Only show reviews for Brunswick C (System) alpha-max

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.89Write a Review    Read all 80 reviews

I Love It
 
90% (72 of 80)
I Like It
 
9% (7 of 80)
It's Ok
 
1% (1 of 80)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 80)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 80)

Brunswick C (System) alpha-max Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 01/24/2011 08:08 ( stars)

1546 of 1572 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click to Enlarge
CFT alpha-max is our newest breakthrough in Chemical Friction Technology.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/2"
Mass Bias Position - 4 5/8" from PAP
Balance Hole - n/a
Dual Angle Layout - 60* x 5 1/2" x 45*

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500, 800, 4000 Siaair)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
We wanted to really see what this would do with a simple layout that most of our viewers may use on their equipment. By placing the pin in a generic position, 5 - 5/12" from PAP we should create decent length while maintaining
a stronger motion at the break point. We used a stronger Dual Angle Layout with a strong mass bias position to ensure an angular motion at the break point.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
The strongest thing from Brunswick in a while. The new C System brings Brunswick back to the high end market with a strong competitive ball. The alpha-max will show you what Brunswick means when they say high performance bowling ball.

Right off the bat the new C System rolled so good for me. It was so smooth in the heads even with the matte finish that I could not believe it. As the ball transitioned to the mid-lane it maintained motion but did not over read the friction of our typical house pattern. Once it got the point it went dead left, as you can see from our video I could get as deep as I wanted with plenty of recovery and power at the pins.

As the night progressed and the lanes started to break down I could see some signs of earlier roll but it never got to a point where I could not
find a place to get it down lane with plenty of back end. I would imagine most house shots would hold this ball well into the second game without
any coverstock tweaks.

Overall I think is the best high performance release we have seen from Brunswick in a while and this will get them back on the map of high performance
balls.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick C (System) alpha-max Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 01/24/2011 08:55 ( stars)

221 of 243 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 

Click to Enlarge

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over, 0 up) - 5"
Mass Bias Position - 3 1/2" from PAP
Balance Hole - n/a
Dual Angle Layout - 40° x 5" x 40°

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500, 800, 4000 Siaair)

The Alpha-Max bowling ball was a tremendous success for me. I was pleasantly surprised to see how long this ball would go before breaking. With a Matte finish, I always expect the ball to read more of the mid-lane. This was not the case with the C-System Alpha-Max.

I am happy to see Brunswick with a great piece of equipment. Their lines seem to compliment each other very well, as you will see with the Brunswick Loaded Revolver.

Throughout the shoot of this video, we probably put at least a good league nights worth of games on the lanes. We were all surprised to see how well the Alpha-Max stood up against the oil breakdown. This makes the Alpha-Max a great choice for any league on a typical house shot.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick C (System) alpha-max Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 01/26/2011 12:52 ( stars)

106 of 106 people found this review helpful.


 
The newest addition to the C System line is the Alpha Max. The alpha-max cover stock uses a higher concentration of the Chemical Friction Technology additive in order to make this the strongest C System ball to date. This ball creates more traction due to the cover rather than the weight block. The cover stock allows the Alpha Max to skid through the front of the lane thus allowing for more energy on the back end. This cover stock is wrapped around the I Block asymmetric cover to allow for more versatility in drilling and strong movement through the pins.

I have had my Alpha Max For a few weeks and have tested with different finishes, but the manufacture's finish seems work best with the layout I chose to use (50X 5 1/2X70). This ball is amazing on the fresh THS giving a tremendous amount of forgiveness down lane because it recovers from just about anywhere. As the night progresses and the track area starts to open sometimes a wet/dry condition develops (depending on who I am bowling against) but with this ball I was able to move deeper and still maintain the strong recovery without over reaction to the developing friction. I have not had a ball this strong be so forgiving and maintain its down lane energy for the entire 3 game set. I truly believe that the Alpha Max will fit into any bowlers arsenal. Congratulations to Brunswick on a masterpiece of a ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Brunswick C (System) alpha-max Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 01/29/2011 11:28 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
WE have the new Alpha-Max in our shop and with the new $50 rebate the ball as they say is rolling out the door.We have a demo in the shop that has pin above the fingers with the mass at 45 degrees.The demo has already got a lot of games and it still has a very strong roll. Alpha-Max will give you everything that you like about Brunswick products will strong roll in the front and a control roll in the backend without losing drive through the pins. If you have want a new ball for Nationals or you need help with that heavy oil patterns get your Alpha-Max before the rebate ends.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Brunswick C (System) alpha-max Reviewed By: Upstateproshop-Chris 01/20/2011 23:58 ( stars)

227 of 235 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4x 3/4 up
 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 4 in
Starting Top Weight: 3 oz
Ball Weight: 15.4

DRILL PATTERN
Pin to PAP: 4 3/4
MB to PAP: 55 degrees
VAL Angle: 40 degrees

BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: 325-350
Ball Speed off hand:16.5-17 mph
PAP/Track: 43/4 over by 7/8 up
Axis Tilt: 10 degrees

SURFACE PREP
Grit: Box finish
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Sanded

LANE CONDITIONS
Lengths: 41 foot house pattern, Scorpion 41 feet, Shark 43 feet
Volumes: moderate to heavy
Types (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS and PBA Patterns

BALL REACTION
Length: Early but not as early as expected
Back End: A ton for an oil ball...
Overall Hook: Out of the building
Midlane Read: Strong
Breakpoint Shape: Angular with an extremely fast response time

COMMENTS
If your looking for a hook monster that likes carrydown the C-System Alphamax is your ball! This is the strongest oil ball I have ever thrown or watched go down a lane. The Alphamax clears the heads takes a quick read of the midlane and then makes the turn before you could flip the switch for the blinker. Carrydown isn't a problem with the Alphamax, in fact, it hooks in about the same spot regardless of the amount of breakdown on the lane. This is exactly what makes this release special it has the same fast transition time on any lane condition. This ball doesn't stop hooking when the lane breaks down, rather, it hooks more the further I move inside. Its the only ball I have been able to create enough angle to leave a 4-9-10 from past 4th arrow on any condition. I also noticed that I was unable to wash out with it once I dialed it in on any of the conditions I tested it on. My carry suffered when I muscled it through at the bottom, but the ball hit the headpin every time! I was also surprised by the consistant reaction I recieved when I rolled it on a pair of lanes with Scorpion on one lane and Shark on the other. The Alphamax read both patterns almost identically allowing me to play the track about 12 to 8 on both lanes. This consistant reaction allowed me to shoot 295 with a greek church on the fill ball in the tenth. This is hands down the quickest-response best carrying oil ball Brunswick has made to date. If you need a ball that offers unconditional hook and unbelievable carry, its time to max out with the C-System Alphamax!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Upstateproshop-Chris


Brunswick C (System) alpha-max Reviewed By: brentnangel 01/29/2011 15:41 ( stars)

211 of 211 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    211
Sport Shot Average    191
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Wow, what a ball.This ball hook so hard and hit the pocket with authority.The pins fly all over the place. I've bowled on heavy and dry oil conditions and it still hit the pocket hard.Just days ago I bowled a 190 average. With this ball,today I bowled a 226,217,246 the first day i got it. Thats a 226 average,I usually i bowl a 188 average.The alpha-max is the best ball I ever had.I give it a 10 out of 10. To get a ball that hits hard, my average has went up 38 pins and all for $100 with the $50 mail-in rebate.Just can't beat it.Thanks Bowlingball.com for selling this ball,and thanks Brunswick for providing one hell of a ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by brentnangel


Brunswick C (System) alpha-max Reviewed By: TrackMill07 01/23/2011 14:58 ( stars)

118 of 118 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 over 1/2 up
 
Bowler: Adam Miller
Style: Speed = Revs; Tweener
PAP: 5 1/8 over 1/2
Layout: 55* x 5.25" x 45*

This ball is one of a kind from Brunswick. The ball motion is something that has never been seen. This ball is super clean through the heads but is very quick off the friction. The thing I really like about this ball is that it gives you the all the benefits down lane of a solid WITHOUT the early hook. Its the cleanliness in the front of a pearlized polished ball with the down lane hooking power of a solid. This is important to me because when I am throwing my C(System) 3.5 I love the hooking power, but even as a pearl it seems to pick up too early as the night goes on and stops pushing to my breakpoint. If I move deeper to get into the oil and get the ball to go longer, the pearl cover doesn't eat through the carry down as much leaving me with flat leaves and designer splits. This ball gives me easy length on the fresh and as the carry down and transition happens, you can keep going deeper and not worry about the recovery because of the solid cover stock.

If you need a ball that strikes from deep, and not just strikes, but hits the pins with authority, then this is the ball for you. I have been throwing it in league for 2 nights and I shot 546 (2 games) and 755, which is an average of 260.2. It has just been amazing both on the fresh and doesn't lose anything as I get deeper and open up my angles.

Make sure you get one of these in you bag so you always have something to go to.

The opinions expressed are solely that of the writer and not of Brunswick Bowling and Billiards Corporation.

Adam Miller
Brunswick Pro Shop Staff Member
Vise Amateur Staff Memeber
Denver, CO


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TrackMill07


Brunswick C (System) alpha-max Reviewed By: lil_lagasse@charter.net 04/07/2011 22:26 ( stars)

87 of 129 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
i just got my alpha-max today from bowlingball.com great price had it drilled up for leagues tonight I shot 207 257 266 for a 730 series i am a 190 average bowler this ball is awesome it rocks

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick C (System) alpha-max Reviewed By: MSUHoss300 02/04/2011 21:19 ( stars)

63 of 63 people found this review helpful.


 
Now that I have used these balls enough I can tell you this ball is awesome. Most people that haven't thrown Brunswick balls in a while think they hook early and bail down lane and that is the complete opposite of what this ball does. I'm amazed at how well it clears the front of the lane. I find that it revs up in the mid lane really well and delivers a strong back-end motion we are all looking for. The best part about this ball is how well it takes surface and shine, this is one of our most versatile covers so far in my opinion. From now until June 30th you can get a $50 rebate through Brunswick if you purchase this ball, talk about bang for your buck. Get to your local pro shop and give Brunswick a try!

David O'Sullivan


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by MSUHoss300


Read all 80 reviews

Brunswick C (System) alpha-max Bowling Balls 4.89 out of 5 based on 80 ratings. 80 user reviews.