Only show reviews for Storm Virtual Energy
Only show reviews for Value Brand Blue Microfiber Towel MEGA DEAL

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.82Write a Review    Read all 150 reviews

I Love It
 
88% (132 of 150)
I Like It
 
9% (13 of 150)
It's Ok
 
1% (1 of 150)
I Don't Like It
 
3% (4 of 150)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 150)

Storm Virtual Energy Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 06/18/2009 11:37 ( stars)

1289 of 1290 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


Virtual Energy, The perfect compliment to Storm's Premier line of bowling balls.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/4" above ring finger
Mass Bias Position - 4" from PAP right of thumb
CG Placement - center of grip
Balance Hole - none

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 grit Polish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
This is the identical layout I used on one of my favorite Storm balls ever, The Gravity Shift. Since the Virtual series kind of came from the Shift series I thought it was an appropriate layout to use on this awesome looking pearlized Virtual Energy.

The layout normally allows me to play a variety of shots from up the boards to as deep as I want to get on a typical house shot. As you will see from our ball reaction video this ball allows me to cover as many boards as I want and still gets through the pins as good as any other Storm ball.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Just like in anything else there are hot streaks, right now Storm is on the hottest ball streak i think I have ever seen. I do not care what ball shape, what performance level, what color the ball is, if it has a lightning bolt on it - IT ROLLS GREAT!!

Storm has not missed a release in quite some time and the Virtual Energy is no exception. I have seen some of the best ball motions ever after watching my Virtual Gravity and Virtual Energy go down the lane. The Energy allows me to get a little more skid through the front part of the lane, compared to my Gravity with just as much if not a little more recovery on the back. Really, I could not miss far enough right to make this ball not get back to the pocket.

My Virtual Gravity was drilled differently but it still recovered well. The Virtual Energy just offered me a different look which may hold up longer on a typical house shot. All that says to me is that I get to play anywhere I want for a longer period of time.

Whether you have a Virtual Gravity or not you will be impressed with every single part of what the Virtual Energy offers.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Energy Reviewed By: Brian Halstrom 06/29/2009 16:44 ( stars)

543 of 544 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2" x 1/2" Up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge
Brian Halstrom Storm Virtual Energy Bowling Ball



The new Virtual Energy: Our intent with the Virtual Energy is to utilize the early revving motion and explosive back-end characteristics of the Shape-Lock HD core, along with the performance proven R2X coverstock. The coverstock is the key element to this equation and engineering the right blend of solids and pearls to create the perfect compliment to its predecessors.

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 1/2" up) - 4 1/2"
Mass Bias Position - 2" right of Center Line
Balance Hole - None

Surface Preparation - Left at Box Finish

What I was looking for in this layout: Coming off the success of the Virtual Gravity, I decided to drill this one to give me a cleaner look through the fronts with even more reaction on the backend. With the pearlized coverstock, I knew this ball and layout would compliment my Virtual Gravity well.

What I ended up with in this ball layout: Without a doubt, this ball lives up to the hype and is an amazing piece. I tested the Virtual Energy on a freshly oiled house pattern that had a few more units of oil on the outside than normal. To see what it could do, I stood on the 30th board to start and played around the 20th board at the arrows. I was able to get the ball out to as far as the 7th board at the breakpoint and get it to come back strong. Once again like my Virtual Gravity, this ball seems to defy deflection and carries extraordinarily well.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brian Halstrom


Storm Virtual Energy Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 07/01/2009 12:00 ( stars)

54 of 55 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 
Watch out Virtual Gravity, here comes the Energy.

Surface Preparation:
Out of Box at 1500 grit, polished.

Ball Layout:
I went very similar to my Virtual Gravity, pin up and to the right of my ring finger. Mass Bias about two inches right of thumb.

Overall:
My Virtual Gravity is my favorite "feel" ball in my bowling bag. The Virtual Energy rivals it for the my favorite ball... period.

Ball Motion:
The amount of area I had with this bowling ball was sick. It just seemed to deliver wherever I played on the lane. The pearlized coverstock holds onto the potential energy and releases it with such force at the pins that there seems to be little chance for them to stay standing. Like Brian Halstrom said in his review, the Virtual Energy seems to defy deflection and carries extradonarily well.

What a great compliment to the Virtual Gravity.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Energy Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 07/18/2009 13:54 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Being a Brunswick Guy I was pleasantly surprised with Storm's Virtual Energy. Although I did not drill one for myself I have drilled a few for customers. It's extremely clean through the front and it is a great compliment to Storm's Virtual Gravity when the lanes start to break down and there is no more head oil. The amount of area my customers had with this bowling ball was incredible. It just seemed to deliver wherever they played on the lane. For my low rev customers I used layouts with pin distances between 4 to 4 ½ and higher rev players 5 to 5 ½. If you like to get the ball down the lane with a strong backend reaction, then this is your ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Storm Virtual Energy Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 06/15/2009 19:11 ( stars)

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Wow the pre orders on the Storm Virtual Energy are piling up.Almost everyone that comes in the shop want to know when will have the Storm Virtual Energy.THE RELEASE JUNE 25 so hurry in and pre order yours.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Virtual Energy Reviewed By: 12 Frames 07/11/2009 11:17 ( stars)

31 of 31 people found this review helpful.


 
Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 11/16" up) - Pin is 5 1/4" over and directly over the finger bridge
Mass Bias Position - about 4" from PAP and 1 1/2" to the right of the thumb
Balance Hole - none

Surface Prep - Out of Box (1500 grit Polish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
What I was looking for in this layout and ball was a nice and strong backend without the over/under reaction we tend to see from strong pearlized balls. For me, this layout provides good length and a strong backend reaction.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
What did I get?... I got one of the hardest hitting balls on the market!! Period! The Virtual Energy (VE) allows me to continue to play my favorite line when my Virtual Gravity (VG) is hooking too early. The VE is a great ball with serious hitting power and control. The new hybrid cover is great compliment to the Shape Lock HD core.

The VE gives me more skid through the heads and a more direct line to the breakpoint. Once my VE reads the midlane to the end of the pattern, it starts its move to the pocket. Once the VE hits the dry, it is lights out for the pocket. The VE literally sucks the pins from the deck. No sweeps, no messengers, no ringing tens. Just ten in the pit, baby! LOL!

Compared to my VG, which is drilled similar but with a slightly shorter Pin to PAP distance and balance hole, the VE gets down the lane more and is slightly more angular at the breakpoint. The VG is earlier as suspected but still angular at the breakpoint. The VE is more angular!

The VE can not handle the same amount of oil as the VG. Don't be fooled on this one. The VE does not like a heavily oiled lane. The VE will skid too far when there is too much volume up front and in the midlane. The VE also needs dry backends to be affective. However, you can play with the VE on a higher volume pattern provided that the backends are fresh. But, you better be prepared for that seriously strong backend! LOL! Once the VE hits the dry, it is ON!

As a quick, but unfair comparison, I drilled up a Brunswick Wild Thing the other day, but I have only used it once before I wrote this review. Compared to the Wild Thing (WT) the VE is stronger in the back, but the WT can handle a little more volume of oil. The WT is slightly sooner than the VE, but seems to hit just as strong. I like VE reaction a little more, but the WT is more of and arch type of reaction compared to my VE. In fact, the VE can be called the real "Wild Thang" because its reaction is harder off of the dry.

Speaking of the dry... The VE is not a dry lanes ball. It is too strong for a drier lane. If you choose to use in on the drier shots, I hope you roll the ball with lots of speed because the VE will hook at your feet as soon as it reads the dry boards.

In closing, the VE is a very angular and hard hitting ball. I personally think that it is one of the hardest hitting balls on the market today. And, to top it off, it hits just as hard as its big brother, the VG. Oh, and it smells better, too. LOL! If you like a lot of depth down the lane with a strong backend reaction, then this is your dream ball.

Peace!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 12 Frames


Storm Virtual Energy Reviewed By: Fodom101 06/11/2009 16:16 ( stars)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    190
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is amazing. The Virtual Energy reacts in a way that all my other equipment doesn't. It has strong backend like a pearl but hooks like a sanded ball. This ball is great for any lane condition.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Fodom101


Storm Virtual Energy Reviewed By: sahi2ed1 06/08/2009 23:30 ( stars)

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    222
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4.5.
 
I have been a Hammer Man for over 20 years, I just started useing Strom equipment the Virtual Gravity and added 23 pins to my average over the last 8 weeks was 205 now 228. I am a cranker and I have to polish it to work in the drier bowling house but with the Virtual Energy I know that it will work for me in the dry house. Thank Strom

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by sahi2ed1


Value Brand Blue Microfiber Towel MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 12/04/2010 10:30 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The Value Brand Microfiber Towel will get all of the oil off your ball.Use Brunswick Remove all ball cleaner on the Blue Microfiber Towel and make your ball tacky again.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Read all 150 reviews

Storm Virtual Energy w/ Free Value Brand Microfiber Towel Bowling Combos 4.82 out of 5 based on 150 ratings. 150 user reviews.