Only show reviews for Storm Second Dimension

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.75Write a Review    Read all 52 reviews

I Love It
 
81% (42 of 52)
I Like It
 
15% (8 of 52)
It's Ok
 
2% (1 of 52)
I Don't Like It
 
2% (1 of 52)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 52)

Storm Second Dimension Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 01/20/2009 13:26 ( stars)

198 of 198 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


Get ready for the pearlized version of the Dimension from Storm.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4 1/2"
Mass Bias Position - n/a
CG Placement - 2 1/2" right of center, 1/2" down
Balance Hole - 7/8" x 2" from center of grip through cg on VAL

Surface Preparation - Out of Box

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
This layout is fairly similar to my Dimension which I use as a bench mark ball. I did decide to put the pin in a stronger position then my regular Dimension. I kicked it 3/4" further right, a little closer to my PAP hopefully making this pearlized version stronger then my polished Dimension.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I love when plans come together and this one did perfectly. The Second Dimension rolled almost identical to my Dimension but stronger. This was exactly what I was looking for this ball to do. Keep in mind this is a pearlized shiny Dimension so the ball is going to get through the heads pretty clean. My best opinion is to use a stronger layout on this ball so it does not get to long down the lane.

Anyway back to may ball reaction. Through the heads the ball was smooth with a pretty strong roll. The placement of the extra hole and the logos made the ball look really cool off my hand. As the ball made the transition and read the friction it revved up nicely. I would say this was where I saw the biggest
difference in the 2 Dimensions. My Dimension is drilled weaker and shined up with Moon Shine so it still skids when it gets to the friction area. The Second Dimension does not it reads the friction and moves hard. On the back the ball was a typical Storm ball, it just kept driving through the pin deck and carried like a dream.

Overall another winner from Storm, especially if you have a Dimension that you like you can really play off of this ball with a different layout.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Second Dimension Reviewed By: Brian Halstrom 02/18/2009 10:57 ( stars)

110 of 110 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2" x 1/2" Up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge



Storm has developed a pearlized version of the Dimensionâ„¢ with enhanced traction in the carry-down and increased entry angle to the pocket. Welcome to the Second Dimension.


Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 1/2" up) - 4 3/4"
CG Placement - kicked right
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Left at Box Finish

What I Was Looking For In This Layout: I was looking to get this ball through the heads clean and store enough energy for a strong reaction at the breakpoint.

What I Ended Up With In This Ball Layout : This layout gave me exactly what I was looking for. This ball is one of the most aggressive pieces that I have in my bag at the breakpoint. Clean through the heads and sharp at the breakpoint.

With this layout, I can play multiple parts of the lane depending on the type of lane condition I'm playing on. On the medium to oily conditions, this ball and layout combination allows me to go further right on the approach and play a tighter line up the lane. With the amount of energy stored and reaction at the breakpoint, I do not have to worry about this ball getting back to the pocket.

On medium lane conditions or when the lanes start to breakdown, I really like the look this ball gives me. It allows me to get to a deeper section of the lane without having to sacrifice ball reaction at the breakpoint. As long as I get the Second Dimension to friction down lane, I do not have to worry about the ball reacting at the breakpoint.


Overall, I would recommend this ball for anyone who has thrown the Storm Dimension and is looking for its compliment. Clean through the heads and very strong, angular motion at the breakpoint. This is also a good piece for me to go to when my Virtual Gravity is too much for the lane.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brian Halstrom


Storm Second Dimension Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 02/02/2009 17:33 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
we got our Storm second Dimension with one inch pin with 3 oz top wt we drilled pin under ring finger with the cg kicked out 1/4 of a inch right of the center of grip this Second Dimension gives you more length with a strong move when it hits the backend

Mike Seymour Ormond Pro Shop Manager


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Second Dimension Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 10/12/2010 12:48 ( stars)


 
The Second Dimension is a pearl version of the original Dimension. This ball was created to be effective when the front of the lane starts to dry out. The R2x pearl cover uses enhanced mica particles for better friction down lane even if there is a carry down of the oil. The Continuum Core provides a medium to low RG and a higher differential so that you still maintain control of the mid-lane while giving you a strong move down lane. This ball is a good choice for higher friction lane surfaces and medium volume oil patterns.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Storm Second Dimension Reviewed By: wannabhotj@gmail.com 11/12/2010 12:42 ( stars)


 
This Second Dimension is the best by far bowling ball I have ever used! It hooks quite nicely and the pin action on it is amazing! It his a nice smell to it and makes me wanna bowl at my best for some reason. haha. This Second Dimension is great on medium and heavy oil lanes so I really love this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Second Dimension Reviewed By: River Lanes Pro Shop 10/11/2010 17:16 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1/2 up
 
The Storm Second Dimension is a great ball for many types players. This is a very strong ball but retains energy very well making it a monster in the back of the lane. I have seen a lot of success with this ball from inside angles with players with higher rev rates. It really allows you to open the lane up from left to right. Even though higher rev players seem to like this ball more, tweeners and strokers can still use this ball on a wide variety of lane conditions. The Second Dimension will give these types of players more motion in the back part of the lane giving a stronger entry angle to the pocket. Get one of these while you still can!

Striking Advantage Pro Shop
Titusville FL
river@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by River Lanes Pro Shop


Storm Second Dimension Reviewed By: wam10 09/22/2010 13:47 ( stars)


 
This ball is a good one to keep in your bag. I bowl on heavy oil patterns, and when the lanes start breaking down and i need to switch balls, this is the one i go to. It's less aggressive than my invasion, but more aggressive than my natural. It's the perfect combination to get the job done.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by wam10


Storm Second Dimension Reviewed By: X-Men 05/12/2010 21:52 ( stars)


 
I have thrown just about everything ball out there. This ball is very unique. It just keeps on going and going. Hits harder and carries better than anything in my bag. Love it.




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Second Dimension Reviewed By: cmalley728 12/29/2009 19:23 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    204
Sport Shot Average    189
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
I got this ball to be my go to number ball out of the bag. I got a pin of about 3 inches and had it drilled with the pin just below the fingers and an added balance hole. The first time i used this ball was at a tournament and on the first day the lanes were super dry so i quickly put the ball away. The second day they were super slicked and my Cell was way better on that day. Well i kind of forgot about the ball for a while and finally pulled it out in league. This ball is a monster! I was able to play deep up the middle or way out from 5 to the gutter no matter where i played on the house shot it would kill the pocket. This ball is great for all lane conditions except for the far extremes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmalley728


Read all 52 reviews

Storm Second Dimension X-Comp Bowling Balls 4.75 out of 5 based on 52 ratings. 52 user reviews.