Only show reviews for Brunswick Avalanche Pearl
Only show reviews for Brunswick Avalanche Pearl Blem

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.67Write a Review    Read all 12 reviews

I Love It
 
75% (9 of 12)
I Like It
 
17% (2 of 12)
It's Ok
 
8% (1 of 12)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 12)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 12)

Brunswick Avalanche Pearl Reviewed By: TTitus 03/04/2009 12:03 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    194
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I just started bowling about two months ago (mid January). I haven't bowled since I was about 10 years old. This was the first ball that I bought. This ball brought my average up about 10-15 pins just because I had more control and I as able to be consistent with it. While this ball is certainly capable of knocking the pins down and getting a decent hook, it certainly isn't a hard-hitting ball unless you go with the 15-16 pound version. In dry conditions I play this ball down the 10th board toward the gutter with a smooth, arching curve to the pocket. In mid-oil conditions, I throw it straight down between 1 and 5 boards and let it hook in. For high oil conditions, I switch to my Twisted Fury. This ball is great for throwing straight at a 10 pin and can still be used for some mean hooks if you have a high rev or are a decent stroker. If you are a cranker on oily lanes, you might want to look elsewhere. If you are a stroker or a tweener with low revs or a slower velocity player, this ball will work for you. If you are looking for length on dry lanes, this ball will also work for you. Either way, I recommend that you go at least 15 pounds with this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TTitus


Brunswick Avalanche Pearl Reviewed By: aquazuba 05/01/2008 10:36 ( stars)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
 
I work at a bowling alley, and I saw this ball being delivered. When the pro shop guy came in, I handed him the box and said, "I want one!". He then drilled it up for me, and I didn't get to throw it until I went to a HS tourney in South Bend. I went to practice the night before, and shot a 690, which, for me averaging 190-200, is pretty good for a first time. I can rely on this ball not to freak out when I pull it or do anything of that nature.

Balls in my arsenal:

Storm Spit Fire

Brunswick Avalanche Pearl

Brunswick Absolute Inferno

Storm Ice Storm


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by aquazuba


Brunswick Avalanche Pearl Reviewed By: breezy 01/28/2010 21:19 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4.75, up .25
 
Great ball. Bought it used 2 years ago, plugged it and put it on the shelf. The middle of the lane wasn't playing very well as of late, so I saw the Avalanche Pearl on the shelf and decided to drill it up (drilled it 6x4-3/4). What a great decision. Played 23 to 10 (and at the most I only have to move 1 board as the night wears on) and it blows the pocket. This ball hits far better than my Ultra Zone (which I feel is a very over rated ball). I should have pulled this one out earlier.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Avalanche Pearl Reviewed By: NIMAC 08/12/2009 14:06 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    5 1/2 over 5/8
 
Bought this ball for my wife as her first ball. She bowls great with it. Great on both heavy and medium oil. She doesn't have that much ball speed, but she manages to get it down the lane and hook aggressively towards the pocket. Great all around ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by NIMAC


Brunswick Avalanche Pearl Reviewed By: Xcessive_Hook 08/09/2009 22:46 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right by 1/2 up
 
I know this ball is old (In industry terms) but being a fan of pearl coverstocks, I decided to pick this up as I don't have a dry lane ball.

Words cannot express how happy I am I picked this up. 5 1/2 pin:


This ball has absolutely no problems clearing the heads and mids, even on a broken down shot after 7 games today. I figured with this, that it would have saved up so much energy, causing an explosive punch in the back-not even close.

The ball made the softest turn and crushed the pocket again, and again. I was primarily using this as my spare ball, but in the rare case my lanebreaker becomes too jumpy, I will not hesitate to double-duty this ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Xcessive_Hook


Brunswick Avalanche Pearl Reviewed By: bigman12ga 07/01/2009 13:41 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    180
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I had this ball drilled at a locol pro show to maxium hook.

I shoot in a tournament last night and I was blown away first game 278,220,288 total series 786 scratch. This ball will not leave my bag.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bigman12ga


Brunswick Avalanche Pearl Reviewed By: doug 7 09/08/2008 14:00 ( stars)


 
i am a high rev bowler who needed a ball that i could take into the third game, and late part of the second game as well. Using this ball on it's ideal lane conditions, it really hooks alot. Yet if i dont put many revs onto the ball i can make it go almost straight making it great for 10pins also.



This ball is a great choice for high rev bowlers who need a weaker ball to use when the lanes break down. also ignore how the ball looks in the picture, its more of a metallic blue ball with some white swirls in it, its a very nice looking ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Avalanche Pearl Blem Reviewed By: Cosmic_L 03/23/2012 08:41 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
 
A ball that works extremely well in a lot of different lane conditions, would be a great addition to your arsenal if you need a ball that hits like thunder on drier lanes or a guiding ball.

Appearance: Very attractive colours and looks great when rev rate is higher. However the silver parts may get a littlebit tarnish after using it for a long period of time.

Ball motion & lay out: I drilled it pin up and very aggressively, was trying to use it on the driest lanes without sacrificing power.

This ball did very well and allows me to play with a lot of entry angle, it skids well, and hits like a thunder storm, this ball has a less hook rating core however has a very good pin action.

After all, this ball works extremely well in most lane conditions, even in modern days, it reserves the traction and energy when skidding and releases it like a tsunami on the back end. This ball can do more than you think and believe me, it will be a very good addition to your arsenal when lanes are very tough.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Cosmic_L


Brunswick Avalanche Pearl Blem Reviewed By: bub73 12/24/2008 10:42 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    181
Sport Shot Average    148
 
This is an awesome dry lane ball.Hits real hard and is a must have for the third game of the night.I can even work with it in medium oil.Thank you bowlingball.com for practicly giving it away.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bub73


Read all 12 reviews

Brunswick Avalanche Pearl Blem Bowling Balls 4.67 out of 5 based on 12 ratings. 12 user reviews.