Only show reviews for Roto Grip Mutant Cell Pearl

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.87Write a Review    Read all 77 reviews

I Love It
 
90% (69 of 77)
I Like It
 
8% (6 of 77)
It's Ok
 
3% (2 of 77)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 77)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 77)

Roto Grip Mutant Cell Pearl Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 05/19/2010 11:17 ( stars)

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


Click Layout Image to Enlarge


The ever popular Cell lines continues its greatness with the release of the Mutant Cell Pearl.

Test Ball #1
Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4 1/2" under ring finger
Mass Bias Position - 3 1/2" from PAP almost right on the VAL
CG Placement - lower right quad.
Balance Hole - 29/32" x 2" from center of grip through cg on the VAL

Test Ball #2
Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/2" above fingers
Mass Bias Position - 4 1/2" from PAP, just right of thumb
CG Placement - center of grip
Balance Hole - none

Surface Preparation For Both Balls- Out of Box (1500 grit polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
Alright here we go with the highly anticipated release of the Mutant Cell Pearl. Like most bowlers I loved the Mutant Cell and everything in the Cell line for that matter. But, like most I found myself using weaker layouts or polishing balls like the Mutant because they were so strong.

Well everyone asked and Roto Grip listened releasing the Mutant Cell Pearl.

As you will see from our video I was the only tester available to shoot so I figured I would drill two of them so we could get a different look from the two balls.

Test Ball #1 - I used a favorite layout of mine, pin down under my ring finger and a hole down in the lower right quadrant on my VAL. This layout tends to let the ball read the heads and mid lane well while keeping enough energy stored up to let the ball have a strong motion off the break point.

With the ball being pearlized and strong I figured this may help smooth out the overall ball motion so it was not so flippy off the friction.

Test Ball #2 - I used a safe drilling that 99% of the balls drilled will look like. The pin is above my fingers to increase length and the Mass Bias is in a strong position 4 1/2" from my PAP right of the thumb. I am thinking this ball will get down the lane with ease and really read the friction hard and make a pretty aggressive move towards the pocket.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Awesome, Awesome, Awesome!!

These balls were nuts, I can not remember the last time I threw so many strikes with a ball from practically anywhere on the lane.

Test Ball #1 - This ball did exactly what I wanted out of it. Its overall ball motion was a dream for me and it impressed me every time I threw it. The layout allowed the ball to go really strong through the heads and maintained
that momentum into the middle part of the lane. It almost looked like it was revving up more and more as it went down lane.

As the ball transitioned into the back part of the lane as it read the friction, it made a strong but predictable move. The ball motioned continued right through the pins and the ball seemed to carry everything. As expected I really could not get too far right with this ball because it started up a little early even for the the pearlized ball, but as long as I had enough head oil to allow the ball to get into its roll it was great.

Test Ball #2 - Well if you ahve ever had a ball drilled like this you know it gets down lane and then puts on a turn signal and goes. The Mutant Cell Pearl was no different. At first on the fresh I thought the first ball rolled a little better. This would make sense because it handled the fresh oil better in the heads.

As the lanes started to transition, this ball turned into a truck. As i slowly migrated left I quickly realized I was going to be able to get this ball back from anywhere as long as it had some friction down lane. This ball was so smooth through the lane that it looked like it was just waiting to go left and tear through the pins.

For most league bowlers this will again prove to be a layout of choice. You may have to start a little further right on the fresh oil but as the lane transitions and you move left the ball will allow you to open up the entire lane.

Once again the boys in Utah have a huge seller on their hands. I suggest you try one of these bad boys out for yourself and see what I mean.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Mutant Cell Pearl Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 07/17/2010 13:42 ( stars)


 
The new Crown Line introduction is the Mutant Cell Pearl.This ball uses Nucleus II core to create a more defined break-point than the Mutant cell, but still maintaining predictability that has made this line so popular. Wrapped around this core is the Cytoplasmic XL pearl cover. With the combination of a medium RG core and increased surface texture this ball delivers a stronger mid-lane traction and better entry angle to the pocket. This ball is a good choice for anyone that is looking for strong pearl ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Roto Grip Mutant Cell Pearl Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 05/28/2010 16:42 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
WE have a Mutant Cell Pearl that is drilled with pin above fingers and mass bias at 50 degrees.WOW it made a strong move and the pins have no chance.The Nucleus II™ core with its higher RG value with give you a stronger break point also more control we are ready for our mutation on June 09 2010 if you want yours pre order now.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Roto Grip Mutant Cell Pearl Reviewed By: kingpinwoods 07/10/2010 16:48 ( stars)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5-1/4" over and 1/4" up
 
I TOOK MY MUTANT CELL PEARL ALONG WITH MY PEARL CELL AND THREW THEM ON A 39' HOUSE SHOT. I ALWAYS CHANGE THE SURFACE OF EVERY SHINEY BOWLING BALL TO A SURFACE THAT I CAN REDO AS I CAN'T REPRODUCE THE FACTORY FINISH. I TOOK THE CELL PEARL AND PLAYED FROM 9 TO 4, I HAVE MEDIUM SPEED AND I'M A TWEENER. AS ALWAYS THE CELL PEARL WAS SUPER CLEAN THROUGH THE FRONTS WITH A STRONG BACKEND MOVE WITH GREAT HITTING POWER. NOW ONTO THE MUTANT CELL PEARL. THE SAME SHOT AS BEFORE, THE MUTANT CELL PEARL WAS AS CLEAN THROUGH THE FRONTS, WITH A STRONGER MID-LANE MOVE AND A MORE ANGULAR ENTRY INTO POCKET. IT WAS 4 PIN HIGH OR WORSE ON MOST EVERY SHOT. IN ORDER TO THROW THE MUTANT CELL PEARL, I MOVED 4 BOARDS WITH MY FEET AND MOVED MY TARGET IN TO 13 TO 4. WOW!!! THIS BALL WAS RECOVERING IF I MISSED OUT IT HOOKED BACK, AND IT SET UP IF I TUGGED IT IN. FOR A PEARL BALL FOR ME, IT REALLY READ THE MID-LANE EXTREMELY WELL., AND REAL FORGIVING ON AN ERRANT SHOT. IT'S A KEEPER!!! GREAT JOB TO EVERYONE AT STORM AND ROTO GRIP FOR PRODUCING THE BEST BOWLING BALLS IN THE KINGDOM.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kingpinwoods


Roto Grip Mutant Cell Pearl Reviewed By: JFB 07/22/2010 13:05 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Just the type of ball I was looking for. Drilled using the 4A layout with no weight hole, this ball hits like a Mack truck. Perfect for long patterns. I play down and in and just let the ball do all the work. It stores energy through the first 45 feet and makes a sharp turn towards the pocket. The only downside is it hits so hard, I've been getting more 9-pin leaves than ever before!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Mutant Cell Pearl Reviewed By: The Gooz 02/17/2013 02:48 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    207
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 5/8 right 1/8 down
 
I had to do a lot of work on this ball to get it to work correctly. I got the ball drilled with the pin slightly above the ring finger and the mass bias slightly strong. For my arsenal I needed an asymmetric ball that would go long through oil and turn hard. What I got was a ball that didn't move until 40+ feet on a 35 foot pattern and it turned like a baby.

Finally I resurfaced it, tried 4000 grit, it was close but no cigar, now I used a 1000 pad then a 2000 pad and it finally turns like everyone described.

Make you you use a proper lay out on this ball or you might get a dud like I did. The ball finally turns but I had to tinker with it for a couple of weeks to get it right.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by The Gooz


Roto Grip Mutant Cell Pearl Reviewed By: lefttyhook 08/21/2012 13:51 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Style    Tweener
 
wasnt sure if i liked this ball threw this ball about 10 games and was too strong for me.had this ball polished too go longer.took it out last night shot 218 248 258 was striking at will. this is now my go to ball. get one before there gone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by lefttyhook


Roto Grip Mutant Cell Pearl Reviewed By: KMF8617 07/30/2012 20:17 ( stars)


 
Bowled my highest game ever right after having it drilled. I was very pleased and the picture on the site does not do the ball justice.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Mutant Cell Pearl Reviewed By: cspringer.devel@gmail.com 07/30/2012 18:20 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    217
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 11/16 right - 5/16 up
 
For the price (with MEGA DEAL it was only $91 with insurance included) this ball is one of the best bargains around! I'm a 219 avg. tweener with pap at 5 3/4 right 1 up and drilled this ball dual angle at:

45 drill angle
4 in pin to pap
70 angle to val

The ball that was shipped to me was a short pin (1-2) as I expected seeing how they're probably trying to get rid of the balls that people didn't order (longer pin balls tend to go faster!) so I had to drill the fingers a bit deep to shift the top weight thumb side and get a balance hole at p3 to get rid of 1 oz excess positive weight.

Honestly, I thought I was going to throw a perfect game out of the gate with this thing. Threw the front 8 without much effort on a 40 ft THS. It's a monster! Get one, you can't beat the price!

Other balls I own:

Storm Virtual Gravity Nano
Storm Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl
DV8 Hellraiser Revenge
Storm Ice


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cspringer.devel@gmail.com


Read all 77 reviews

Roto Grip Mutant Cell Pearl Bowling Balls 4.87 out of 5 based on 77 ratings. 77 user reviews.