Only show reviews for Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.79Write a Review    Read all 47 reviews

I Love It
 
85% (40 of 47)
I Like It
 
13% (6 of 47)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 47)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 47)
I Hate It
 
2% (1 of 47)

Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 09/05/2011 09:47 ( stars)

1603 of 1613 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click to Enlarge

Get everything you got the from Nano in a pearlized cover!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4"
PSA Layout - 4" x 4" x 2 1/2"
Balance Hole - 1" x 2" on PAP

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 Grit Polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
First of all I would like to say that this was possibly the most anticipated release of the year for me. I completely love the Virtual Gravity line
including the Virtual Gravity Nano released earlier this year. But in my opinion that ball pearlized has to be one of the best balls ever seen by
the bowling industry. Even though I am not currently bowling league I was excited to drill this ball and throw it. That does not happen very often, now on to the review.

As every bowler in the world knows by now the VG Nano was arguably one of the best balls made by Storm. But if you are a higher rev player you would appreciate seeing it in a pearlized cover so that with all that power we can move a little further right and really open up the lane. Well Storm has answered our prayers and we expect the Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl to do just that. Pack all that power into a pearlized package and let us play further right.

Since we all like to see the ball hook we kept the layout stronger then normal for a Storm ball and expect to see plenty of down lane movement out of this ball.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Exactly what I wanted and exactly what I think Storm needed. The Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl speaks for itself on the lanes.

The ability to move right with a ball that strong is a deadly combination on today's oil patterns. It is not often that you can take such a strong piece
of equipment, drill it very strong and play in the highest scoring area of the lane possible for multiple games.

The Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl does all of the above and looks absolutely wonderful doing it.

My review on this ball is a waste of time if you have already watched the video. There is nothing I can say that would tell you something you can not see for yourself by watching our video review.

The Nano Pearl is strong - check
The Nano Pearl is amazing - check
The Nano Pearl will blow away the competition - check
The Nano Pearl is the next ball you should buy - check


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 10/28/2011 12:44 ( stars)


 
The Latest ball in Storm’s Premier Line is the Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl. The Nano Pearl uses a medium Rg/ high differential core wrapped up by NRG cover stock that uses mica to create a cleaner ball motion through the front of the lane but still allowing more surface contact resulting in a strong back end hook. This ball plays well on medium to higher oil volumes. The Nano Pearl should be another good ball in a very successful line.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 10/12/2011 14:10 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Storm Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl is a new release from Storm. We received our supply and the wait is over for the new strike machine.
Drilled one last night for a customer that needs more hook in the backend. Layout was 4x4x2 this give him all the hook he will ever need in the backend. Nano Pearl will be the next ball for all bowlers no matter how you roll the ball the Storm Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl is the ball you have to have.

Ormmond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: FlyingRev 10/16/2011 17:54 ( stars)

114 of 784 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    223
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Right-Handed Player

League Average: 236

Ball is drilled with pin about 1 inch above ring finger. My PBA Professional drilled it this way to go a tad longer and still give me a good backend. I have only been bowling for about 18 months but buy a couple of new balls each month.

After throwing it for 1 game in practice here are my impressions:

I prefer to play more "down and in", and this ball is more than acceptable for players like me. Average ball speed is 18 mph and throwing down the 3 board the Nano Pearl would read the midlane very well and as it hits the dry it did not jump or over-react but flowed quite nicely into the pocket. frames 3-12 were strikes and ball hits quite hard.

My only negative about the high-end STORM balls is they are generally 40 to 60 game balls before needing to be cleaned. After about that many games the ball loses quite a bit. This is probably not new information to those who have played STORM'S high-end stuff. But before that time, I plan to enjoy the ball!



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by FlyingRev


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: STRMBWLRJK 10/26/2011 15:24 ( stars)

34 of 34 people found this review helpful.


 
The Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl is amazing! I drilled mine with a 50 X 4 X 45 degree dual angle layout. I drilled an extra hole with a 63/64” drill bit 2-1/2” deep an inch down my VAL. I have used this ball in multiple situations already and I have not been disappointed yet! The NRG coverstock on this ball, even as a pearl, handles heavier oil with no problem. While I would still generally start with my VG Nano on a fresh pattern, the Nano Pearl fits perfectly under the Nano and gives me room for error as I break down longer patterns. On medium sport patterns or house patterns, the Nano Pearl is a good ball to start with. I am able to play more direct with mine and get a strong, smooth mid-lane roll when the patterns are fresh. As they break down, I can start moving further inside while opening the lane up with the same ball just by rotating my hand around the ball more. On short patterns, the Nano Pearl also gives me a strong mid-lane roll, but it tends to roll-out more. I like this reaction because it is more predictable and controllable on short patterns. The Nano Pearl has quickly become one of my favorite balls! I am pretty confident in what reaction I am going to get from it in just about any situation. Try one out today! You won’t be disappointed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by STRMBWLRJK


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: TenJaye 10/11/2011 18:12 ( stars)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 2.5"
Starting Top Weight: 2.74oz.
Ball Weight: 15lbs 4oz.

DRILL PATTERN
Dual Angle: 70/ 4.5 / 70
X Hole (if there is one): None

SURFACE PREP
Straigh out of the Box

LANE CONDITION
Length: 40 ft.
Volume: Medium-Heavy
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS

Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl Review

What a better way to compliment what was already an amazing ball than to release a pearlized version! The Nano was an incredible ball for me, so I was very excited when I heard that Storm was releasing a Pearl version. In the short time that I have had this ball, it is already making its way into my all-time favourites list.

Being a medium-rev tweener player, I do not go out on the lanes thinking that I can overpower them with revs or high speed. That being said, I need a ball that gives me a lot of control yet can be aggressive enough when I need it. The one thing that often concerns me with pearlized balls is that sometimes they are too long or too snappy in the backend. The NANO PEARL gives the perfect combination of getting down the lane and reading the backend smoothly without being jumpy.

The thing I love most about the NANO PEARL is its versatility and the many ways I can use it on the lanes. On a fresh condition, I am able to go a little straighter but it still gives me a strong finish, and once the lanes start to open up I am able to stay with it, move in and let it fly. The NANO PEARL also provides a pretty seamless transition in the event that you need something really aggressive to start with.

LIKES – EVERYTHING
DISLIKES – I only have two right now! :p

Storm Amateur Staff Member
T.J. Calara – Calgary, Alberta Canada.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TenJaye


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: AJensen 10/18/2011 20:35 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    235
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/2 over
 
Just what we were all waiting for! The Pearl Nano is everything I was hoping it would be and more. With both the original Nano and now the Pearl, I'm not sure how the compitition stands a chance. When you have both the origanal and the Pearl Virtual Gravity Nano you will be a step ahead of of your compitition.I drilled mine with the pin above the ring and the cg kicked out a lttle bit leaving the MB to the right of the thumb. I have a amall hole in the P2. This ball rolls great through the front heads and packs a punch threw the pocket just like the original Nano. I will be adding this one to my bag. OMG! This ball is Awesome!

Andrew Jensen
Storm and Roto Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by AJensen


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: watson24@suddenlink.net 12/10/2011 23:33 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 up 1 1/4
 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 3 inches
Ball Weight: 15lbs

DRILL PATTERN
Pin to PAP: 4 1/2
CG to PAP: 3
X Hole (if there is one): no hole

BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: 375
Ball Speed: 16.5
PAP/Track: 4 up 1 1/4

SURFACE PREP
Grit: Factory
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polished

LANE CONDITION
Length: 41
Volume: 25.30
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Kegel Turnpike

BALL REACTION
Length: 8
Back End: 9
Overall Hook: 9
Midlane Read: 8
Breakpoint Shape: 9

COMMENTS
Likes:
I like how the Nano Pearl clears the fronts for a strong Asymmetrical ball. Reads the midlane very well and has a strong continuous backend motion. This is a great compliment to the original Nano.
On the Turnpike Pattern I was able to play next to track and just chase it in, without sacrificing carry.
This is a very strong pearl from Storm. The Pearl would be a great fit for all styles of bowlers. For the heavy handed players who had a harder time getting the ball through the fronts with the original Nano the pearl is just what you need. If you feel like the pearl is going a little too far, I've hit it with a 2000 abralon by hand and that did the trick. The ball read just a about a foot early and still had great continuation through the pins and gave me more room at the breakpoint.

Dislikes: None


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by watson24@suddenlink.net


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: Precisionrotoguy 12/10/2011 15:38 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Storm Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl
Pin over ring, CG towards palm, MB by thumb, no X hole.

Well, if you're looking for a lot of back end with a really strong read off of friction, this is the ball for
you. This ball is at it's best when in the hands of the rotationally challenged in a situation where they
need to create "big boy" angle. Visually this ball is stunning and I love the new scent! It was the best selling
high performance ball in our shops the month it came out and is getting solid reviews from those in the center
in which I spend most of my time. Another HIT from Storm!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Precisionrotoguy


Read all 47 reviews

Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Bowling Balls 4.79 out of 5 based on 47 ratings. 47 user reviews.