Only show reviews for Brunswick Avalanche Urethane

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.9Write a Review    Read all 20 reviews

I Love It
 
90% (18 of 20)
I Like It
 
10% (2 of 20)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 20)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 20)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 20)

Brunswick Avalanche Urethane Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 06/21/2010 21:40 ( stars)

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
Brunswick's newest affordable performance ball is the Avalanche Urethane. The Avalanche uses a pearl retro Urethane coverstock. This cover generates extra length and a very predictable ball motion. This Avalanche is designed for lighter amounts of oil and a straighter line to the pocket. As in all the Avalanches so far this ball also uses the successful Teal Rhino Pro weight block which has a simple light bulb shape.

I was looking forward to drilling this ball ever since I heard it was being released. I decided to use one of my favorite layout 45X4 1/2X70 with a P3 hole. This drilling allowed me to move right and square up my line to the pocket. I was able to stay right up against the track area during the entire set. I will say it was a little touchy at the start (not really designed for this) but the performance only got better as the night progressed. This ball will work very well on short and light volume patterns. The Urethane Avalanche will be a fine addition to my tournament arsenal as it would be for anybody that chooses to drill one up.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Brunswick Avalanche Urethane Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 06/01/2010 15:15 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Brunswick Avalanche Urethane has the Teal Rhino Pro core and with the Retro Urethane coverstock this will be the ball for dry lanes.The Performance line is a great value and the roll on this ball will also be great for bowler's with slower ball speed.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Brunswick Avalanche Urethane Reviewed By: rorro648 04/21/2011 13:02 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    188
Sport Shot Average    170
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/2 right 3/4 up
 
really great ball for medium-dry conditions. it really goes long before it SNAPS. never thought that a urethane ball would hit the pocket so hard, i had messengers going all over the place.

i was having a hard time getting my other (stronger) balls to the pocket due to the dryness of the league shot. so i started using my plastic/spare ball, it would hit the pocket nice but it didn't have the nice punch in the back, therefore leaving pins behind most of the time.

i really recommend this ball to people who throw with a lot of revs with medium-fast speeds in a THS or dry conditions.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rorro648


Brunswick Avalanche Urethane Reviewed By: robert way 07/11/2010 20:47 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    216
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Stroker
PAP    5 inches over
 
Avalanche Urethane:
Well Brunswick you did again! You have designed another great ball.
My avalanche is laid out 75x2x30. this is a great ball for league patterns. This ball works well on wet/dry conditions.On oily lane conditions you will have to play straighter. On the the sport patterns I used it for my spare shooting.
Thanks,
Robert way


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by robert way


Brunswick Avalanche Urethane Reviewed By: GreatWhite 03/23/2012 18:01 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 5/8 over, 5/8 up
 
I was surprised with the amount of hook this ball had when it hit the friction down lane. I found with the amount of hook the Avalanche had, I could stay closer to where I was playing before the ball change and the ball would still hook when I needed it. The Avalanche (Urethane) is a good ball late in a tournament as long as there is friction for it to read down lane. It clears the font part of the lane with ease, and then makes a strong, clean move towards the pins. On house patterns I like to throw my Avalanche at spares, it is more aggressive than a plastic ball and makes me feel like I have some extra room for error.
Barry McKee
Brunswick Advisory Staff
The opinions expressed are soley those of the writer and not the Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by GreatWhite


Brunswick Avalanche Urethane Reviewed By: pcsbrack@frontier.com 12/11/2011 10:47 ( stars)


 
Early returns on this ball are very promising. I haven't yet used on dry or wooden lanes but the late action is just what I was looking for. More strikes - fewer splits and corner pins.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by pcsbrack@frontier.com


Brunswick Avalanche Urethane Reviewed By: BrunsBowler 08/18/2011 17:36 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    190-200
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5"
 
Ball Information: Surface: Out of the Box
(Rough Buff, High Gloss Polish)
Weight: 15ib 3oz
T/W @ 2.88oz
Pin: 3" to 3.5"
Drilling Pattern: 5" X 80deg
No extra hole required

LANE CONDITION (Fresh House Pattern)
(Carry Down House Pattern)
Length: 36', buffed to 40'
Volume: Medium
BALL REACTION
Length: Long, clears heads super easy
Back End: Medium and very continuous
Overall Hook: Moderate
Midlane Read: Light
Breakpoint Shape: Continuous

COMMENTS:
Likes: Very versatile. This ball will play on any medium to light pattern with some good back ends. Must have some dry to make a move.

Dislikes: None really... I got this ball to use on fresh lanes and when it dries up. This ball is good for that and still has Awesome! hitting power.

I used this ball on both patterns listed above, It Works. When the carry down starts making the ball flag the head pin, you will need to make a simple move and keep the pins falling.

For this ball being the start of our Performance ball, it has good hitting power and carry depends on entry angle you can achieve. This ball will allow you to move more to the right and give you the recovery you want.

With the right mind set, understanding it isn't for swinging the lane, this ball will let you stay in the pocket. This ball reads the dry and stays true to what you need it to do.

If you are looking for a ball you control and takes the pins out at a Great Price, this ball is the one!

James M. Hall
Brunswick Staff
San Diego Bowling Supply
San Diego, California
Hall831@aol.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BrunsBowler


Brunswick Avalanche Urethane Reviewed By: brentnangel 08/05/2011 21:56 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    211
Sport Shot Average    191
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Man this ball was so outstanding.I read that this ball had a hard time hooking, it depends on the physical release of the bowler.I had no problem bowling the 2nd arrow and getting the ball to get a strong arc to the pocket... I bowled with the Avalanche for 4 games....203,199,223,234,, Those games ain't so bad for a Urethane ball... I have a C system Alpha max, and a C system 4.5. This ball will make a good addition to my Brunswick collection.. Very outstanding ball Brunswick.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by brentnangel


Brunswick Avalanche Urethane Reviewed By: engr2phd 03/10/2011 20:45 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
Sport Shot Average    165
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Excellent Value for the Money and a Good Ball to Boot.

I watched all of the clips on this ball out on the net and there aren't many. But one of a 'regular joe' rolling his out of the box with not a particularly strong release, convinced me to get the ball. The ball hit like a truck on the this guy's video.

I can honestly say I have not been disappointed. I have a roto grip darkstar, and while that ball hits really well, it is very sensitive to oil or the lack thereof, meaning it skids or it hooks and thus is not particularly controllable.

This ball however gets thru the heads and the mids and then drives into and thru the pocket. The turn off the dry is strong but not so angular that it's uncontrollable. I've had a few 220s with the ball on THS. But last night I rolled on Chameleon and opened up with the first six, finishing with a 265. Anyone who's bowled on Experience conditions knows that 'off shots' are rarely rewarded. This ball rode up 5 made the turn and crushed the pocket. The two spares were my pulls. Ironically now that I think about it that game is my highest this year.

I strongly recommend folks adding this ball to their arsenal for 'effortless' rolling on the edges on the fresh or when the lanes are dry and broken down.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by engr2phd


Read all 20 reviews

Brunswick Avalanche Urethane Bowling Balls 4.90 out of 5 based on 20 ratings. 20 user reviews.