Only show reviews for Roto Grip Theory

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.86Write a Review    Read all 49 reviews

I Love It
 
88% (43 of 49)
I Like It
 
10% (5 of 49)
It's Ok
 
2% (1 of 49)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 49)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 49)

Roto Grip Theory Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 12/06/2010 09:32 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 


Click to Enlarge

Put this THEORY to the test. The evolution of the bowling ball never has reached a level this advanced!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4 1/2"
Mass Bias Position - just below and right of thumb
Balance Hole - n/a
Dual Angle Layout - 60* x 4 1/2" x 40*

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (2000 grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
We decided to use this layout based on previous testing with upper end Roto Grip equipment. We thought this would provide us a good look at how aggressive we could make this ball while still keeping the overall reaction
useful on house shot conditions.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
We got a lot from this test. Even with its 2000 grit Abralon surface the Theory maintained a strong reaction off my hand without over reacting to the friction. As it transitioned into the middle part of the lane you could see
it start to rev up a little more and really digg into the lane.

The backend motion was very strong and seemed to react stronger then any of my Mutants had in the past. The great thing about the Theory was how versatile I felt it was across the lane. With a slight adjustment of my
hand position I could create more skid and play further right with it while still maintaining the overall strong ball motion it provides.

All in all the Theory is the next evolution in Roto Grip's ball line and I think it is a very good piece of equipment.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Theory Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 12/02/2010 15:31 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 

Click to Enlarge

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 0" up) - 3.5"
Mass Bias Position - About 2" Lower Right of Thumb
Balance Hole - N/A
Dual Angle Layout - 40° x 3.5" x 40°

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (2000 grit Abralon)

The Roto Grip Theory has a nice smooth overall arc. This bowling ball starts to pickup in the midlane to setup for a strong move to the pocket.

The Theory has been one of the strongest bowling balls I have used in awhile. It's a bowling ball like that that make me wish I still lived in Orlando where I was with 30 minutes of most Central Florida bowling centers where I could get to tournaments more easily.

Theory says you'll score higher.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Theory Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 11/27/2010 12:31 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Roto Grip has a new Theory and it is the latest addition to the Crown line. This ball has a 220.0 perfect scale rating and falls into the pro performance category on this site. The Theory uses a new core shape called the Triliptic Core that produces a strong but predictable ball motion which translates into more mid lane revs and a continuous back end hook. This ball is designed for higher volume patterns or any condition that it is hard to generate a strong ball motion. If you are having trouble getting the ball to read the mid lane on tighter lane conditions the Theory is definitely a ball that you should consider adding to your arsenal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Roto Grip Theory Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 11/23/2010 17:17 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Roto Grip Theory is the new release and this is what we all have been looking for.If you liked the CELL you will love the THEORY wow does this ball hookkkkkkkk.Theory gives you strong roll in heavy oil and that does not slow it down in the backend this is the ball for USBC and for bowlers that need more roll.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Roto Grip Theory Reviewed By: csmitherman 01/04/2011 09:14 ( stars)

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.


 
If your looking for strong ball look no further, however if your ball speed is not the same every time you may want to choose another ball it will over hook very easy. I bowled about 6 games with the ball and gave it to a friend could not do anything to get the ten pin out.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by csmitherman


Roto Grip Theory Reviewed By: River Lanes Pro Shop 11/02/2010 14:16 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1/2 up
 
Layout #1
40 x 4 1/2 x 40
no hole
box surface

I have been looking very forward to this ball. It really shows that the people in Utah really put some time and effort into this release. This layout is my asymmetrical benchmark layout that I like to use on my first ball out of my bag. I tested this on the 39 foot Middle Road pattern from Kegel.

I noticed immediately how much stronger this ball is than anything I have thrown in the past. It is not as early rolling for me as the Mutant Cell, it is more of a very strong midlane movement. In comparison I was 6 and 3 farther left than my Mutant Cell and 5 and 2 farther left than my Mutant Cell Pearl, playing around 18 at the arrows and 7 and the end of the pattern. The thing that I like the best is how predictable the ball motion is.
The motion for me is similar to my benchmark Riot but MUCH stronger. As the lanes started to break down I was able to make 3 and 1's and my ball reaction just seemed to get better and better. I have not seen this from a ball that is this strong. I bowled league the same day starting with the Theory and continued to throw is the entire night. On the house shot this ball was a monster! It seemed like every time the ball was close to the 1-3 it struck. I put together games of 236,259,248. I did have to move a little more throughout the night than usual but it seemed every time I moved the ball just hit harder.

The Theory is quickly becoming my favorite ball since the original Cell. I didn't think I would find a ball as predictable as The Cell, but here it is. All types of players will be able to put this in their arsenal. A ball motion like this can be used on a HUGE variety of patterns. This ball is a must have!!

Jimmy Martin
Roto Grip Staff
Striking Advantage Pro Shop
Titusville FL
river@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by River Lanes Pro Shop


Roto Grip Theory Reviewed By: maslak10@hotmail.com 06/22/2012 13:59 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    197
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I just bought this ball like 3 months zgo and now its 30$ cheaper that sucks but a great ball. Obliterates pins. i rearly leave any corner pins with this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by maslak10@hotmail.com


Roto Grip Theory Reviewed By: senioropinion 01/20/2012 13:06 ( stars)


 
This ball is definetly a "hook monster". It reads the lane early with out of the box finish. It is to much ball for the "T.H.S." unless you have higher ball speed of 17.5plus mph. or give it a high polish finish. This might be a great ball for the senior bowler with a weak release(low rev rate).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by senioropinion


Roto Grip Theory Reviewed By: Freddys X 10/19/2011 06:31 ( stars)


 
Excelent Performence. Outstanding

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 49 reviews

Roto Grip Theory Bowling Balls 4.86 out of 5 based on 49 ratings. 49 user reviews.