Only show reviews for Brunswick Revolver

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.8Write a Review    Read all 40 reviews

I Love It
 
82% (33 of 40)
I Like It
 
15% (6 of 40)
It's Ok
 
2% (1 of 40)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 40)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 40)

Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 06/25/2010 08:39 ( stars)

128 of 128 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


It's time to shoot the lights out with the Brunswick Revolver!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4 1/2" under ring finger
Mass Bias Position - n/a
CG Placement - lower right quadrant of grip
Balance Hole - 1" x 2" from center of grip through cg on VAL

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (4000 grit Micro Pad)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I used one of my favorite layouts on this ball to see what it could do. My first impression of the Revolver was that it was going to hook. It has that dull strong look to it out of the box and I thought this layout would let me see how well the ball would handle.

This layout should provide a stronger roll in the early part of the lane with a continuous movement on the backend.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I ended up with a bunch of hook from start to finish. The Revolver started up plenty early with its 4000 grit Micro Pad finish. As it got to the middle part of the lane you could see it really roll up and set as it transitioned to the backend. I think the ball would ahve finished a little harder with some small tweaks to the cover but overall I saw a very strong ball motion and a ball motion that we have come to love from Brunswick.

As balls go in this performance category from Brunswick this is my favorite so far. I think the Revolver along with the other releases Brunswick has coming this season will offer all bowlers a very complete line up of bowling balls.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 06/25/2010 11:58 ( stars)

54 of 54 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 
Pin to PAP - 4 1/8"
CG Placement - about 1" right of center line
Dual Angle Layout - 60° x 4 1/8" x 65°
Surface Preparation - Out of Box

Brunswick has had a couple of great releases lately, and the Revolver is one of them. The Revolver bowling ball looks like a great compliment to the C-System 4.5 and the Anaconda as it fits right in the middle.

It rolls great from start to finish and the darker color allows me to see the bowling ball reaction all the way down the lane. As the lanes start to break down from the C-System, I see a great transition ball in the Brunswick Revolver.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 06/14/2010 19:39 ( stars)

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


 
Brunswick's new high performance ball is the Revolver. This ball uses Connexion Grip coverstock an improved version of the original Connexion coverstock. Connexion Grip is a new formula that increase the ball's footprint size which allows for improved mid-lane and back-end traction. This ball is sanded to a 4000 Siaair micro pad finish which creates good length and a strong continuous move down lane. The Revolver uses a new core called the Jack core that is designed as a low RG symmetric core with a high differential. The low RG enhances the mid-lane roll and the high differential will increase track flare giving the ball more opportunity to grip the back-end.

I was looking for the Revolver to be first ball out of my bag so that I could control very clean backends such as the pattern used at the USBC national tournament. I drilled this ball with a 35x5x70 dual angle layout to help create a smoother move off of the pattern. The Revolver is perfect for fresh medium to long patterns as it allowed me to keep my angles tighter and control the fresh backend. I was really surprised that as the pattern wore down I was still able to throw this ball because it maintained great continuation to the pocket. It is a great high performance ball that will fit into the stronger part of anybody's arsenal.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 11/04/2010 16:50 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Drilled the Brunswick Revolver for sport shots and for nights that I need more roll in the front.Used 35x4x40 so it would give me a strong roll in oil and it does that and more.Brunswick has another great ball for heavy oil and for that tough lane condition.If you need more info e-mail the shop.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 07/13/2010 17:34 ( stars)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The Brunswick Revolver is a new release and wow has Brunswick covered all of our needs.With the new ConneXion Grip an improved version of ConneXion coverstock will give you strong mid-lane and flip when it hits the backend.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: baer300 06/27/2010 16:20 ( stars)

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


 
My Revolver is drilled 65x5x30. This allows the ball to save some energy for down lane with my rev rate.
I am seeing this ball being a great ball when you need that pearl to through the fronts but need the tractions in the midlane of a solid cover. This ball will cover that. The Revolver is clean through the front and makes a strong continuous motion downlane.
Adam Baer
Brunswick Regional Staff
Vise Regional Staff
The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by baer300


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: leftyl 07/20/2010 18:59 ( stars)

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    208
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8 over 5/8 up
 
Ball Specs:
15lb. 4oz.
3.25 top weight
3" pin

Drilling Specs: 45 X 4 1/4" X 65. This places the pin just under my ring finger with the CG approx. 2 1/2" left of grip center. P3 weight hole 45 degrees from grip center.


I've been delaying my review on this ball simply because I have not had the opportunity to use it in the proper environment. This ball needs plenty of oil in the heads to really shine. What I get out of it on the local house shot in the Summer months is strong/early revs and a smooth backend reaction. It has been a bit speed and release sensitive on this condition as well. There is just not enough oil to bring this super strong ball to life.
However, in medium heavy to heavy oil..... fantastic. Best look is going straighter up the boards. The increased traction in oil gets this ball firmly planted to the lane surface quickly and the move at the break point is very strong and continuous. I feel this ball will be best suited to high rev players on sport conditions and lower rev players will enjoy this ball on house conditions.
I am going to drill another Revolver with a longer pin to PAP distance to control the track flare a bit. Will post follow up after some use.

--------------------
The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation


www.BowlerX.com

Lee Sandt
PBA Member
Brunswick Pro Shop Staff Member
Turbo Grips Staff Member
Kegel Certified Pro Shop Operator
USBC Certified Instructor


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by leftyl


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: troy_300 07/15/2010 09:27 ( stars)

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


 
Revolver- Wow! What a ball, if you are looking for a ball that reacts strong on
medium oily to oily patterns this is the right ball. Brunswick really hit a
homerun with this ball. Brunswick improved the Connextion coverstock to produce
a ball with a new coverstock called ConneXion Grip. What this does is allows
the ball the grip the lane giving great midlane and backend traction. Bowlers
will be allowed to open up the lane and increase their angles using this ball.
Throwing this ball I was surprised at the length I got, but most impressively is
the backend continuous back end reaction. This is a very agressive ball, that
allows me to open up the lane. The strong backend reaction allows me the
predicatability or motion and allows me to read the lane effectively. If you
want a ball that hooks, with stong continous backend reaction on an oily pattern
this ball is for you.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by troy_300


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: Ed Rondot 07/01/2010 17:05 ( stars)

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    194
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4-5/8 x 1/4 down
 
>I drilled the Revolver 5x5x1-1/2 no weight hole.
Initial tests bowled on THS 40 foot medium volume.
First shots reveal exactly how strong the Connexion Grip coverstock is.
A five board jump left of my strike line for the Anaconda found enough oil to tame down the Revolver's hook.
I then moved onto a 42 foot THS higher volume and the Revolver truly found its Happy Place!
While many of my balls struggled to pick up and turn the corner the Revolver cut through the pattern with ease.
I have found the Revolver to be very successful when I need to jump into the higher volumes of center oil after the the track has started to burn.
Where many of my more tame pieces failed to conquer the build up at the pattern's end of travel the Revolver performed with Honors!
Thank you Brunswick!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ed Rondot


Read all 40 reviews

Brunswick Revolver Bowling Balls 4.80 out of 5 based on 40 ratings. 40 user reviews.