Only show reviews for DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.95Write a Review    Read all 19 reviews

I Love It
 
95% (18 of 19)
I Like It
 
5% (1 of 19)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 19)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 19)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 19)

DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 09/05/2011 09:34 ( stars)

91 of 91 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click to Enlarge

Separate yourself from the crowd with DV8's Misfit.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/4"
Dual Angle Layout - 45* x 5 1/4" x 65*
Balance Hole - 1" x 3" P3

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500 Siaair Micro Pad; Rough Buff; High Gloss Polish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
The Misfit series is supposed to bring a stronger ball motion to the entry level performance group for DV8. Along with its higher performance core the Misfit offers a smoother motion through the lanes with plenty of power to spare.

With two Misfits being offered in two different awesome color combinations we went a little weaker with the Orange/Blue Misfit compared to our Magenta/Yellow. This was to see how different we could make the balls look with subtle changes in the layout.

We expect to see a much smoother ball motion out of the Orange/Blue then the Magenta/Yellow and look forward to seeing a more controllable motion all around from this test. Given that DV8 has kept a stronger core we do expect to still see plenty of power overall but rolled up into something that can handle drier conditions then the Reckless and Hell Raiser.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
This ball rolls really really good. For everyone who thinks they have to have the highest performance ball on the market to throw strikes, watch the video.

Do not let the price or performance category fool with with the Misfit. This ball means business and can hang with any other at this price point or even a few above it. The Class 1 Reactive coverstock with high polish finish does allow the Misfit to easily get down lane before reading friction but once it gets there watch out, it goes left and hits like a freight train.

This ball test went exactly as I expected. My Orange/Blue Misfit was still a tank and rolled awesome even with the weaker layout. I honestly think that I could handle a complete night of league with a couple of Misfits drilled differently. The difference in ball motion from my Magenta/Yellow to my Orange/Blue was night and day and I did not even tweak the coverstocks.

This layout provided a really strong continuous motion from start to finish without ever really getting uncontrollable. I would use this ball middle of the second game out on a normal house shot because I think my carry would go through the roof compared to everyone trying to get further and further left as the night progresses. All in all the entire DV8 line was very impressive and the Misfit series is a must try for any skill level bowler.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 08/31/2011 13:35 ( stars)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 

Click to Enlarge

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 0" up) - 4"
Dual Angel Layout - 40° x 4" x 40°
Balance Hole - 1" x 3" deep (approx. 4" right of thumb)

Surface Prep - Out of Box (500 Siaair Micro Pad; Rough Buff; High Gloss Polish)

Welcome to the world of DV8 bowling. The Misfit is a bowling ball you are sure to remember. It comes in a couple of wild colors including (Magenta/Yellow and Blue/Orange). The Blue and Orange on remind of the the University of Florida colors.

The Misfit bowling balls are fantastic polished bowling balls meant for drier lane conditions. They allow you to play a tighter line easier than you can with the higher performance bowling balls.

Again, using the word performance can be bad. Just because this isn't labeled a pro performance, doesn't make it worse than the DV8 Hell Raiser. They just roll differently and this one doesn't hook as much, but it still hooks!

If you are a beginner, you need to find equipment that you are comfortable with. And a great analogy is that of golf. Your not gonna use a driver, on the putting green, and you shouldn't be using a putter off the tee. You use the right equipment for the job. In bowling we equate the pro performance line to the driver. However, we don't call the driver a pro performance golf club. And we don't call the sand wedge an entry level golf club.

However, I digress and I hope my point was made. The DV8 Misfit Bowling Balls are phenomenal. They roll great and deserve a spot in your arsenal.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 10/24/2011 12:33 ( stars)


 
The DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue has high Rg/ medium differential core under Class 1 Reactive coverstock. This ball is very clean through the front and mid lane before making a continuous motion on the back end. This ball is great for light oil volumes. This ball will fit into every person's arsenal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: aleone@bbtel.com 09/22/2011 10:30 ( stars)

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I have had my Misfit for over a week now and just love it. All the other balls I own are Pro Performance and this little guy packs a puck that equals all of them (Siege, Evil, Wicked, Storm Nano). Over the years I have owned anything from Brunswick, Ebonite, Columbia, Hammer and just recently Storm. Everyone around me has to stop and take notice of the motion, action and the power punch the Misfit has. I just ordered Reckless and Hell Raiser. Those three plus a plastic ball for that pesky little 10 pin will be all I carry with me anymore. Way to go DV8!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: jpg2588 06/07/2013 22:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    125
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
Bowled a lot when I was younger, and then quit and then about 5 years later I started back bowling and picked up this ball and I improved dramatically!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: tornadobob354@aol.com 07/25/2012 11:15 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    167
Sport Shot Average    167
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Very satisfied with purchase will have the ball drilled for my winter league.Fat service,great price plan on purchasing more items soon for the fall league season.Great prices on many items.Thanks much R.Pezzullo.Highly Recommend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: TeaPot68 05/30/2012 12:10 ( stars)


 
This really is what DV8 says, DamnGoodBowling. This is a damn good ball. I walked into my pro shop wanting to get a ball that I could control on the backends when everything began to breakdown. I didn't want anything to strong on the backend as I already had balls in the arsenal for that. I wanted something that I could still play in the oil and have a continuous back end motion. When my buddy in the pro shop told me he thought this would be a great ball I was very leary. I never had good luck with Brunswick, so I hadn't used their equipment in quite a while. He assured me that Brunswick had made significant changes and that DV8 was a different style. So I trusted him and bought the ball.

Best decision I had ever made. This is one of the strongest continuous motions I have ever seen from a mid performance ball and my scores reflected that this is what I was looking for. Watch out for DV8 to get pretty big over the next couple of years if they continue producing like this.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: Cosmic_L 04/11/2012 12:22 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is a ball that is designed to be used on dry or medium to dry lanes without sacrificing pin carry. the Misfit is a very versatile ball that is very controllable, yet, has a lot of hitting power.

I use my Misfit on the driest of lanes, drilling it pin up to maximize length, forgiveness and conservativeness. Using my favourite release, with a lot of axis of rotation and less axis tilt, I can throw the ball from the 28th board to the middle arrow on the 20th board in order to strike. When using a different release to reduce axis of rotation, I can throw the ball from the 20th board to the second arrow on the 10th board to strike, this shows the extreme conservativeness of this ball.

This ball does not have a very angular roll, but a very clean one, it doesn't 'waffle' like most bowling balls do. This saves axis of rotation and the power is the strongest among all medium-dry lane balls I have thrown, it is common to see messengers when I use this ball even with my slower ball speed.

The only thing is if I have to bowl leagues on dry lanes(I mean those that are really really dry)I have to adjust the 500 siaair pad to 2000 siaair pad to increase comfort when using it(I personally don't throw the ball from the inside part of the lane much).

After all, this is another great ball manufactured by Brunswick and DV8, it is very powerful, very versatile and has a great forgiveness. I would recommend this ball to any bowlers who are lack of comfort when playing on dry lanes or broken down lanes.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Cosmic_L


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: Cosmic_L 04/11/2012 12:22 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is a ball that is designed to be used on dry or medium to dry lanes without sacrificing pin carry. the Misfit is a very versatile ball that is very controllable, yet, has a lot of hitting power.

I use my Misfit on the driest of lanes, drilling it pin up to maximize length, forgiveness and conservativeness. Using my favourite release, with a lot of axis of rotation and less axis tilt, I can throw the ball from the 28th board to the middle arrow on the 20th board in order to strike. When using a different release to reduce axis of rotation, I can throw the ball from the 20th board to the second arrow on the 10th board to strike, this shows the extreme conservativeness of this ball.

This ball does not have a very angular roll, but a very clean one, it doesn't 'waffle' like most bowling balls do. This saves axis of rotation and the power is the strongest among all medium-dry lane balls I have thrown, it is common to see messengers when I use this ball even with my slower ball speed.

The only thing is if I have to bowl leagues on dry lanes(I mean those that are really really dry)I have to adjust the 500 siaair pad to 2000 siaair pad to increase comfort when using it(I personally don't throw the ball from the inside part of the lane much).

After all, this is another great ball manufactured by Brunswick and DV8, it is very powerful, very versatile and has a great forgiveness. I would recommend this ball to any bowlers who are lack of comfort when playing on dry lanes or broken down lanes.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Cosmic_L


Read all 19 reviews

DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Bowling Balls 4.95 out of 5 based on 19 ratings. 19 user reviews.