Only show reviews for Storm Virtual Gravity

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.61Write a Review    Read all 145 reviews

I Love It
 
83% (120 of 145)
I Like It
 
6% (9 of 145)
It's Ok
 
4% (6 of 145)
I Don't Like It
 
3% (5 of 145)
I Hate It
 
3% (5 of 145)

Storm Virtual Gravity Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 10/27/2008 07:29 ( stars)

190 of 190 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


Virtual Gravity, An Unstoppable Force from Storm.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 6"
Mass Bias Position - above thumb hole on center line
CG Placement -
Balance Hole - none

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (4000 grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
This one was pretty easy to think of the ball motion we wanted. The Virtual Gravity features the SHAPE-LOCK HD
core which was found int he Gravity Shift. It also has the solid version of the R2X coverstock that was
also on the Gravity Shift.

Since we were a big fan of the Gravity Shift this was a much anticipated release. I was hoping the solid cover
would help the ball read the friction a little earlier which should help smooth out the overall ball motion. If you
ever threw a Gravity Shift or watched someone throw the Gravity Shift you know that it makes a U Turn on the back end.
we have been this layout more and more on test balls so they are easier to compare, it also helps create a smoother ball motion
in the front and middle part of the lane while still allowing for plenty of movement on the backend if you want.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
WOW!!!

I will state it now, there is nobody that will not want this ball once they see it roll. After you finish reading this review you need to check out our video and see for yourself.

I could not believe the reaction I had with this ball. We tested this ball on our fresh house shot, to start off I was being conservative with my lines and angles. Playing the part of the lane where I would typically be during normal
league conditions. As I saw what this ball could do I migrated as far left as I wanted and watched the ball change directions with ease.

I honestly can not remember the last time I had a ball that allowed me to make the ball change directions at the break point like this ball does. On paper I really thought this ball would react similar but a little stronger then my Gravity Shift. They were not even close, they were very compatible but not the same ball at all. Every move I made with this ball it read the oil
and reacted off of the friction amazingly. The ball motion of the Virtual Gravity is what we are all really looking for, it rolls really heavy in the front part of the lane but does not hook early or burn up early. Through the mid lane section you see it start to read the friction but really just maintaining the heavy roll and then on the back part of the lane it makes a very distinct motion to the pocket.

As you will see from our video review, we made this ball do some amazing things. Storm has the winner so far for winter releases!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Gravity Reviewed By: Brian Halstrom 10/25/2008 11:25 ( stars)

47 of 47 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2" x 1/2" Up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge
Brian Halstrom Storm Virtual Gravity Bowling Ball


The new Virtual Gravity¢ is the latest endeavor using the well received R2X coverstock and the high performance Shape Lock HD¢ (High Density) Core.

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 1/2" up) - 5"
Mass Bias Position - 3" right of Center Line
Balance Hole - None

Surface Preparation - Left at Box Finish (4000-grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Layout: Knowing that this ball was going to hook, I decided to place the pin under my middle finger to keep the pin a little further away from my PAP.

What I Ended Up With In This Ball Layout: Let me start by making a bold statement...This is the most aggressive by I have ever thrown. Really, the movement this ball makes at the breakpoint is insane. While testing the ball with my co-workers, we were having fun seeing how far left we could stand and how many boards we could cross. This being said, any bowler that is looking for a strong ball in oil, no matter if you are a stroker, tweener, or cranker, this ball is the ball you need to have in your bag.

We started out using our Virtual Gravity's on a freshly oiled house condition. Normally I would stand around 20-22 and play in between the 2-3 arrow. Left at box surface, this proved to be a bit too aggressive for me. I started standing on 28 getting the ball close to the 4th arrow and out to 6. Once the ball reached the breakpoint, it forgets to put on its turn signal and just makes a left turn. This ball does not have Deflection in its vocabulary.

To test the balls limits, I decided to stand on 45 (pretty much lining my left foot up with the left gutter) and going in between the 5th and 6th arrows. While throwing through this line, my target breakpoint was still around the 6-8 board. Once again, off the breakpoint, the ball makes a left turn and absolutely destroys the pins.

My recommendation is that if you're going to miss, miss right. This ball will not have any problem recovering from the outside. This ball will react best on medium-oily to heavy oiled lane conditions. If you loved the Gravity Shift, then you are going to love the Virtual Gravity.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brian Halstrom


Storm Virtual Gravity Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 10/30/2008 09:37 ( stars)

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


Virtual Gravity, An Unstoppable Force from Storm.

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 0" up) - 3 3/8"
Mass Bias Position - 1" right of center line
Balance Hole - 7/8" x 1 1/2" deep on the PAP

Surface Preparation - Factory Finish Polish (4000 grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
This was my first bowling ball in the Shift line so I wasn't totally sure what to expect. I knew that Tony and Brian really liked their previous ones.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I first tried to use the ball at its out of box finish. With my lower ball speed it was hard to get the ball down the lane because of its huge hooking potential.

I then polished it up with some Factory Finish High Gloss polish. What a huge difference. We were able to shoot our ball reaction video on a fresh house shot and you need to watch it to see. Tony and Brian were playing ridiculous angles with this ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Gravity Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 11/24/2008 20:39 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
we just had our first and not our last storm open house the turn out was great the virtual was the big hit everyone that rolled the ball wanted one it rev up quick and never stopped if you need a ball for oil this is the ball

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Virtual Gravity Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 07/18/2009 14:06 ( stars)


 
First of all let me say that Storm’s Virtual Gravity is a very unique looking bowling ball. The color scheme and brightness is a real head turner when it rolls down the lane. This is designed to be very aggressive and used for medium-heavy oil patterns. On a heavier oil pattern is very good, but for the average house shot this might be a little too much ball. Although the R2X cover allows for easy surface adjustments to cover most medium to heavy patterns you should avoid laying this ball out too strong. This ball has a good roll and should be recommended it for anyone looking for a ball with a lot of overall hook.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Storm Virtual Gravity Reviewed By: 12 Frames 07/11/2009 12:39 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
Pin to PAP(5 1/8\" over 11/16\" up) - 4 3/4 above ring finger
Mass Bias Position - 4 1/4\" from PAP right of thumb
Balance Hole - Hole placed on PAP to keep ball legal

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (4000 abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
This ball was drilled to be my go to ball for heavy oil. I needed a ball for a freshly oiled shot. The layout provides some decent length with strong reaction off of the spot. I also wanted something that would allow me to open up the lanes when possible, yet still provide a strong recovery.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
If this ball does not win ball of the year, then the contest is fixed. LOL! The Virtual Gravity (VG) is the new standard by which all balls are measured. My VG gets down the lane and has a strong midlane reaction and a stronger backend reaction. The VG is a very aggressive ball. When it reads a dry backend, it will turn towards the pocket with extreme intentions. LOL! The VG is one of the hardest hitting balls in the history of bowling. You will be in awe the first time you successfully roll this ball.

The VG\'s strength is its massive backend and hitting power. When you hit the pocket, this ball destroys the pins. It is as if the ball sucks the pins from the deck. The backend is very strong and continuous. I can strike from a variety of angles and I never have to worry about carry with this ball.

As for the VG\'s weakness, it simply needs oil. If there is not enough oil on the lane, just simply put it back in your bag. I have seen so many people struggle with this ball because they refuse to put it back in the bag. As for me personally, I get more use out of my other balls than I do with my VG. However, when there is enough oil, you will be rewarded because it is one of the hardest hitting balls out today. There may be a few new balls that will out hook the VG overall, but there is not one ball on earth that will out hit it. Period!

In closing, the VG is an awesome ball. If you like aggression and you can get used to the idea that you can\'t use this ball all night, then this is your ball. It\'s upside is that when you can use it, it is one of the best oil balls ever. It\'s downside is that when you can\'t use it, you better have something that can take up the slack. LOL!

Peace!



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 12 Frames


Storm Virtual Gravity Reviewed By: power bowler 02/10/2009 21:20 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
The Virtual Gravity is AMAZING!!! I am a power+high revs bowler and have never needed a heavy oil ball. In league play, house patterns were never difficult to control but with pba patterns in tournaments, I was soooo out of my game. There is no forgiveness with only 3-4 board margin of error and my game so suffering. I need to better my odds on heavy oil so I got the Virtual Gravity. "WARNING " This ball is THE TRUTH. On heavy oil and extreme carry down conditions, the virtual gravity slides through the heads and hits the friction area with so much stored power. This was my first storm product, and I was so impressed that I am going only storm all of the time . Hy Road is my next purchase for mid-oil conditions. I'll keep you posted.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Gravity Reviewed By: HiggyJr 01/24/2009 11:40 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4
 
Virtual Gravity -drilled pin above the bridge- 5 1/2 to PAP, Cg about 4 inches to PAP and the KEY is 2 inches right of the thumb. I have a Gravity drilled the same. But the object was to compare the Virtual to the Dimension (DIMENSION -pin above ring finger- 4 1/4 pin to PAP, Cg kicked at 70 degrees). Virtual box surface 4000 abralon was too much surface for me with the strong Shape-Lock HDâ„¢. It tended to hook to quick and lose the energy for me. The Dimension matches up better for me then Virtual on the longer patterns and medium to long patterns with carry down. I can create better angle and carry with the Dimension. Since the Virtual didn't match up well from me out of the box, I adjusted the cover to 2000 abralon and polish with Storm Reacta Shine. This ball really likes the fresh long and medium patterns, as it tends to get through the midlane cleaner and come of the break smooth and carry's well. I like to use on the 39-42 foot fresh sport/pba patterns for a game and on a house shot. I have seen bowlers with less revs absolutely put up big numbers on a fresh house shot with Virtual right out of the box. A bowler with more revs would need to probably polish or alter the surface to their liking for a desired ball reaction.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by HiggyJr


Storm Virtual Gravity Reviewed By: disco 02/20/2009 01:15 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
First after reading all these reviews I thought I would put a light polish on it. Drilled it with the pin under my ring finger. Wanted to open up the lane....I opened up the lane. This ball is the biggest hooking hardest hooking ball I have ever thrown. I normally stay away from the aggressive balls as I dont have a problem hooking the ball. Threw 2 practice games 254 standing on 20 throwing to 8. Next game stood on 25 and threw to 8 to 10. 290. Packed it up to go to work. Next night league. 250, 240, and stayed with it and should have changed 214. This is a ball you almost cant miss right with, speed and dont pull it inside your target and you will be pleased. Great power, good control and when it flips it could go right through a wall on its way to the pocket.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by disco


Read all 145 reviews

Storm Virtual Gravity X-Comp Bowling Balls 4.61 out of 5 based on 145 ratings. 145 user reviews.