Only show reviews for Ebonite Lane Breaker

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.92Write a Review    Read all 13 reviews

I Love It
 
92% (12 of 13)
I Like It
 
8% (1 of 13)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 13)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 13)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 13)

Ebonite Lane Breaker Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 07/01/2009 10:31 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


The all new Lane Breaker from Ebonite.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/2" under middle finger
Mass Bias Position - n/a
CG Placement - just under and to the right of center of grip
Balance Hole - none

Surface Preparation - Out of Box

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
Even with all the balls we test, sometimes we open a box and just get a little excited based solely on what the ball looks like. This was one of those balls for me. As soon as I opened the box I knew how I was laying the ball out. It looked like a V2 Pearl to me and I was determined to use the layout I loved on my V2 Pearl.

So see sometimes we do not have anything in mind other then matching up to a older ball that we really liked. I try very hard not to do this but sometimes you have to and since the layout was not anything crazy I figured it would actually be good on this ball.

This layout for me tends to smooth out the ball in the front letting me play deeper on the lane and having more energy to get the ball back using that steep entry angle.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I got what I wanted. I don't care what Ebonite says they did on this ball, it reacts as close to any V2 I have seen yet. I was able to play so deep on the lane and still get recovery that I thought I was back in the day when my body let me play that deep all the time for more then a game or so.

The ball did exactly what i thought and cleared the heads like there was no tomorrow. Obviously the pearlized reactive cover helped but the ball motion was fantastic as it easily transitioned into the middle part of the lane and exploded for me on the backend. As I squared up with the ball I was not as impressed but it rolled good. This will most likely be the ball I throw
when the lanes let me get in and wheel on it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Lane Breaker Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 07/01/2009 11:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 
Surface Preparation:
Out of box - 4000 Grit Abralonâ„¢ w/ Powerhouse Factory Finish Polish

Layout:
Pin just under and slightly right of my ring finger
CG just above the thumb

Overall Performance:
The Advanced Performance(6) category seems like Ebonite may have priced this bowling ball a little low. It rolls almost as well as a high performance rated bowling ball. I haven't tried their new highest performance ball (Evolve) yet, but am looking forward to it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Lane Breaker Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 09/09/2009 20:14 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Ebonite Lane Breaker is a another great ball at the advanced performance.The perfect scale is 166 and the flare potential is high.Ebonite Lane Breaker is a great ball to have in your arsenal for tournaments and league play.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Ebonite Lane Breaker Reviewed By: Xcessive_Hook 08/09/2009 22:37 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right by 1/2 up
 
I was in the market for a low performance ball, and honestly picked the lanebreaker on a whim. I went with a 5 1/2 pin, left the cover oob and tried it on used lanes after our "high roller" 4-game league.



What I found was something very surprising to me. I was able to stand on 20, target 10 with my bp at 5 and watched the ball still easily clear the heads and mids, and made a nice flip into the pocket. Typically on our fresh shot, I can't play that far right. To see what the real deal was, I came back that next day to try it on a fresh shot.

I was able to move 5 more boards right and keep my target and bp the same. When I see that I have to move too far left or it's shorter than usual, I will go to this ball to bail me out. Great medium/light condition ball!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Xcessive_Hook


Ebonite Lane Breaker Reviewed By: left2win 07/15/2009 12:41 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Another great ball in this series! I used one of my favorite layouts on this ball. I drilled the pin out of the ring finger(which is about a 4 inch pin to axis for me), kicked the CG out about an inch and half with a small hole. Again, I took the surface from box to 2000 abralon pad. The ball clears the front very easily and gives me a very predictable backend reaction. If you liked the previous balls in this series you will love the Lanebreaker. A must in any bowlers bag!.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by left2win


Ebonite Lane Breaker Reviewed By: Rbrock712 04/26/2011 19:07 ( stars)


 
I bought this ball last year at the end of the season. I started this season with a 201 avg finished with a 210. It is one of the smoothest balls I have ever thrown. It hits the pocket with great controlled force and will carry the world. This ball is perfect for someone who is a stroker and a tweener with medium ball speed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Lane Breaker Reviewed By: bowlright300 07/07/2010 22:36 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
 
Ebonite really came through when they made the Lane Breaker. It seems that this ball can do it all when it comes to lane conditions. When lanes are dry, moving left and throwing hard usually does the trick, and in medium and high volumes of oil, it clears through the oil and hits hard with a strong back end reaction.

I usually use this ball to strike and to pick up spares on the left side of the lane. I've been using this ball for a while now and it's as reactive as the day I got it drilled.

Overall, a really great ball!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlright300


Ebonite Lane Breaker Reviewed By: skeener 02/20/2010 10:33 ( stars)


 
Pin- slightly over the middle finger.


I love this ball. I have a 180 average in league and before this ball I would rarely ever sneak into a 600 series. First league night with this ball I bowled 650 and the second night out I bowled 673.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Lane Breaker Reviewed By: jpeaseiv 01/12/2010 15:39 ( stars)


 
Awesome ball. The best I have bought so far. I have been on a league for 3 years and was carrying an average between 155 and 165. This is probably my 7th ball purchased since. Our lanes are on the medium side. I have thown the ball twice now. My first series was a 184 average and my second was a 192 average. Not only that, my lowest game was a 168 with the highest of 208. Very consistant. I am very happy. I am throwing a 14lb ball 14-15mph. I was throwing another 14lb ball 13-14 mph. Somehow I picked up 1 mph and 20-30 more pins. The ball just feels natural. A must buy!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 13 reviews

Ebonite Lane Breaker Bowling Balls 4.92 out of 5 based on 13 ratings. 13 user reviews.