Only show reviews for Storm Hy-Road

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.84Write a Review    Read all 62 reviews

I Love It
 
85% (53 of 62)
I Like It
 
13% (8 of 62)
It's Ok
 
2% (1 of 62)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 62)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 62)

Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 11/28/2008 13:56 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


Hy-Road offers another great ball reaction option to Storm's ball line.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4 1/2"
Mass Bias Position - n/a
CG Placement - just right of center line
Balance Hole - none

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 grit Polish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
The only real thought I had while I was laying this ball out was to have something to compliment my Virtual Gravity. I have been using my Virtual so much lately that I really did not need something else for league but I thought it would be nice to have something under my Virtual just in case.

I used a pretty simple stacked drilling, I put the pin 4 1/2" from my PAP with the cg right below it. This drilling tends to be a really controlled but strong reaction layout. That sounded good since the only things I knew besides all the technical stuff was that Norm Duke made it look really good a few weeks earlier on TV.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Another great ball from the guys at Storm. I think they have had the most good balls in row if you combine Roto-Grip and Storm. This ball was perfect! It rolled super strong in the front part of the lane without giving up any energy for the rest of the lane. I threw this ball with a few of our other testers that drilled one and they all reacted different but they were all good. I have to say that I like my look a little better then the other guys but I will be drilling on up with one of their layouts.

Overall this was just a good ball reaction. If you remember back in the day when anything with a "Z" on the ball from Brunswick rolled good, this had that type of reaction. Just a good, clean, strong (maybe I should think of more adjectives for this ball) ball motion from start to finish.

If you do not have a Storm ball of some kind in your bag right now, you need to get one. You will happy you did.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 11/14/2008 08:41 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 


I drilled the Storm Hy-Road with the pin 3 3/8″ from my Positive Axis Point, which puts the pin to the right on my ring finger. I put a 1″x2″ weight hole 6″ from my center line straight through the CG.

This was my first mid-performance bowling ball in a long time and I was excited to try it out. Even though we shot a video at TalkBowling about bowling ball performance, it's still mentally hard to get over the name "Mid Performance".

This ball should prove that point very well. We tested the ball on a fresh typical house shot before our Thursday night league. I was able to control this ball better than most High Performance Bowling Balls. It still got down the lane with a strong backend reaction.

This ball is a GREAT companion to the Storm Virtual Gravity. Start your night out with the Virtual Gravity and as the lane condition changes and the Virtual Gravity starts to hook too much, change to the Storm Hy-Road and finish your night strong.




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: Brian Halstrom 11/15/2008 11:43 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2" x 1/2" Up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge



The HY-ROADâ„¢ is the latest release in the Thunderâ„¢ Series of balls. HY-ROADâ„¢ is the perfect complement to the 2007 solid ball of the year; the T-ROADâ„¢ Solid.

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 1/2" up) - 4 1/2"
Mass Bias Position - N/A
CG Placement - 2 1/2" Right of grip center
Balance Hole - 1" x 1 1/2" balance hole 5 1/2" from the center of grip through CG

Surface Preparation - Left at Box Finish (1500 Polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Layout: The ball reaction I was looking for in the Storm Hy-Road ball was clean through the heads and aggressive in the back end. Something that would allow me to not have to work as hard to get down the lane, but still turnover nice on the back.

What I Ended Up With In This Ball Layout: Well Storm just put out another winner here. They say this ball is supposed to compliment the T-Road Solid, and I say that they may have just one-up'd it.This ball performs exceptionally well on those medium oil patterns. When compared to my Storm Virtual Gravity, this ball clears the heads easier and makes a great reaction in the backend. I threw this ball for the first time last night, and I am very impressed with the movement and readability.

I tried this ball on a typical house shot, medium oil. This worked best for me when I stood on 25, threw the ball in between the 3rd and 4th arrows, and got the ball to around 8-10 at the breakpoint. It seemed pretty effortless to get the ball through the heads, but once it reached the breakpoint, it made a move that was strong and predictable.

The one thing I loved about the Storm Hy-Road was the ability it gave me to play different parts of the lane. I moved 5 boards right to stand on 20 and play a little straighter. It still allowed me to get through the heads easily while maintaining enough energy down lane. After finding out that I could play straighter with this ball, I moved left about 15 boards to stand at 35. This is where I usually like to throw my Virtual Gravity. Once again, this ball impressed me by turning the corner effortlessly and exploding at the pins, sending messengers everywhere.

Overall, this is a great piece to have in your bag. Whether you're a cranker and a down and in player, this ball simply performs on all levels.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brian Halstrom


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: tonohand 06/30/2010 21:42 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    232
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Extreme
Style    Cranker
PAP    5"
 
This is the most angular ball i have ever thrown. my first game with it i shot 250 with a missed ten pin (not my fault stepped in water OOPS!) Anyway this ball is a perfct ball in between the virtual gravity and the furious (read my reviews) You need this ball GET ONE!!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by tonohand


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: tagjlm16 02/24/2009 23:40 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I love this ball. The Hy-road gets down the lane and hooks in the back end. I use this ball after the track opens up a little bit and gets to the pocket when my stronger balls cannot.

My Hy-road is laid out 4x3 with the pin under my middle finger and a 7/8 inch x-hole on my VAL below my PAP.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by tagjlm16


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: kykartracer 02/03/2009 03:57 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Right-Handed

Medium Ball Speed

Cranker

Pin to PAP: 5"

CG Placement: Right on the center line

Balance Hole - None

Surface Preperation: 1500 Grit Polished (Box Finish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout: I was looking for a ball to go longer and be weaker than my Gravity Shift, Virtual Gravity and Dimension as these are all fairly strong balls. I also wanted something that would move more than my Spit Fire or NVS. Besides that, all I knew is I wanted it to go long and make a strong move on the backend. The pin ended up being slightly over the bridge, but more over the middle finger.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout: This ball does exactly what I had hoped for it to do. For the first time in as long as I can remember I threw the same ball the entire night during league. I picked up my Hy-Road this morning and threw it tonight. It is very clean through the heads and doesn't overread the midlane, which is a problem I have been having with the other stuff I own. Once it finds dry on the backend it makes a smooth, but VERY strong move to the pocket.

Unlike the solid balls I have been throwing, this ball takes a lot less effort to get it through the midlane without wanting to break as soon as it gets there. The advantage over the pearl balls I have thrown is that it will recover if you get it out too far, where the pearl balls just sit out there. The only downside I can see is that our bowling alley tends to push oil around the lanes, rather than drying up and you have to move a little right on the floor and play a little straighter to compensate or this ball will sit outside too long and not break on the end. It still makes a lot better move on the backend than any of my pearl stuff ever thought of making though.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kykartracer


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: ravensark 11/02/2008 22:59 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    217
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
As one of the first to get the pleasure of throwing the all new Hy-Road from Storm I am pleased to tell you hat Storm has taken mid lane recovery and shot forgiveness to an entirely new level. This ball allows you to play straighter if the lanes call for it or to get in and wheel with the big boys. If you liked the T-Road and T-Road Pearl then you will love the Hy-Road. If you are looking for your first ball or just a new ball to add to the arsinal, there is no reason to drill anything but Storm's first hybrib ball... The Hy-Road.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ravensark


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: kyleaz03 07/05/2014 19:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    211
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    3 5/8" over by 3/4" up
 
My Hy-Road has 2.76 oz of top weight and a 3.5" pin. I drilled it 45X4"x35, and removed an oz of side weight with a P2 hole. This ball is amazing, it's no wonder Storm has continued making it for 5 years. The layout I went with is similar to the midlane layout I used for my Hyper Cell, which is 40x3.5"x35, but surprisingly the Hy-Road covers more boards and gives me a better look on the sport shots I've used it on, 2014 USBC Nationals doubles/singles, PBA Chameleon, and on the 38' house shot at my center. If I had known this ball was going to be this strong I would have bought it a long time ago, I'm considering buying another and drilling it 65x4"x45 for a control type layout. Even though I drilled it for a strong mid-lane read and continuous backend it is still very predictable. Before spending $140+ on a top tier ball, consider getting a Hy-Road instead.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kyleaz03


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: Kick Butkus 04/06/2014 23:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I am a former athlete that decided to try a new sport now that my boys have headed off to college. I studied up on bowling and all the right equipment. It was recommended that I start with a low end ball but I am glad I didn’t do that now. If you are trying to learn the game and the proper form, you need a ball that is designed to react to the correct release with a fingertip grip. It took me one evening of bowling to learn the proper form and once I did, the Hy-Road went to work. After the second night of bowling, I am already able to go over 200 (213 high score) with this ball and that is without having a spare ball yet to do a good job picking up my spares. This is a quality ball but just not very flashy looking. They are not joking about being scented. The smell fills my car or the room I leave it in. I think I would like to move soon to a more aggressive turning ball but for now, I am going to add the fingertip gripped Team Storm spare ball and see how well I can push my average up with the Hy-Road. If you are serious about learning the game as it should be played, this a good ball to start with. I am thinking my next ball will be the IQ™ Tour Fusion unless you guys have another recommendation.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kick Butkus


Read all 62 reviews

Storm Hy-Road Bowling Balls 4.84 out of 5 based on 62 ratings. 62 user reviews.