Only show reviews for Roto Grip Cell Pearl

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.91Write a Review    Read all 155 reviews

I Love It
 
93% (144 of 155)
I Like It
 
5% (8 of 155)
It's Ok
 
2% (3 of 155)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 155)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 155)

Roto Grip Cell Pearl Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 09/17/2008 11:50 ( stars)

194 of 194 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge



Are you ready for the next generation? Roto-Grip's Cell Pearl is sure to be everything you need!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/2"
Mass Bias Position - 4" from PAP
CG Placement -
Balance Hole - none

Surface Preparation - Box Finish

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
With all the success of the original Cell this one was going to be pretty easy. Use a layout that I know and trust and let the ball do the rest. The Cell Pearl combines the same Nucleus core as the Cell with a pearlized reactive cover. The layout I used on this ball is fairly common for me and I have a Storm Gravity Shift that I love drilled the same way. I figured this would be a perfect way to compliment my Cell and to give us a good idea of
what this ball can do.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Roto-Grip once again has raised the bar with this release. The look the ball had going down the lane alone would sell this ball to anyone who saw it. I guess the best description would be a Cell on steroids. With the pearlized reactive cover this gave me the look that most bowlers want, long and strong. The Cell Pearl got through the front part of the lane smoothly and with little disruption to friction, as it moved through the mid-lane you could see the ball grab the lane and continue straight through the back end. This ball hit as
hard if not harder then the Cell, this was mostly due to the amount of energy that it stored for the back part of the lane.

As the night continued making adjustments to the lane changes was as easy as it is with any reactive ball but the predictability of the Cell Pearl was amazing. The small moves that I had to make were common during league and
the ball gave me enough forgiveness to recover if the move was to drastic.

Overall this is another winner from Roto-Grip. I think you will enjoy throwing this ball as much if not more then your Cell.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Cell Pearl Reviewed By: Brian Halstrom 09/15/2008 14:02 ( stars)

133 of 133 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2" x 1/2" Up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge



The technologically advanced and performance proven Nucleusâ„¢ core delivers continuous predictable motion for all types of bowlers. The Cytoplasmic Xâ„¢ pearl reactive coverstock is a first in the industry with the optimum amount of porosity and enhanced surface friction.

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 1/2" up) - 6"
Mass Bias Position - 5" from PAP
CG Placement - 1" Left of grip center
Balance Hole - None

Surface Preparation - Left at Box Finish (1500 Polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Layout: I went ahead and tried Roto Grip's recommended layout for crankers, the 6 x 5 layout. They say that this will work good for those inside lines.

What I Ended Up With In This Ball Layout: If you liked the Cell, then you are going to love the Cell Pearl. Not only does this ball look GREAT going down the lane, but it hits like a truck. Even with the pin so far from my PAP, this ball is still one of the more aggressive balls in my arsenal. This gets through the heads pretty easily, then jumps off the dry and makes a left turn. Skid/Snap would be a valid description of what I get out of this ball layout.

I started around 15 at the arrows and was getting the ball out to around 5 on our Thursday Night Men's league. It was flying back off the dry, so I ended up moving in towards 18 at the arrows and kept the ball closer to 8-10 at the breakpoint. This allowed the ball motion to transition smoother off the breakpoint and give me the look I needed.

After a game and a half, the lanes had broken down and I was forced to move in deeper. My first move in was to stand on 34 on the approach and put the ball over 23 at the arrows 12 at the breakpoint. The look this gave me was terrific. It did provide enough kick at the breakpoint to snap the corners out at the very end.

Overall, I think this is going to be a great ball for me on the tighter lane conditions. Compared to my Cell Pro CG, I can get in deeper and it gives me a better angular look. If you bowl in a drier house, or you rev it up, I would recommend this layout. If you bowl in a house with more oil, are more of a tweener or down and in player, I would recommend going with a stronger layout. Another great ball from Roto Grip.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brian Halstrom


Roto Grip Cell Pearl Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 09/19/2008 16:25 ( stars)

35 of 35 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 
The Roto-Grip Cell Pearl is the follow up to the original Roto-Grip Cell.  It features a pearl reactive coverstock  in place of the solid reactive coverstock. 



Pin to PAP(4 1/4" over 0" up/down) - 4"

Mass Bias Position - 4" from PAP

Pin Buffer - 1 1/2"

Balance Hole - none



Surface Preparation - Box Finish



My Personal Review:  I really liked the way this ball rolls.  Not only does it look great going down the lane, it also has the strongest backends of any of the equipment in my bag.  I am currently a 188 avg bowler that normally starts out standing 20 playing 10 at the arrows.  With this ball I am starting out standing at least 25 playing around 15. 


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Cell Pearl Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 10/31/2008 16:15 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
we drilled cell pearl with switch grip so that our customers could test the ball before they buy drilled pin in the ring finger the cg is three inches from center of grip mass at 45 degree the ball clears the heads very well with a great turn in the backend the cell pearl is flying off the racks if you need length with a strong backend this is the ball for you

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Roto Grip Cell Pearl Reviewed By: IrishMike837 09/30/2008 03:21 ( stars)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


 
I've been anticipating the release of this ball for quite some time now and it has finally arrived. The very first game I bowled with it was a 277 during league play not a bad first impression of the ball. Then I went down to Albuquerque to bowl in a PBA Regional and after shooting 161 the first game with the wrong ball in my hand, I made a ball change to the Cell Pearl. I averaged 218 over my last 7 games and would have made the cut if I had started out using the Cell Pearl. I used a pretty basic label drill with this Cell Pearl with no weight hole and with the pin above my ring finger. This ball rolls so smooth through the front part of the lane storing up all the energy for the end result. The carry that I've experienced up to this point has been phenomenal and I really can't ask for anything more from a bowling ball. I now feel that I have an unbeatable combination of equipment headlined with the Cell, Grand Illusion, and now the dynamic Cell Pearl. The Cell Pearl is a must add to any bowlers arsenal.

--------------------

Mike Keily - Roto Grip Amateur Staff



ROTO GRIP - King Of Them All!



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by IrishMike837


Roto Grip Cell Pearl Reviewed By: FuseG4 10/07/2008 05:19 ( stars)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


 
Drilled 4x4 with a 2.5" pin buffer, no x-hole. OOB surface.

Tweener with med-slow ball speed, medium axis rotation and almost no axis tilt.



Mine smelled like grapes out of the box, but it's wearing off.



Good skid with a lot of cut in the midlane. Strong and certainly continuous in the back. Compared to my lightly polished Odyssey this ball is somewhat stronger in the midlane. Compared to the Cell this one gives a similar look in less oil.

I would say it's much like an Epic Saga but with more grip.



Beautiful ball, rolling this one is a pleasure.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by FuseG4


Roto Grip Cell Pearl Reviewed By: John Brodersen 09/26/2008 21:05 ( stars)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4 Over
 
Ball specs – 15 lbs 0 oz, 2.38 top weight, and 2.25-inch pin.



The Cell Pearl was punched using the dual angle layout method, 4.5-inch pin by 55-degree drill angle by 30 degree VAL angle. (Looking for some length with a strong backend move.) This put the pin just to the right and ¾ of an inch above the ring ringer. The marked mass bias (RG) is 1 ½ inches right of the thumbhole. An X-hole was not needed as the CG was left of a line drawn from the pin to the mass bias (RG). The finish was left OOB.



The Cell Pearl is a great looking shell and will have great customer shelf appeal. Wonderful looking color scheme.



The Cell Pearl is cleaner and longer (around three feet) through the fronts than the original Cell. However, it does need some oil up front to achieve this. If you start it in some friction or throw it to some friction the response is pretty quick. If you have some oil up front, the move to the pocket is very strong, bigger and much sharper than the original. The Pearl Cell has similar roll, carry and hit characteristics as the original as it shares the same Nucleus weight block. Those characteristics are the predictable, forgiving roll, fantastic carry and tremendous hit. It really throws the pins around even when playing inside of twenty.



Many bowlers have waited patiently for this one to be released and it was worth the wait. The Cell Pearl is another, tremendous addition to the Roto Grip lineup and can be used on most medium conditions.





John Brodersen



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by John Brodersen


Roto Grip Cell Pearl Reviewed By: deuce024 03/10/2009 14:45 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    221
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I recently swited from Ebonite line to Storm/Rotogrip. I have become very found of the newer lines of these balls. In having the Demension and Virtual Gravity in my bag already I was having trouble getting the ball down the lane by the end of the 3rd game when the mid lane began to dry out. Instead of changing the surface of my balls I decided to purchase the Cell Pearl in effort to get as much length as possible and to get the break point into the pushed down oil. Being a right handed tweener I drilled the ball agressive 4x4b to get length with a continuous back end rather than the arc. I am in love with this ball and would recommend it to anyone looking for the perfect compliment. Being so impressed with the action of this ball I may begin to bring it out of my bag first. Very nice ball by Rotogrip!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Cell Pearl Reviewed By: milktrey 02/08/2009 15:38 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
Just picked this ball up as well as the storm hyroad. comparitively the hyroad hooks a littl emore but the main difference is the carry. i throw all sorts of shots from straighter angles to big hook, but mostly straight cause that works better and is easier. When i thrown the hyroad it hits nice very time and leaves no pins standing unless i screw up. with the cell pearl it seems like i hit the pocket perfect every time and it leaves something. this ball does not carry at all and thats why im not too much of a fan of it so far. but i have thrown a few good games the minimal time ive used it. kinda disappointed but this ball still looks cool.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by milktrey


Read all 155 reviews

Roto Grip Cell Pearl Pro CG Bowling Balls 4.91 out of 5 based on 155 ratings. 155 user reviews.