Only show reviews for Roto Grip Critical Theory

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.96Write a Review    Read all 53 reviews

I Love It
 
96% (51 of 53)
I Like It
 
4% (2 of 53)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 53)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 53)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 53)

Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 06/16/2011 16:57 ( stars)

115 of 118 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click to Enlarge

The Critical Theory expands Roto-Grip's Theory line of performance balls.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
Mass Bias Position - 4" from PAP
PSA Layout - 5" x 4" x 4"
Balance Hole - n/a


Surface Preparation - Out of Box (4000 Grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
Roto-Grip hypes the new Critical Theory up as the most angular motion in their ball line. With the quality of the balls coming out of their plant a statement like this gets you kind of excited.
I took a really good middle of the road layout for me and figured I would see what this thing could do. I kept the pin and mass bias in a strong but not too strong of a position using a 5" pin to PAP and 4" Mass Bias to PAP placement. We coupled this with a modest 4" pin buffer and we were off. I expected this layout to offer plenty of skid and a good look at the backend when this ball found friction down lane.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I will say that I love when ball companies talk their new releases up really big and then they not only meet your expectations but they completely blow them out of the water.

The Critical Theory is possibly my new favorite ball. I think the Roto-Grip guys were tired of the Storm guys telling them they had the strongest motion on the backend and they said we will show you. The new Critical is ridiculous and I ahve personally not seen this kind of ball motion since I threw the original Virtual Gravity and the recent Nano release. The amount of area and angle I had down lane with this ball was absolutely amazing.

From the first shot I threw on the fresh pattern I had all the room I wanted right and no matter what I did this ball came off the break point so sharp it almost looked like it was going to come back at me. This combined with a core that just killed anything in its path and all in all this was a pretty easy ball test for me. The color combination had me a little concerned when I first saw the ball but let me tell you it looked pretty cool going down the lane and turning left. I said the same thing the first time I saw a Virtual Gravity but just like with that ball I loved the way it looked going down the lane.

The Critical Theory is definitely my favorite in this line so far and I think it will expand the line greatly for Roto-Grip. The only thing I think is more exciting then this release is, what could they possibly do next?


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 06/24/2011 09:06 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 

Click to Enlarge

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 0" up) - 4"
Mass Bias Position - 4" from PAP
PSA Layout - 4" x 4" x 2"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Prep - Out of Box (4000 Grit Abralon)

This is the third ball in the Roto Grip Theory line of bowling balls. My first thought when I saw this bowling ball was that the colors were "interesting".

I heard this was going to be more aggressive on the back end than the other Theories. So I was expecting a lot from this bowling ball.

There was something exciting about watching this one roll down the lane. The swirl pattern and colors gave it a fun look, as you could watch it "turn over" and make its turn toward the pocket.

This bowling ball had amazing backend reaction. It just drove hard from the break point to the back of the pin deck, tearing the rack apart on its way. This is definitely my favorite high performance bowling ball from Roto Grip to date.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 12/06/2011 17:29 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Roto-Grip Critical Theory is the ball our customers love. We had a Storm/Roto-Grip Matchmaker event and the Critical Theory was the one our customers loved. The Critical Theory gave everyone a strong roll in the front without losing backend. We had to get more in the shop to cover our orders after the Matchmaker event if you have a chance to attend one you will get a lot of info and get to try Storm/Roto-Grip balls before you buy.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 10/21/2011 12:12 ( stars)


 
The Critical Theory by Roto Grip is new ball in the Crown Line. This ball has a new cover wrapped around their proven Triliptic core that combine to create a strong entry angle to the pocket. The Critical Theory should provide length through the front of the lane and with a .058 differential it will provide a strong angular move off the end of the pattern.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: assassinmaster8894@yahoo.com 01/28/2012 04:22 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
All I can say is wow. I just got my ball in from my order i placed on here earlier this week and got it drilled so it will give me strong back end hook. I don't the the exact layout as he didn't tell me and I forgot to ask. I got a free game after I got this ball drilled and got a 169, missing 4 spares since i just had this ball with me. I bowled 15 games later during the cosmic bowling and only 4, yes 4, of those games were below 175. This ball ate the oil off the lanes so it's a MUST to clean this ball after ever session or it will die really quick. This is my go to ball for league now.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by assassinmaster8894@yahoo.com


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: hunter87 08/18/2011 14:25 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
Rev Rate: 425
Ball Speed: 17-18
Tilt: 45-65 Degree
Lower end Cranker
Average 215

Dual Angle drilling: 85*3.5*35
PAP: 5 inches over
No balance hole

Desired action:
I wanted a ball that had plenty of backend but with out reading the lane to early. Decided to go with these drill angles because i have a weaker ball that has the same drill and it is the ball reaction that i was looking for but just with a stronger ball.

Ended up with:
The ball is great! Plenty of hook, with alot of backend. If your not a higher rev player i would suggest going with a lower drill angle (which is the first number in the series)or a balance hole in the 3rd or 4th position, that will get the ball rolling a little earlier and make it hook even more, which i didn\'t need because i am a higher rev player. The ball on a fresh house shot looked great. I keep my speed right about 17 to 17.5. At that speed i was playing 18 at the arrows out to 3-5 at the break point. Had no issues with the ten pin. Shot 254 first game with the out of box finish with a re rack in the 2nd frame for warm up and then went 8 in a row, only to leave a stone 9 on the second ball in the tenth. I put a orange slug and orange grips in the ball which gives it a really sharp look with the pin mass bias and the CG all orange in color. The ball is much better than the mutant cell or the Mutant cell pearl even with a little weaker drilling. Also is much stronger than the infinite theory. Was not impressed with the mutant cell pearl but I am very pleased with the Critical Theory. Great Product from Roto Grip and Storm Products


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: grstorm 07/25/2011 21:27 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 15-16mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 5 x 4 x 3

The Roto Grip Critical Theory is the strongest back end motion ball Roto Grip has in their ball line. I have it drilled pin up with the mass bias an inch away from the thumb to help control the strong motion it has. With the factory finish at 4000 abralon and using it on the kegel highway to hell pattern, I can get the ball clean through the front of the lane so it can have a strong finish on the back end. It reads the mid lane fast on the heavier pattern, but still has the drive after the pattern to put all 10 pins in the pit. I am very impressed with how it reads and how strong it is. I polished it over the 4000 abralon and it is even cleaner through the fronts, does not read the mid lane as fast and has a more angular back end motion which is great on a medium condition or even on a house pattern for the high speed or low rev bowlers.

I have a video on facebook and youtube! If you have any questions about the Critical Theory email me at grichardson7716@aol.com.

Garrett Richardson
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Vise Inserts Amateur Staff
Al Louie's Pinole/Diablo Valley Pro Shop
www.pinolevalleyproshop.com
www.facebook.com/grstorm
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
www.viseinserts.com



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by grstorm


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: The Gooz 02/17/2013 03:38 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    207
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 5/8 right 1/8 down
 
Safe drilling, pin down cg kicked out a little. What I thought I was going to get out of this ball was a strong motion from anywhere on the lanes and OH MY! This ball is amazing! The only time the ball didn't hit hard as a brick was on the 47 foot Paris pattern, but it was probably my speed and not the ball.

But as everyone else has said, this ball will get back from pretty much anywhere on the lanes. I try to only use it as my tournament ball, but it works very well on a house shot as well, just remember to stand left of where you normally would and enjoy the motion of this amazing ball!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by The Gooz


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: TayHance 11/17/2012 01:08 ( stars)


 
I do not have many balls in my arsenal, but this is my new favorite! It's my top choice on medium oil. It reacts well throwing up the outside and in, but it also works well on the inside line as the lanes break down.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 53 reviews

Roto Grip Critical Theory Bowling Balls 4.96 out of 5 based on 53 ratings. 53 user reviews.