Only show reviews for Lane #1 Curve

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.73Write a Review    Read all 40 reviews

I Love It
 
82% (33 of 40)
I Like It
 
10% (4 of 40)
It's Ok
 
5% (2 of 40)
I Don't Like It
 
2% (1 of 40)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 40)

Lane #1 Curve Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 01/12/2010 15:21 ( stars)

329 of 330 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


The Curve brings the biggest backend reaction into the Lane #1 ball line.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/2" under middle finger
Mass Bias Position - 2 1/2" right of center line
CG Placement - just below mid line and right of center line
Balance Hole - none

Surface Preparation - Out of Box

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
With what we had heard from Lane #1 the particle pearl cover combined with the core used this ball was supposed to really get up and go on the backend.

This layout should enhance this motion and give me a good idea of how much the new Curve can do. By placing the pin 5 1/2" from my PAP I create a good amount of length with a sharper break point shape. By keeping the pin below my finger and the mass bias placement it should only enhance the ball motion off the break point.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I ended up with my favorite Lane #1 ball to date. It has been quite some time since I felt like I could throw a particle pearl ball and not get a weird kind of smooth motion. The Curve flat out hooks down lane and comes back from anywhere.

You have got to watch the video and see where we made this ball hook from. It cleared the heads better then most particle pearl balls I have thrown and transitioned through the mid lane with ease. As it started to read friction at the break point it was as if it stopped faced the pocket and went for it. Absolutely amazing motion off the point with great pin carry.

The amount of movement I created down lane with this ball was more then I have seen recently out of a pearl ball. All in all I think Lane #1 will turn a few heads with this release.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Curve Reviewed By: Brian Halstrom 01/12/2010 16:16 ( stars)

451 of 453 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2" x 1/2" Up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge
Brian Halstrom Lane #1 Curve Bowling Ball



They say this to watch for the big back-end, well they're not lying!

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 1/2" up) - 3 7/8" under ring finger
Mass Bias Position - 2" right of center line
CG Placement - just above mid line and right of center line
Balance Hole - none

Surface Preparation - Out of Box

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
It's been a while since I've thrown a particle pearl coverstock ball, and with the pin being 1" from the CG, I decided to stack the pin & CG below my ring finger. This also put the mass bias in a strong position.

I expected this layout to give me a good mid lane reaction and strong back end action. By placing the pin closer to my PAP, I knew this would make the ball start up a little faster allowing me to play on oilier lane conditions.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Another solid release from Lane #1 and a new heavy oil ball. I expected this ball to be aggressive, but words cannot describe how aggressive this ball actually is. You have to watch our video review of the Curve to have a full appreciation of just how much Curve this ball will give you.

With the particle pearl coverstock, I was able to move in farther left into the lane and really create a lot of area at the break point. As you would expect from a particle ball, this ball really bites it's teeth into friction. You are going to need some oil on the lane to get the best performance out of the Curve.

This ball and layout gave me exactly what I was looking for and more. I feel comfortable using this ball on the heaviest oil patterns out there and I'm confident that it has the potential to get back from wherever I throw it. I haven't thrown many particle pearl balls that I've liked, but that has definitely changed with the Curve. You have to check out this beauty and it's big back-end!

Added after the initial review. I have not seen a ball move this much and still store up energy like this for the back end - ever. Keith Spear CEO bowlingball.com



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brian Halstrom


Lane #1 Curve Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 02/10/2010 10:44 ( stars)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 


The Curve brings the biggest backend reaction into the Lane #1 ball line.

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 0" up) - 5 1/8" above fingers
Mass Bias Position - 3 1/2" From PAP
CG Placement - just above mid line and right of center line
Balance Hole - none

Surface Preparation - Out of Box

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I was expecting a monster of a reaction with what I heard from Lane #1. This is supposed to be the strongest ball on the market.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
This ball has been the strongest reacting ball I have thrown to date. The ball is so strong that it needs plenty of oil. The pearl coverstock will help get down the lane to a point, but once this thing grabs the lane, watch out. It's going left.

Lane #1 fans will already love this ball, but if you haven't tried Lane #1 yet, you will want to start here.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Curve Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 02/10/2010 20:32 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    6 3/16 x 1/2 down
 
This review is on the Lane #1 Curve!

Since the introduction of reactive resin bowling balls, there is one type of reaction that seems to be the hardest to reproduce. Unfortunately, it also is the reaction that is the most desired. We call this reaction the "hockey stick." A ball that will get through the heads with ease, read the midlane but not start hooking and when it gets to the backend makes a smooth but angular move. A very strong reaction, but very controllable as well. It's extremely hard to find this type of reaction. The original Storm Black Thunder had the "hockey stick" and so did the original Black Widow. It's the sexiest reaction in bowling, and Lane #1 has brought sexy back faster than Timberlake! The new Curve has the "hockey stick" down to a science. It's the strongest ball with this reaction I've ever seen, and being the most forgiving ball move, this thing is going to be a huge hit. We have a test ball installed with Switch Grip at our shop, and everyone who throws this ball falls in love with it. The hit is unbelievable and the carry is even better. This type of reaction is optimal for kicking the 10 pin out as well as creating messengers. If you've never tried a Lane #1 ball, this is the ball you've got to start with. The Curve - the smoothest, strongest and sexiest ball on the market!

Dustin Seymour
Bellair Lanes Pro Shop Manager
Daytona Beach, FL


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Curve Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 02/05/2010 19:49 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
We have the Lane #1 Curve in our shop Try before you buy.Our customer's give us great feed back on new release's.Every one want's to hear what a league bowler has to say about the new release.This ball gives them a strong roll in the midlane and hook in the back end.If you have any questions about this Lane #1 Curve e-mail us.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Lane #1 Curve Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 02/05/2010 19:49 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
We have the Lane #1 Curve in our shop Try before you buy.Our customer's give us great feed back on new release's.Every one want's to hear what a league bowler has to say about the new release.This ball gives them a strong roll in the midlane and hook in the back end.If you have any questions about this Lane #1 Curve e-mail us.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Lane #1 Curve Reviewed By: kanyon007 02/12/2010 11:33 ( stars)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


 
Just purchased the Lane 1 Curve on 2-8-2010. I was looking for a ball that had length and a strong backend. I was updating my equipment(Lane1Black Cherry Bomb & Lane1 Agent Orange.)I have a League average of 204 and I am a cranker. Took the ball out of the box had it drilled on 2-11-2010. This ball is amazing. The ball is very forgiving and will find the pocket no matter how far out you swing it. I threw a 718 series without even practicing with this ball. The Curve has the strongest backend I have ever seen in my 20+ years bowling. The Curve absolutely crushes the pins and loses no energy on the backend. Lane 1 has once again out done themselves and I promise anyone who purchases this ball you will not be dissappointed but amazed with this ball.Lane 1 in my opinion is far ahead of the competion in there technology and I can\'t imagine myself ever using another product. Thank you Lane 1 you have hit it out of the park once again., Kanyon007....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Curve Reviewed By: bigmgt14 03/08/2010 00:47 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
this ball is wicked. it literally walks across heavy oil. its pretty forgiving as well. if it hits the pocket its almost always a sure strike. i love this ball. if you are an avid bowler then you need this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Curve Reviewed By: rauch 03/07/2010 11:38 ( stars)

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
its a good ball ,i think its perfact scale is to high. i feel my Storm Reign has more back end. but thats just me. I love lane #1, great bowling balls...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 40 reviews

Lane #1 Curve Bowling Balls 4.73 out of 5 based on 40 ratings. 40 user reviews.