Only show reviews for DV8 Reckless

Customer Reviews          Average: 5Write a Review    Read all 13 reviews

I Love It
 
100% (13 of 13)
I Like It
 
0% ( of 13)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 13)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 13)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 13)

DV8 Reckless Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 09/05/2011 09:14 ( stars)

180 of 184 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click to Enlarge

Throw caution to the wind and pins to the deck with DV8's Reckless.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4"
Dual Angle Layout - 40* x 4" x 45*
Balance Hole - 1" x 3" P4

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500 Siaair Micro Pad; Rough Buff)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
Well as you may have seen lately mid-performance balls have been some of the best selling and best reacting balls on the market for some time. The technology that goes into some of these balls is equal to that of the high performance balls but with a milder coverstock and a lower price point. Typically we see more length with a good amount of recovery out of balls in this category.

From what we have seen from the DV8 brand and the Reckless we expected nothing less. We drilled this with an aggressive layout as well as an aggressive extra hole position to see what this ball can do matched up against the craziness of the Hell Raiser.

We expect the Reckless to provide a smooth look through the front with a quick transition off the dry boards and nothing less then a ton of recovery.

Lets See.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Possibly my favorite DV8 ball. Even though I felt like I owned the lane with the Hell Raiser the Reckless did exactly what I thought and let me play a little further right and open up the right side of the lane and create a ton of power at the pins.

The ability of this ball to clear the heads was amazing. Right up there with Storm mid-performance balls in my opinion which is a good thing these days. The Reckless showed me no concern for any friction early and cleanly go to my breakpoint before shredding the backend portion of the lanes. Every time this ball got to the point, it was going left towards the pocket. Even on a few shots where i thought I leaked it right, it recovered and destroyed the pins.

Overall this ball has a really good look and the kind of look that I think all league bowlers as well as high end bowlers will like and find very versatile across many conditions. Again the looks of the entire DV8 line completely impress me and make these balls pop off the rack when you see them.

Tonight We Bowl!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Reckless Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 08/31/2011 13:22 ( stars)

14 of 19 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 

Click to Enlarge

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 0" up) - 4"
Dual Angel Layout - 45° x 4" x 30°
Balance Hole - 1" x 3" deep (approx 3" right of thumb)

Surface Prep - Out of Box (500 Siaair Micro Pad; Rough Buff)

The Reckless by DV8 is an Advanced Performance bowling ball that compliments its pro performance brother, the DV8 Hell Raiser.

So smooth, steady, and predictable.

This ball was money off my hands. Obviously we edit our videos to show our good shots, and this was one of those bowling balls that needed little editing. There wasn't much tape that hit the floor.

The overall smooth arc of this bowling ball was fantastic. It starts rolling just a little sooner than the Hell Raiser, giving less of a snap hook at the end. To me, this means it is also less "jumpy" and easier to control.

I really recommend the DV8 Reckless bowling ball to anyone looking to make a new purchase and isn't afraid to try a new brand out.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Reckless Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 09/17/2011 14:44 ( stars)

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
DV8 Reckless is a new line from Brunswick. We have the reckless in our shop for demo we have the one Curlie rolls in the video. The ball is on the lanes a lot we have to make sure we get it back. Reckless has everything you need in a bench mark ball. The Reckless gives you a smooth roll in the front and saves the reaction for the backend. There are a lot of ways to drill the Reckless for the roll you need.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


DV8 Reckless Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 10/19/2011 14:22 ( stars)


 
The DV8 Reckless has a lower RG/ high differential core under Class 3 Reactive coverstock. This ball provides strong a mid lane and continuous motion on the back end. The Reckless is a great choice for medium oil volumes

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


DV8 Reckless Reviewed By: cmarkillie@gmail.com 09/12/2011 13:57 ( stars)

17 of 19 people found this review helpful.


 
I love all the DV8 Balls, I just started bowling last year and my book average from last year was a 178, I bowl in 5 leagues and for the 1st week of bowling I only had 1 night where I shot below my book average.... My series for last week were 504, 569, 557 and 624 (even with the bad set I still averaged 187 overall for the week).... (didn't bowl Monday because of holiday). The pin carry with all 3 balls is phenomenal. Already for this season I have posted a 217 with the hellraiser and a 217 and 246 with the reckless. I haven't shot with the misfit during league yet, but I practiced with it over the weekend and it performs just as well. I shot a 638 for the practice set (5 opens, 3 of which were splits, 7 spares and 20 strikes), not bad for a 178 average 2nd year bowler... All of the balls are very clean getting down the lane and once they get to the back end just drive through the pins. I recommend any of the DV8 balls to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Reckless Reviewed By: Bhanson199@gmail.com 02/19/2012 23:26 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    150
Sport Shot Average    175
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
i bought this ball this year really seriously started bowling this year. Now that I got my bowling style down i can throw it across the boards and watch it come back i put alot of rev rpms on my ball and i throw a powerful cranker style and i love the sound of the ball when it hits the pins i can cover boards in heavy oil when needed and i can back of and throw like a stroker or tweener when the lanes are dry and no matter what it seems to find the pocket and hit it hard. my average speed is right around 15.5 but i can throw faster when need and slow i down to pick up spares when i have them. i bowled a 198(high game)with it(154 avg) and i really seriously started this year so it tells you how good this ball is for anyone. But I know people that have nano's and nano pearls and they love how my ball reacts and the said its a great looking ball is too. But now that i figured out what i was doing wrong i expect to be averaging over 200 soon along with some high 200's great ball very strongly recommend u'll love it from your first throw.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Reckless Reviewed By: jeff kelley 06/23/2012 17:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5.25 by 7/8 up
 
This is the ball I pull out of the bag first every night,this ball lets me play the lanes from different angles. I can play straighter if i want to or i can get left and open the lane up if i have to. Probably one the best balls i have thrown in a long time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jeff kelley


DV8 Reckless Reviewed By: seashl 03/29/2012 10:27 ( stars)


 
I purchased the DV8 about 2 weeks ago. (give or take a bit) The BB that I was using definitely served it's purpose...but it was 10+ years old...and so I came onto BowlingBall.com's website and loved all of the information and tools that were available. I had really no clue as to what I needed and/or wanted...but after utilizing the tools, recommendations and reviews; I felt confident with the decision to purchase the DV8 Reckless. It seemed that it was a perfect fit for my game.

My league average is 167.7...dropped considerably from last year. (clue about me getting a new ball) The first couple of times that I had used the DV8 I struggled...only because the ball is HOT! I was not used to the action that I was getting with the DV8.

Last night at league I nailed it. I finally figured out where to stand, where to send it to...and how to bring it all together. 170/279/235...best series for me...ever!!! I am so excited about the performance of the ball.

Thank you for all of the tools that you offer on your website, to help assist with decision making.

I love my new DV8 Reckless!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Reckless Reviewed By: laserboypa 02/29/2012 09:29 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 4"
Ball Weight: 16 lbs

DRILL PATTERN
Dual Angle: 50 x 5" x 70
X Hole (if there is one): small one in the P3 area

BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: Higher, between 370 and 410 rpm, aka Cranker
Ball Speed: 16.50 mph
PAP/Track: 5 3/8" over and 7/8" up with a high track

SURFACE PREP
Grit: Box (500 Siaair, Rough Buff)
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Matte

LANE CONDITION
Length: Multiple
Volume: Multiple
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Multiple

BALL REACTION (out of 10)
Length: 7
Back End: 8
Overall Hook: 7
Midlane Read: 7
Breakpoint Shape:

Likes: How smooth of a reaction it has on the lanes
Dislikes: None

I have used the Reckless on house and sport conditions and really like how smooth the ball rolls. I have it drill with the pin under my ring finger and it allows me to stay closer to the track without over reacting downlane. The 2nd game out of the box I shot a 300. With the drilling that I used, it allows me to play deeper on the lane, but it still has the strength to turn the corner and carry 10 pins. It reads the midlane a little sooner than the Misfit and is a little weaker overall than the Hell Raiser. The Reckless is a good benchmark ball and can be used on medium or heavier oil conditions. It works well playing a straighter line or when I need to open up the lane and go in deeper. If the ball is too angular, then the suface can be adjusted to 1000 or 2000 Siaair to smooth out the reaction.

Brandon Hinderer
Brunswick Advisory Staff
The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by laserboypa


Read all 13 reviews

DV8 Reckless Bowling Balls 5.00 out of 5 based on 13 ratings. 13 user reviews.