanes start to dry out a little. I have tried it on heavy oil but it is a bit slip slidey so I would not recommend it for those conditions. It now has over 500 games on it and still it is going deep and hooking in.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by JesterD79


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: Jethro300 05/29/2007 03:57 ( stars)


 
Good bowling ball for the money but very over rated. The Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic bowling ball has average length, average hook, and average carry. Just AVERAGE. My advise is spring the extra dough for the Brunswick Fury or the No Mercy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Jethro300


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: schmicklebobbin 05/18/2007 09:47 ( stars)


 
The Raw Hammer Toxic bowling ball is amazing! After getting this ball my average improved by 30 pins. It absorbs oil so you have to soak it sometimes but after that its like new. I think this is a good ball for any bowler.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: Billy 05/09/2007 11:42 ( stars)


 
Great ball! I bought the Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic bowling ball to learn how to hook a ball since I have always bowled with a straight fast ball. My high game had been 213 for approximately 20 years. After getting this ball, I bowled a 265, 257, 257, and 247 the first weekend of using it. I bowl from about the 5th board and love the hook in the end. Great ball!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: bigdill71 05/05/2007 15:19 ( stars)


 
I think the Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic bowling ball is good on any lanes at any house you go to. You can place the ball wherever you want the ball to go. Really the best ball I ever owned.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: Djones8040 05/04/2007 12:20 ( stars)


 
My friend told me about the Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic bowling ball and I don't think I will ever go to another ball in my collection again. I can't seem to miss the pins with this baby!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: EIGHTBALL033 04/02/2007 07:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    195206
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
The Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic bowling ball is an awesome ball for the price. More aggressive than I expected, still trying to get use to the balls reaction. I have had my new high game with this ball, a 245. I hope to bring my scores up overall very soon. I will update this review as soon as I get those great scores that Hammer bowling balls produce.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by EIGHTBALL033


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: dafishmix2 03/20/2007 20:57 ( stars)


 
I like the Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic bowling ball pretty much except for some lane conditions it's a problem because either the ball breaks in to the head pin or not close it all, depends. But pretty much like the ball. I love Hammer, keep up the good work.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: jay0806 03/20/2007 05:18 ( stars)


 
I just bought the Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic bowling ball two weeks ago and I haven't bowled under a 600 series yet. In fact, I shot a 700 series with it and during the same game a friend of mine, who has a Toxic, also shot a 300 game and I shot a 275. So if you're looking for a ball to go long with a strong backend this ball is definitely it. I love it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: BR549 03/06/2007 00:12 ( stars)


 
The Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic bowling ball is both fantastic and predictable, very hard-hitting ball. However, its "predictability" has both a good/bad side to it (see below).
I'm a competitive scratch right handed bowler, and have had my Toxic for about 2 months now. Shot a low 700 out of the box on a shot that allowed it to cover 30 boards (and I'm basically a "stroker") and recently strung 21 in a row with it, including a 300 game.
Mine has a 3" pin that's just under and between my fingers, with CG just above thumb (yes, both are inside my span). This is set up for early, yet controllable / predictable roll. Not much "flare" with this drilling; just solid / consistent movement that keeps going left (yet, if conditions allow, it can certainly be "swung" with confidence of coming back, if one so desires!)
However, any "tugs" or misses inside of target generally results in an unpleasant looking spare attempt.
Simply put: it rewards AND punishes (which is fair!)
Even so, I've found this ball very easy to read, and it flat out SPANKS the pins.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BR549


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: Jason G 03/01/2007 13:06 ( stars)


 
The Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic bowling ball is drilled 4 x 4 no weight hole, OOB condition. I am right handed, my ball speed is 17.5 to 18 MPH at the pins per Quibica, I have 350 to 400 revs. The ball was used on a 42 foot christmas tree pattern with day old striped back ends. The ball clears the heads with no effort early on, it has a very strong movement off the break point, but not to the point of a bad over/under reaction. The carry was great, good power, did not keep the pins as low as a lot of the ball of today, but it does seem to send a lot of messengers. This is most likely due to the late break point and sharp entry angle to the pocket. Once the 3rd games comes around and the oil breaks down a bit the ball really will grab early, but the ball still recovers well when you adjust and move to a deep inside line, 5th arrow or so, the carry is still good there. All in all this is a good skid snap reaction ball, if used on a heavy oil shot the ball will really skid to much and if there is a fair amount of carry down the ball will not recover well either. Not the most versatile ball there is, but it is very good on the intended lane condition.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Jason G


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: orange383 02/28/2007 04:35 ( stars)


 
If you are looking for a mid-performance ball with length and backend snap that works well on medium lane conditions, the Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic bowling ball is it! For reference, the lanes where I bowl league usually start out with slightly more than medium oil and break down to light (not dry) conditions. The ball has many drilling patterns for different reactions, but I had it drilled the way it is advertised to perform – high length and medium hook potential. As a medium speed stroker, this ball is superb throughout the night on most occasions with only small adjustments. It hits the pocket hard and yields great pin action.

Unlike aggressive, high performance balls, the Toxic is much more forgiving to error and less temperamental to lane break down and oil carry. However, it does not seem to perform well at the ends of the lane condition spectrum. I threw a couple games at another house with heavily oiled lanes and the Toxic reacted almost like a house ball. On really dry lanes it reacts too violently at the backend, even thrown out to the 1-2 board, often breaking through the headpin. Faster speed bowlers probably wouldn’t have this problem. Drilling a milder pattern should compensate as well.

Overall, I’m very satisfied with the Toxic’s performance. It’s a good compliment to my Hammer HPT 4D (old yes, but still a great performer). I spent quite a bit of time researching the new technology as I have not purchased a ball in more than 5 years. It was an exhausting process, but I eventually narrowed it down to this and a few others with comparable performance (2 Storm, 2 Ebonite and 1 Quantum). In the end, there were 3 reasons I decided to go with the Hammer:
1) past experience
2) price
3) suitability
Given the results, I think I made the right choice. The color scheme isn’t bad either.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: Finley2 02/27/2007 15:30 ( stars)


 
I have rolled a friend's Raw Hammer Toxic bowling ball before and it is great. I have at least 30 friends that have one. They all love it. It has good reaction down lane. It can be drilled for many types of bowlers. This is the ball for medium to heavy oil. It is a very consistent ball. My buddy shot a perfect 300 game just last night.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: travellingtenor 02/20/2007 01:21 ( stars)


 
Well it looks like I have a winner! I have been bowling for a long time and have bowled a 300 game and once finished a mixed league with a 215 average. When I moved from Northern California to Arizona I discovered a problem. The balls that worked in the medium to heavy oil in California did not work in the medium to dry conditions in Arizona. I fought with the conditions with the equipment that I had but I could not get my average above 184. I bought a Brunswick Red Zone bowling ball and tried that for a while but it did not work for me. The back end was too much and I would have nights that I would leave eight to nine ten pins. Today I talked to one of the local bowling pros and he suggested that I try a Raw Hammer Toxic bowling ball. To make a long story short, the ball really works. Long in length and a good back end. Not too strong, and not too weak. Just right. My first three games were 190, 257, and 206. And I did this without any drama. All I had to do was point and shoot and let the ball do the work. Three games and I left one ten pin. It can only get better as far as I am concerned. I cannot wait to see what I can do on league night. The other teams are going to suffer big time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: TheElectricFox 02/15/2007 22:08 ( stars)


 
Highest house ball game - 105
Highest Toxic game - 152
Weeks bowling - 4
Drilled for medium oiled lanes (fingertip grip)

I'm a new bowler(house ball avg low 100's)... after the first few games of getting used to it, I shot a 406 series. I am happy with the ball, and look forward to getting better and purchasing another ball from Hammer.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: silvermatrix13 02/15/2007 17:27 ( stars)


 
The Raw Hammer Toxic bowling ball is all that it is promised to be. It is replacing the Angular One. Out of the box the Raw Hammer Toxic was awesome during league play. A great buy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: Nakita 02/15/2007 17:04 ( stars)


 
The Raw Hammer Toxic bowling ball is awesome ball, my 13 year old daughter bowled a 256 game with this ball. She has improved a lot by moving up to this ball. And now my husband has bought himself one!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: ChanMan 01/22/2007 21:14 ( stars)


 
I received the Raw Hammer Toxic bowling ball a week ago and had it drilled the High RG - Length Layout and yesterday during a tournament, I bowled my highest game, 220!! I'm 13 so it might not be a big score for you adults but this ball has a great reaction on the light pattern at the lanes I bowl at. I also use a U-Turn Particle Pearl.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ChanMan


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: Bowlingball.com reviews by Kendra Gaines 12/06/2006 16:15 ( stars)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
I drilled the Raw Toxic with a 4 1/4 pin above my ring finger. The cg is directly below the pin and has no weight hole. I used this on a 42 foot sport pattern and I was surprised at how much the ball hooked. It is pretty clean through the front part of the lane and has a very strong backend reaction. This ball is a little more aggressive than the Raw Doom, as I had to move about 2-3 boards left of my Doom on this pattern. I would have to say the Toxic fits very well between a Pain and a Doom.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Bowlingball.com reviews by Kendra Gaines


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: hood53 03/03/2008 21:32 ( stars)


 
I got a 16 pounder last winter after me and a friend watched a guy throw two 300 games in a row, WOW what a sight! Had my Toxic drilled real aggressive and wow what a ball it rolls heavy through the head and snaps into the pocket and hit very hard for a ball of its price range. My only complaint is it's not as colorful as my wife's.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hood53


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: ALLPRO299 01/04/2008 09:24 ( stars)


 
The ball I think rolls better when lanes are dry I shot 247, 259 and 247 on a dry shot on and with oil I only shot 219, 230 and 192. In my Saturday league I am averaging 223.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: t-wev_09 11/05/2007 18:21 ( stars)


 
The Raw Hammer Toxic is a great ball, what I think is it just stinks when the lanes start to change but I am starting to adjust to that and it's getting better, it does need to get a couple of games on it before it starts to hook, but besides those it is a great ball for the price. It is true that it does deserve to be up there with the Black Widow, because once it hits friction BAM pins down, it hooks like a dream and hit hard love it :D

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by t-wev_09


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: dafishmixx 09/08/2007 17:07 ( stars)


 
I can honestly say of my first Hammer ball, the Raw Hammer Toxic, that I have seen a huge improvement in my average. In just three short months I went from a 164 average to my current average of 191. That's a 25 pin jump in my average.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: miller709 08/18/2007 18:41 ( stars)


 
This is a very good ball. I just got mine today and I bowled six games with it. If you hit the pocket it hits so hard it's not even funny. The color is very cool.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by miller709


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: t-maxx 07/16/2007 15:41 ( stars)


 
I just got this ball and it was love at first site. It hooks like a charm and is also inexpensive. Also if you get this ball expect higher scores.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by t-maxx


Hammer Raw Hammer Toxic Reviewed By: BJI Reviews By Joe Cerar Jr. 02/14/2007 00:00 ( stars)


 
Core Design:
The symmetric core used in this third Raw release has been modified to strengthen the move off friction compared to the original Raw Doom. The Rg is 2.50 and the Diff is a hefty .050.

Coverstock:
The attention-grabbing lime green and silver mix is highly visible from 20 lanes away. The pearl Max Flip reactive has a new age pearl additive which enhances both friction and oil absorption.

Manufacturer's Intent:
Brian Graham, Hammer's brand manager, says, We are using our Max Flip Reactive found on the original Doom with our new Traction Pearl. The change to the new pearl provides more predictable ball motion in oil and improved consistency from shot to shot. Basically, the Toxic is an improved version of the original Raw Hammer Doom.

Test Results:
This ball may look like your father's old green Nitro, but let me assure you it is not. The ball motion characteristics of this green pea are noticeably more aggressive than the smooth rolling Nitro. The pearl additive enhances traction and reaction in oil and dry, as mentioned above. The core is shaved on its sides to improve its internal dynamics off dry boards. The result is an aggressive pearl which fears no oil pattern, yet can be used as a "send it" ball when playing deeper inside angles.

When to Use:
We had success on our heavier test patterns simply by closing our angles to the pocket. We saw no squirt in the oil and a strong arcing move off dry. Our lower-pin test balls responded about a foot earlier and rolled very heavy through the midlane on the fresh. Our higher pins displayed more length and a more angular move, and matched up better on our medium and drier patterns. On these patterns, we naturally opened up our shoulders when we played more inside angles to the pocket, which opened our launch angles. Pin carry was every bit as good as with higher-priced balls, with similar motion characteristics. Dulling the surface with 500 abralon added five boards of total hook, similar to that of the Raw Pain, but with easier length to the spot.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BJI Reviews By Joe Cerar Jr.


Read all 49 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter