Only show reviews for Hammer The Sauce

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.78Write a Review    Read all 40 reviews

I Love It
 
90% (36 of 40)
I Like It
 
2% (1 of 40)
It's Ok
 
5% (2 of 40)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 40)
I Hate It
 
2% (1 of 40)

Hammer The Sauce Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 10/16/2008 13:42 ( stars)

39 of 40 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


The Sauce is Hammer's first High Performance release for almost a year!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 6"
Mass Bias Position - n/a
CG Placement - 1" above mid line
Balance Hole - none

Surface Preparation - Box Finish (4000 grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
Well I use this layout on a Black Widow and Black Widow Pearl. The conditions at the particular house we do our testing and league bowling tend to get very wet/dry. This layout helps smooth out the ball motion while maintaining plenty of heavy roll and enough down lane hook. With what we heard about the Sauce from Hammer I thought this would fit in above my Widow.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Pretty much what I expected. This ball fits in perfectly with the other Hammer balls I have drilled this way. It actually skids through the heads a little cleaner then my Black Widow which was a little bit of a surprise but
the overall ball motion is awesome. I think this is the look that Hammer has needed to really fill out their ball line.

The Sauce rolls very strong in the front part of the lane and continues that motion into the transitional part of the lane. As you can see from our ball reaction video the ball makes a very distinct, very sharp motion at the break point. Overall I feel this will fit in well with most league bowlers and higher average players.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer The Sauce Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 10/16/2008 07:26 ( stars)

30 of 30 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 
Hammer's The Sauce is their first high performance bowling ball release in a long time. Hammer has had so much success with their Black Widow series of bowling balls, that it was time to introduce a high performance ball again.

Pin to PAP(4 1/4" over 0" up/down) - 5"
CG to PAP - 4 1/2"
Balance Hole - none
Surface Preparation - Box Finish

My Personal Review: The expectations that people have of this ball are correct. I have heard from some Hammer staff players that this was going to be an amazing bowling ball, and they were right. I only average in the 180's currently, but absolutely love this ball. You will notice in our videos that I often get very little attention. That changed in the last video, this ball rolled so well for me that I had a bigger part than usual.

The ball cleared the heads easily, and had a strong continuation on the backends that sent pins flying.

I highly recommend this ball for bowlers of all skill levels.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer The Sauce Reviewed By: Brian Halstrom 10/16/2008 12:01 ( stars)

24 of 24 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2" x 1/2" Up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge



The Sauce High Performance Series features an all-new Contrusion core shape allowing for greater backend movement without sacrificing breakpoint control, and the Hammer Aggressive Edge coverstock; the most aggressive coverstock we've cooked up yet.

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 1/2" up) - 3 3/4"
CG Placement - 1 1/2" Right of grip center - 2 3/8" from PAP
Balance Hole - 5 1/2" Right, 1" Down - Hole Drilled 2" Deep w/ 3/4" Drill Bit

Surface Preparation - Sanded to 1000 Abralon and Polished with Brunswick Factory Finish

What I Was Looking For In This Layout: Since this is the first high performance Hammer releases in some time, I decided to go stronger with this layout to see what it could do. I was looking for this ball to hook more in the midlane and give me a strong punch at the breakpoint.

What I Ended Up With In This Ball Layout: Out of the box, this baby hooked early and often. A little too much for me to handle, so I ended up using 1000 grit Abralon and polishing the surface with Brunswick Factory Finish polish.

I started this ball left of the 4th arrow and got it to 10 at the breakpoint. With the added polish, the ball was able to store more energy to release at the spot. It begins to pick up a roll earlier than anything else I have in my bag. With the ball left at box finish, I found that the reaction smoothed out on the backend as it was using its energy too quickly.

The added polish really helped. Once it reaches the breakpoint, the progression to the pocket is very strong. It actually looks like it goes into another gear and levels through the pins.

Overall, Hammer is back in the High Performance market with The Sauce. If you're a low rev player and want the most reaction out of your ball, I would recommend this type of layout for you. For higher rev rate bowlers, I would either recommend you use this layout on heavier oil patters, or lay the ball out with the pin 5-6" from your PAP. This layout rolls tremendous on medium patterns and offers more angle at the breakpoint.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brian Halstrom


Hammer The Sauce Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 10/20/2008 18:20 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
we had hammer demo day the sauce was here we where the first with the sauce it lives up to the hype the demos rolled strong through the front with control in the backends everyone could not stop rolling the sauce well of course we helped them take one home

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Hammer The Sauce Reviewed By: biglefty 10/21/2008 07:26 ( stars)

35 of 35 people found this review helpful.


 
I had this balldrilled off the spec sheet for heavy oil and medium track . I used this ball last night and it has made my other balls in my bag Twisted Fury and Columbia Resurgence seem obsolete and before I threw this ball I condidered them both excellent bowling balls with lots of drive and carry. This ball creates so much area that you can not miss in my case being left handed to the left no matter how far it goes out it never skids and it snaps back. A couple of minor issues cost me a big score just from trying to get used to a ball that does not slide at all and hooks continuosly ( I am not complaining that is what i was lokking for). If you lose a ball inside normally they hold inside in the oil and you can still hit the pocket and possibly strike or more often leave the 7 or 10 pin . this ball never holds, never slides it goes right through the nose. Also, if you dont hit this ball at the bottom with the proper speed and since it will never stop hooking and never slides it can be unforgiving if you get slow... so it might be unusable on anything less than medium heavy to heavy oil. Also, if you throw this ball straight up the boards it tends to drive too hard and blow the 4 pin around the 7 straight up over the top of it sometimes . It also leaves the fast 8 from that angle. the best angle and carry i found was to float it out from the center out to about the 2nd arrow let it flip and it is a monster I truly love this ball .... I am going to miss using some of my other equipment but I can feel an 800 something series and a few 300's coming in the next month.... The league i was in has a lot of 230 and 220 range bowlers and a lot of them were in awe of the way this ball hit and carried .... I suspect it is going to be a very hot seller ..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by biglefty


Hammer The Sauce Reviewed By: bradford82 01/28/2009 09:42 ( stars)

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.


 
All I can say is wow. To sum it up: Aggressive with a very predictable and stable break point.

I drilled mine up with their standard layout, "length with an aggressive finish", for a high track bowler (4 1/2 pin to pap with cg centered in the span), which for me ended up being pin over ring finger and the cg in the center of the span. No balance hole needed for once.

I expected something like my black widow which in a lot of ways it was. They both are Very aggressive and drive through the pocket with continuoation. But my breakpoint was longer and stayed consistant with The Sauce!!! The black widow you had to stay ahead of the oil change or you were going to overshoot the pocket. With this It allowed me to move gradually. Actually If you got too behind it let you know by leaving a 9 pin.

Unfortunatly this is all out of the box finish first night with this new ball so I just hope it doesn't die out too much, A little might be good. I did notice that a track in the ball had already started. So im guessing its going to be a high maintence ball (so keeping it clean for sure and an occational reservaces might be in order to keep it alive).

My game: Medium speed, with medium to high revs.


To tell you the truth i was having so much fun with The Sauce in league that the (seriously) eight 9 pins i left i didn't care about. Still shot 690, And shot one 10 pin the whole night which really surprised me on the shot it stood. I felt like i was Robert Smith, Just DESTROYING THE POCKET with the type of swing and aggressiveness that the ball gave. I had all kinds of people watching and commenting on the ball and shots.

Ball reaction: For me on the 39 foot oil pattern buffed down to 44 feet. It had a little bit of an arc too it and just took off and drove. The further out you through it the more arc it showed with the same ending. You through it in the middle and it became angular. Standard houseshot i know but the break point was so predictable.

BTW: I have had the Cell, the Cell Pearl, Virtual Gravity, black widow, black widow bite, and long list of other balls and this one takes the cake.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bradford82


Hammer The Sauce Reviewed By: t11rex 01/11/2009 22:18 ( stars)

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    202
Sport Shot Average    201
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
About the Bowler
Bowling Hand
Right Handed
League Average 208
Ball Speed Medium
Style Tweener
Ball weight 14 lbs
Got The Sauce with a 4 inch pin drilled for heavy oil conditions. The first Hammer ball I have ever owned. I bought it because of the great reviews and great price from bowlingball.com. This is a surprisingly aggressive ball in heavy oil. Out of the box on medium-heavy league oil rolled games of 247, 211, 232. A really awseome ball. With lighter oil conditions I feel the ball will only be good for my first two league games then can see having to go to my Brunswick Copperhead which is a great ball for the lighter oil conditions. The Sauce is a great compliment to my Copperhead and Black Label Elite.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by t11rex


Hammer The Sauce Reviewed By: h23vtec 04/26/2009 00:25 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    185
Sport Shot Average    175
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
Im a stroker with about a 185 average. just started bowling about a year ago but ive owned my fair share of balls. this ball by far hooks more than any of my other balls. i also have to virtual gravity which i feel has potential for more hook but needs more revs to do it. i dont know that the sauce could be more perfect for my slower reving but higher speed style. right out of the box it was perfect for my style. i had it drilled with the hammer recommended strong drilling pattern. plays good in anywhere from medium to flooded oil lanes. im probably 100 games on it and it hooks just as strong as game 1.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by h23vtec


Hammer The Sauce Reviewed By: pitdog 01/03/2009 22:00 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    184
Sport Shot Average    192
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
While I'm not too big on words,W O W!

Just got mine last week and was amazed.Had it drilled to go long with a strong back end.Strong is not the right word to describe it,(WICKED)is more like it!While I am only a mid 180's bowler i can see gaining realistically around 10 pins.While testing and rolling at slightly different speeds,the ball seems to be very forgiving not to mention it snaps back like a yo-yo.Love this ball and would highly reccommend it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 40 reviews

Hammer The Sauce Bowling Balls 4.78 out of 5 based on 40 ratings. 40 user reviews.