Only show reviews for Columbia 300 Full Swing

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.66Write a Review    Read all 44 reviews

I Love It
 
84% (37 of 44)
I Like It
 
5% (2 of 44)
It's Ok
 
7% (3 of 44)
I Don't Like It
 
2% (1 of 44)
I Hate It
 
2% (1 of 44)

Columbia 300 Full Swing Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 07/10/2009 07:17 ( stars)

125 of 133 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


The Full Swing - The latest and greatest from Columbia 300.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/4" above ring finger
Mass Bias Position - 4" from PAP right of thumb
CG Placement - just right of center
Balance Hole - none

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (4000 Grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I was looking for a strong reaction with a decent amount of skid out of this stronger ball. This layout as you may have seen on other test balls gives me a good amount of push with plenty of reaction to recover on the back.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I ended up with a really good ball motion. The Full Swing allowed me to get in pretty deep as well as play in the track area with a little higher ball speed. I did find some issue with the ball wanting to push a little more then I wanted in the heavier volumes. Unlike some of the other balls tested this one was a little more sensitive to ball speeds.

Overall a good piece of equipment from Columbia.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Full Swing Reviewed By: c300yoder 07/09/2009 09:49 ( stars)

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


 
Wanted to chime in here, I have had this ball for a month now and it is my new favorite! Definately still has that Columbia300 mid-lane combined with continuous strong angular reaction on the backend. Just love the way you can read a lane with this ball. It is one of this first balls out of my bag. It is stronger than the Power Swing earlier on the lane, but still has that backend reaction you need to strike! Check this ball out guys/gals!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Full Swing Reviewed By: BuddiesProShopcom - Tim 07/08/2009 01:51 ( stars)

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    233
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 right, 1/4 up
 
If I could give this ball a 10 rating, I would...this ball is amazing.

I loved the Power Swing, so I was excited to drill this black beauty up. My first one is drilled 70 x 5 1/2" x 70. This is the ball I used when the scoring pace is high. With this layout, I get a clean read through the front part of the lane, a strong roll in the midlane, and an aggressive, ANGULAR move on the backend. For the first time in a long time, you can actually see the ball going through the different stages of a ball's roll, from skid to hook to roll (my thumb slug locks up on the side of the ball when it gets ready to make that sharp turn!). For me, this ball was about 6-8 boards stronger than a Power Swing. It started to read the lane about 5-10 feet earlier, and had a stronger move down the lane.

For those consumers looking to replace their favorite black ball with red letters, get a Full Swing. It is awesome. This ball will fit any bowler's style, and will be able to be used on a wide array of different patterns.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BuddiesProShopcom - Tim


Columbia 300 Full Swing Reviewed By: MGS 07/08/2009 01:08 ( stars)

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


 
So the release date for this ball is July 9 and a couple of you have already thrown it enough to make an informed opinion. That means you are either Columbia staffers or the distributor in your area said screw the release date and has already sold them to your pro shop. No matter how you got them you're entitled to your opinion but I beg to differ.

As a regional staffer I have had the ball for about a month and can honestly say it's the best new ball from Columbia in quite some time and it most definitely does not react like the other balls in the Swing line or any Columbia ball for that matter. The asymmetrical core will give you the backend reaction that the previous balls don't have. I just bowled Nationals and shot over 2000 using the ball all 9 games. I have no doubt I would not have scored nearly as well without it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by MGS


Columbia 300 Full Swing Reviewed By: Camman98 07/07/2009 23:58 ( stars)

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    237
Sport Shot Average    207
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 over by 5/8 up
 
I wonder how this other guy who posted a review had it before me who is on staff and most other staff guys in the country, he said he had it almost a month before the release so I wonder about the credibility of his review but I could not disagree more with what he had said!!

All I can say is WOW, This is hands down the best high performance balls I have ever owned, and I have had a few and some i realllllly liked. The carry this ball provides is stunning and the move off the break point is sick, and what amazes me is how consistant it is, even though it moves a lot of the spot its so controllable. Complimented with the Bedlam thats cleaner and even more angular, the whole line is amazing this year. I drilled my Full Swings one with a 30x30 with a 3 inch pin and a double thumb hole and the other 45x45 with a 4 inch pin no hole and went and threw it on the THS that had a ton of carrydown from the weekend, the ball made it look like a fresh house shot with its backend, then on league night shot 760 after i won a sweeper on Sunday on the highway to hell pattern with the same ball, on it i had incredible backend and since it was readable and consistant it was unfair to the rest of the field, ball has already started putting money in the bank. If you only buy one hp ball this year I am telling you this has to be it!!!! This ball has got alot of GOOD reviews on other well known web sites so i am not sure what they are talking about on here but this has to be one of the front runners for ball of the year this year!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Camman98


Columbia 300 Full Swing Reviewed By: JayRW 07/08/2009 21:27 ( stars)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


 
I have had my Full Swing for about a month now. I have used it on a variety of patterns and am very excited about this ball and where the brand is going. I\'ve been on staff about about six months. I was satisfied with the equipment and bowled really well, but was just missing a few reactions. When I talked to anyone within the company I always said that I missed the strong asymmetrical reaction the most. Not anymore. The only ball I can compare this shape to is the original black widow, only about five boards stronger. The overall ball reaction is a very strong hard arc. Its got predictable along with pop at the pocket. The Full Swing will usually be the first ball out of my bag and I can keep it in my hands much longer than a Resurgence. As I move in with the Full Swing I just get more and more around it and it and it keeps coming. I look forward to doing some more layouts and will report back with the results.

Layout: Pin 5 inches from axis below fingers (on centerline). MB @ 45 Degrees

Overall: Strong, continuous, versatile. If you throw Columbia your going to enjoy this one, If you don\'t pay attention to the guys that do you\'ll soon want one.

--------------------
Jason Wunderlich
Columbia 300 Regional Staff
Homestead, PA


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Full Swing Reviewed By: Senior Mac 07/08/2009 16:42 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
I am new to the Columbia staff. I have used this ball for about a month. My axis is 5 1/4 3/8 up. Bowl RH. My ball speed is between 15.5-16.5 t I consider myself a tweener. I put the pin above the ring finger. 4 3/4 from axis. MB is 2 1/4 from my thumb with a 1" hole on my axis. I left it out of box surface. This is one of the best balls I ever had in my bag! It comes back from everywhere and keeps coming. The day after I drilled it, I bowled in a tourn. and bowl a 300 game 761 series. On a THS I bowled my best 4 game set. 279, 268, 289, 268. 1104. Then the following week I bowled a 794. I know we bowl on some soft conditions, but this ball can strike. This is a must ball for every bag! I will be bowling 6 reg. in the next 7 weeks and I will fill you in with more info.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Full Swing Reviewed By: rotogripbowler4life 07/12/2009 17:46 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
Revrate 325 - 360
speed 15 - 17 mph
axis 4 3/4 x 1/2 up
Ball drilled 4 1/2 by 3 1/2 small hole mb at 50 degrees

First off let me say that I was skeptical about Columbia's new promises of having a ball that is long and strong but gives alot of overall hook. BUT they nailed it in this ball. It is 4 - 6 more boards stronger then my Rogue and much cleaner and stronger on the back. The numbers are similar between the two balls and I knew the cover would be the determining factor and it is. This new cover columbia has is amazing, even though it is clean it still picks up the midlane strong so the ball is not to squirty and not to early, its just right. The new weight block really stores the energy well and also releases it at the perfect time. This ball is very versatile and extremely strong.

ON A TYPICAL HOUSE SHOT
I could play straighter or get in and hook it due to the cover allowing the ball to get down the lane. If you take a little hand out of it you can really manipulate your reaction through the fronts and down lane. This ball is great on the house shot, i threw 7 games with it today on a fresh pattern and just keep moving in and following the breakdown and it was great for 6 games, then i moved back right and took hand out of it and threw it harder and it still got down the lane and popped!!

ON CHAMELEON

I threw it yesterday when i had it drilled on chameleon and it was the same story. I could use this ball and just chased it in and then move back right and firm up on the speed and still make it work.

ON SHARK

This is where this ball really performed well. I could stand 20 or so to start and keep it inbetween 15 and 11 at the arrows and it was perfect, I could vary my speed a mile to a mile and a half and still it would make it back. When the carrydown started to transition and i could move in it had amazing power with the carrydown and actually i feel the ball excelled here because it created alot of tug and miss right.

All in all if i could sum this ball up in two words it would be STRONG and VERSATILE, two things everyone needs. This ball would be awesome in just about anyones hands due to the versatility and core/cover combo might be the best I have ever had.

Thanks for reading my e-view


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Full Swing Reviewed By: Dean Billings 07/09/2009 07:27 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    237
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Finally from Columbia a ball that explodes on the back end. As a staffer I have been begging for a ball that reacts like this. I finally feel like I have the edge, and I am looking forward to this tournament season with an anticipation I have not had in awhile! I will soon post specs and drilling info for comparison. So far......much better!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 44 reviews

Columbia 300 Full Swing Bowling Balls 4.66 out of 5 based on 44 ratings. 44 user reviews.