Only show reviews for Brunswick Rattler

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.58Write a Review    Read all 12 reviews

I Love It
 
58% (7 of 12)
I Like It
 
42% (5 of 12)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 12)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 12)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 12)

Brunswick Rattler Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 01/12/2009 15:05 ( stars)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


 
Brunswick has raised the stakes in the mid performance ball category with its new release the Rattler.The Rattler use Brunswick's Activator coverstock (which is one best covers to ever be formulated) around their proven low RG rocket core. I drilled mine with a dual angle layout of 45 X 5 X 65 which puts the pin under my bridge, the cg shifted about 1 1/2 inches to the right, and I had to use a small weight hole down below my mid line. My Rattler had a very strong mid lane roll and a very controllable move to the pocket. On a fresh THS this ball handled the oil extremely well as I started moving left I was a little nervous because sometimes for me low rg cores make the ball lose energy a little too fast and I start leaving weak hits. This ball never seemed to lost its energy as I moved left and circled the pattern a bit more. My pin carry was just as strong at the end of game 3 as it was in game 1. How many times have you started your league with a great ball reaction only to wonder where it went in the 2nd game? This ball allowed me to follow the oil line left without sacrificing any performance or carry and to me that is a sign of a really great ball. Thanks again Brunswick for another a great bowling ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Brunswick Rattler Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 07/17/2010 12:35 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Brunswick Rattler is a ball for almost every bowler if you have a bench mark ball this is a great companion.Rattler is easy to read in the front with control in the backend.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Brunswick Rattler Reviewed By: nicks3cv 09/27/2010 07:08 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
 
I\'ve bowled with Brunswick balls since I was a kid. I got the Rattler because of it's down lane breaking point, at first it\'s way too mild for me out of the box due to the high glass finish, but once you get it dulled down a bunch it\'s perfect! I throw a pick up ball and I thin kI chose the right one to get back on my game.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by nicks3cv


Brunswick Rattler Reviewed By: Brunschick300 02/11/2009 15:50 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I have had the opportunity to throw this particular ball in an array of different tournaments on different patterns and have found it to be very versitile.



It's one of the stronger Brunswick Balls in my arsenal, yet it is not uncontrollable. I have mine drilled pin below my ring finger with the CG kicked out and fidn that it gives me a sharper backend on most conditions.



Overall this is a great ball and will be in my arsenal wherever I am going.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brunschick300


Brunswick Rattler Reviewed By: ryanh@northwestdrywallcompany.com 11/12/2010 07:13 ( stars)


 
Super easy purchase. Great price! I am loving the ball. Got great help from the staff with even the smallest question. This was the first ball I have purchased online and they made it great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Rattler Reviewed By: rydog12 06/17/2010 16:22 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
 
Too early to tell but it reacts exactly like I wanted it to. Only have bowled one week with it but it seems to be a good fit for my needs

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rydog12


Brunswick Rattler Reviewed By: Spider Ball Bowler 03/01/2010 01:24 ( stars)


 
Left Hander, 15-16 mph, low-med rev rate, stroker.

I had this ball drilled up with the pin below the ring finger, the cg angled to the left, with a small x-hole located 2-3" left of the cg. I left the ball with the out of box surface. I like putting the pin down on a ball with skid snap reaction characteristics because it gets into it's roll a bit earlier and doesn't make the back end reaction so snappy.

I purchased this ball because I was a big fan of the Activator cover stock that came on the Ultimate Inferno. I was happy to see such a good cover at such a nice price.

I ordered it up for our Annual City Tournament, but didn't have a chance to get any practice with it beforehand. I decided to take it with me anyway for singles and doubles based on how the oil pattern normally is at the house we bowled at.

Getting to throw it for the first time in doubles, I was very happy with the reaction shape from this ball. The ball got down the lane with ease, but read the mid lane very well, and made a nice strong, but smooth move on the back end. Basically this ball is a great look for your typical house shot with the OOB surface. I've seen so many people drilling up the most aggressive pieces to use on house shots and not seeing good results, or having pieces that over hook. A nice mid price piece like this would allow more people to match up better.

I do not think I would use this on a sport or flatter pattern with the polished finish, because in my experience, these pieces change directions too fast on tougher shots and can cause some serious problems. However, knocking the polish off would smooth out the back end reaction and get the ball into a roll even sooner.

After throwing this ball in doubles and shooting a moderate 680 series, I figured I would keep throwing it in singles. We moved pairs down to lane 1 & 2 and I had the most amazing look. I had such a good reaction and found some area left of my target playing a small swing from 13 to 8. What I ended up with were games of 268, 266, 279 for an 813 series. The reaction was great, my carry was great. I won our city event scratch singles and handicap singles (826).

However, there is no such thing as a magic bowling ball. That being said, if you're looking for a nice piece for a normal house shot, at a really great price, the Brunswick Rattler is definitely a ball you should take a look at.

Remember, the cover stock they use on this ball at this price is the same cover they used on the ball of the year from just a few years ago, The Ultimate Inferno.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Spider Ball Bowler


Brunswick Rattler Reviewed By: devildog819 01/12/2010 21:55 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 3/4 over, 3/16 up
 
RH Bowler
Tweener
Ball Speed - 15 mph

I have only used this ball for a couple of pot games so far. This ball was drilled 5 x 4 with no weight hole. The ball reaction was predictable thru the heads and the backend move was strong off the breakpoint and continuous thru the pins. Though both balls use the Rocket Core, I personally like this ball over the Copperhead. I am certain the reason why is the Activator coverstock....I have another that I am going to drill up but I have no idea how yet...So far, another winner from Brunswick.

Roger Harley, Jr.
Brunswick Pro Shop Staff
USBC Certified Coach
Red Nelson\'s Bowlers World


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by devildog819


Brunswick Rattler Reviewed By: cmytoe 02/12/2009 01:42 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I am fairly new to bowling and this is my first aggressive ball. This thing is an absolute scream! I get great length with a vicious hook that disintegrates the rack. My only issue was sending it into the wall a few times until I found the line. The pins sounded like they were exploding. Can't wait to get back to the lanes!!

Drilled using Brunswick large-pin layout 1.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 12 reviews

Brunswick Rattler Bowling Balls 4.58 out of 5 based on 12 ratings. 12 user reviews.