Only show reviews for DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.83Write a Review    Read all 12 reviews

I Love It
 
83% (10 of 12)
I Like It
 
17% (2 of 12)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 12)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 12)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 12)

DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 09/05/2011 09:24 ( stars)

88 of 93 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click to Enlarge
Separate yourself from the crowd with DV8's Misfit.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4"
Dual Angle Layout - 40* x 4" x 45*
Balance Hole - 1" x 3" P2

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500 Siaair Micro Pad; Rough Buff; High Gloss Polish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
The Misfit series is supposed to bring a stronger ball motion to the entry level performance group for DV8. Along with its higher performance core the Misfit offers a smoother motion through the lanes with plenty of power to spare.

With two Misfits being offered in two different awesome color combinations we went a little stronger all around with the Magenta/Yellow Misfit and later we can compare the Orange/Blue one to it for layout differences.

We expect to see a really smooth motion in the heads and mid-lane with a strong but controllable motion off the breakpoint. Given that DV8 has kept a stronger core we do expect to still see plenty of movement overall but rolled up into something that can handle drier conditions then the Reckless and Hell Raiser.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Holy smokes batman what a good ball reaction.

Do not let the price or performance category fool with with the Misfit. This ball means business and can hang with any other at this price point or even a few above it. The Class 1 Reactive coverstock with high polish finish does allow the Misfit to easily get down lane before reading friction but once it gets there watch out, it goes left and hits like a freight train.

I was expecting the length part of this ball test and I expected to see moderate movement on the backend but I was pleasantly surprised to see how much movement I was able to create if I wanted to with this ball. I think this will be a great choice for versatility on lighter volume conditions
and I can say from my next ball test that slight variations in the layout will change ball motion but still give you what you are looking for.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 08/31/2011 13:35 ( stars)

23 of 28 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 

Click to Enlarge
Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 0" up) - 4"
Dual Angel Layout - 40° x 4" x 40°
Balance Hole - 1" x 3" deep (approx. 4" right of thumb)

Surface Prep - Out of Box (500 Siaair Micro Pad; Rough Buff; High Gloss Polish)

Welcome to the world of DV8 bowling. The Misfit is a bowling ball you are sure to remember. It comes in a couple of wild colors including (Magenta/Yellow and Blue/Orange). The Blue and Orange on remind of the the University of Florida colors.

The Misfit bowling balls are fantastic polished bowling balls meant for drier lane conditions. They allow you to play a tighter line easier than you can with the higher performance bowling balls.

Again, using the word performance can be bad. Just because this isn't labeled a pro performance, doesn't make it worse than the DV8 Hell Raiser. They just roll differently and this one doesn't hook as much, but it still hooks!

If you are a beginner, you need to find equipment that you are comfortable with. And a great analogy is that of golf. Your not gonna use a driver, on the putting green, and you shouldn't be using a putter off the tee. You use the right equipment for the job. In bowling we equate the pro performance line to the driver. However, we don't call the driver a pro performance golf club. And we don't call the sand wedge an entry level golf club.

However, I digress and I hope my point was made. The DV8 Misfit Bowling Balls are phenomenal. They roll great and deserve a spot in your arsenal.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 10/19/2011 14:19 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
The DV8 Misfit has high Rg/ medium differential core under Class 1 Reactive coverstock. This ball is very clean through the front and mid lane before making a predictable continuous motion on the back end. This ball is great for light oil volumes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 09/22/2011 16:28 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The new series from DV8 will fill all your needs they have Two Misfits that will give length and backend. DV8 has a warranty two years from the date of purchase. If you want a ball that your friends will notice get a new DV8 Misfit.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: RB2 11/17/2011 20:50 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    192
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 x 1/2 up
 
I bought this ball for medium to medium-dry conditions.Iwanted a solid reactive ball that had lenght and continuation at the back-end.Sometimes pearl balls can be snappy or Iwould sometimes get over-under.This is the first solid-reactive ball that gave the lenght Ineeded and the continuation at the back-end witout having to make an adjustment every other frame.If you do have to make an adjustment it comes back and plenty of recovery if you miss right. The carry is fantastic.This may be thier entry level ball but, it plays like a high performance one.Didn't mind getting the free towel either! FANTASTIC piece of equipment at a bargain price.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RB2


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: HaOsLsE 02/09/2013 15:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
Men's league loves my new ball.

I didn't realize it was so pink from the name Magenta/Yellow. There is quite a bit of pink...and of course my men's league nagged me. We now nicknamed my ball "Pinky".

Anyways...they can call it whatever they want...this ball hit surprisingly hard. With the my league having 5 man teams...the lanes dry up pretty quick. This ball still has enough go get down the lane...and VERY strong on the back end still. I still laugh on how hard the pins fly and bounce around with this ball. This ball actually has more messengers than my hell raiser. I've killed a couple 10s thinking they were gonna stand.

This ball has plenty of hook and pocket crushing power...and you cannot beat it at this price. There are entry balls that cost more.

Buy it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: Jinggirl 09/23/2012 00:12 ( stars)


 
I have a love-hate relationship with this ball. It is very absorbent like a sponge, so needs to be soaked at least once in very hot water for 15 minutes (maybe even 2-3x) on a weekly basis to make sure it does not absorb too much oil and die/not hook at all (i play at least 12 games a week). Scotch-brite and proshop resurfacing also helps when it seems not to hook as much. Also needs to be wrapped in a light colored towel since it absorbs dark colored dyes and tends to stain - my ball is already stained and looks like a camoflage ball from the dark colored seesaw I had kept it in in my bowling bag. Seems pretty high maintenance...

Having said all that, this ball is fantastic once you find your line. Excellent for medium lanes and league conditions, with unbelievable pin action - the pins keep falling! This ball is perfect for multi-pin spares and once you get your adjustments on the lane right, it is a good ball for every kind of spare as well. I have gotten my highest scores at league with this ball, and improved my average by approximately 40 pins. Recommended with the cautions given above, so you can keep your ball looking good and performing well.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Jinggirl


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: Sparewhiffer 04/24/2012 17:25 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I asked my 'Pro Shop Guy' for a ball to use when the lanes are dry, or the condition becomes destroyed. He gave me a Misfit.

It was a good choice. It hooks and it hits hard.

It's as 'good' as my more expensive balls, it just doesn't hook as much as my Pursuit or Frantic, and it doesn't read as early as my Mission or Omen.

If I don't 'love' a ball, i get rid of it right away...I'll be keeping this one.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Sparewhiffer


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: Sparewhiffer 04/17/2012 09:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Love it? Not so sure about that...it's not a 'huge monster' that splashes pins all over the place all by itself, nor does it plow through oil, or turn left 4/5s of the way down the lane, but for what I bought it for, it does a great job. I'll give it a 'love' because it's price is so low, and it looks really, really cool.

I'm a 220 bowler, with medium speed and low(ish) revs compared to most bowlers in my range. I use the Misfit when:
a) the lanes are dry and my 'big' balls simply hook too much or burn out before they get to the pins.
b) the conditions have broken down or are just real tough, and I don't want the ball to over-react when it smells oil, or gets near a dry board
c) the 'line' is 'outside' 10, and I can't get a 'bigger' ball all the way down the lane, playing the right side of the lane.

This is not a weak ball. This ball does hook. This ball does hit hard...real hard.

I really don't know why it's not as expensive as a lot of other balls. It's just as good...it's just different. In fact, on a lot of lane conditions, it's better than the $200 balls because it helps me shoot higher scores on lane conditions in which the more expensive balls are simply too strong for the conditions I'm facing.
plus...it does look really, really cool.
:)


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Sparewhiffer


Read all 12 reviews

DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Bowling Balls 4.83 out of 5 based on 12 ratings. 12 user reviews.