Only show reviews for Roto Grip Grand Illusion

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.86Write a Review    Read all 35 reviews

I Love It
 
86% (30 of 35)
I Like It
 
14% (5 of 35)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 35)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 35)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 35)

Roto Grip Grand Illusion Reviewed By: IrishMike837 09/03/2008 21:14 ( stars)

24 of 24 people found this review helpful.


 
When I first got my Grand Illusion drilled I didn't have time to practice with it before my PBA Experience League, but after a few successful shots during practice I decided to go ahead and use it for the night. I made the right decision because I was high series for the night with a 857 (4 games) on the Chameleon pattern and I won over $100 in brackets and high game pots. The Grand Illusion is so smooth down the lane but once it hits the breakpoint it makes a hard turn for the pocket and the pins don't stand a chance. I've been able to use the ball successfully on house conditions, PBA conditions, and a variety of other tournament conditions. Now along with my Cell I feel that I have an unbeatable combination of balls to work with on almost any lane condition. Even though I normally bring at least 8 balls into the center with me I haven't been able to get the Grand Illusion out of my hand, it's that good. If you are looking to improve your arsenal of bowling equipment then get the Grand Illusion, it's a can't miss.

--------------------

Mike Keily - Roto Grip Amateur Staff



ROTO GRIP - King Of Them All!



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by IrishMike837


Roto Grip Grand Illusion Reviewed By: Tess7654 09/04/2008 13:15 ( stars)

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I drill my Grand Illusion 5x3 with weight hole on pap. When I first used it (on house shot) I expected it to go fairly long and flip hard because of the shiny factory finish but what I got was good length,lots of midlane read and a strong predictable arc on the backend. 2nd pattern bowled on was in a regional on the chameleon, I used a 2000 abralon by hand and knocked the shine off....this gave me more mid lane and very strong continuous move to the pocket. I must say I have been very very impressed by the versatility of this ball. First night of league last week was 791. Will post another review when I drill my 2nd one.



David Tessman

RotoGrip regional staff.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Tess7654


Roto Grip Grand Illusion Reviewed By: Keith Glasgow 09/01/2008 23:14 ( stars)

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.


 
Just had the ball drilled up with the pin just below the fingers. Took it out of the box and used it on a modified house shot in an AMF house(lots of spotty conditioner). Went straight up the boards around 10-12 and it held it\'s line towards the pocket with no over reaction at all. I was having problems with my Cells over reacting causing an over/under condition. I must say, this ball is the perfect compliment to my other Roto Grip Balls and will keep it handy when the backends start to dry up.



Keith Glasgow

Roto Grip Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Grand Illusion Reviewed By: gperry 10/02/2008 14:19 ( stars)

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


 
Drilling Pattern: 3 X 5 with Weight Hole



Grand Illusion…..



Okay People… where to start??? Love this Ball, If you are looking for something to fill the Void or a good in between ball then this is the one. This ball is incredible on the Drier House Conditions and when the lanes break down a bit. Super easy through the front and I guarantee it to make the corner. Reads the lanes well and is very predictable. Don’t be afraid to get inside and crank on this ball it reads the backend very well. I recommend this ball to anyone who needs help as the lanes change. As usual this one kills the pins when it is in the hole!!!!!



Greg

Roto-Grip Test Staff



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Grand Illusion Reviewed By: PaulMc 08/31/2008 18:08 ( stars)

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    229
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 , 3/8
 
I drilled my first Grand Illusion with the pin 4.5 inches from the PAP. What a great reacting ball. The ball goes long yet has strong back ends. It is really a great even rolling ball. The ball also really reacts strong off the dry on a wet / dry condition that allows me to create area left of my target (I am a lefty!). The easy length also can give me some hold area. The hitting power is pretty impressive. I have had two 300’s with it in league and a couple 2nd place finishes in SASBA (senior) tournaments with it.



I drilled a second one with a longer pin 5.5 inches from my PAP. At first it was either a flat seven or a six pin. After putting some surface on it I was able to move outside the oil line and “pipe it”. The ball struck forever and gave me a completely different look.



Paul McCordic


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by PaulMc


Roto Grip Grand Illusion Reviewed By: mike johnston 08/28/2008 19:54 ( stars)

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    213
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I received this ball in time for summer league. What a great addition to the product line. I kept the box finish and had this drilled with the pin above the fingers. This ball works great on medium and light oil.

I am a low rev stroker and love to see the reaction of the ball as it bounces off the friction and makes its move to the pocket. This ball provide the backend I needed compared to the Illusion.



Last night I used this ball in the last game of league and added 20 pins to my last game when others were struggling as the heads were drying out and everyone was getting overreaction from the more powerful equipment.



You will be surprise with the performance of this ball. I got a lot more than I expected.



Another success from Roto Grip.



--------------------

Mike Johnston

Roto Grip Advisory Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mike johnston


Roto Grip Grand Illusion Reviewed By: lil league coach 10/03/2008 10:10 ( stars)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


 
I love this ball for any type of Tournament/ PBA patterns. The Grand Illusion rolls so effortlessly through the heads and reads the oil pattern very smooth on the back.

The first tournament I rolled with it I ended up winning. The tournament was on the Chameleon pattern on wood (tons of friction). I used this ball to lead qualifying and go on to walk my way through the 16 man bracket! I was soo impressed with this ball due to anyone I watch they miss right ball would hang.. miss left the ball is face. Not the case with the Grand Illusion as its smoothness gave me area and carry! Thanks ROTO GRIP on ANOTHER Great piece

My specs:

Right Handed

17-18mph

PAP: 4 1/2 x 3/8 up



LAYOUT of GRAND ILLUSION - 5 x 3 3" pin buffer - pin is under the middle finger cg kicked out with an axis on the PAP.

*If you want smooth and consistent this is the ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by lil league coach


Roto Grip Grand Illusion Reviewed By: nypro 08/18/2008 15:02 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
I switched to using only Roto Grip equipment about a year ago and this, being my 4 new ball, is amazing. I have never been throwing equipment for a company that tries to make a complete line of balls. Roto Grip has given us the Cell, the best ball on the market bar none. They have given us the Illusion, a great ball for medium dry lanes, something that gets through the heads and makes a great move to the pocket. They have given us a great dry lane ball(s) in the Pluto and Neptune. And NOW they have given us the Grand Illusion. This ball is a must have addition to any Roto Grip arsenal. I actually am using this as my benchmark ball and it is the first one out of the bag every night. Pick it up today and your game will improve!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Grand Illusion Reviewed By: leonarddwayne 11/11/2009 03:12 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    212
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Grand Illusion: What can I say about this ball other than it does all of what is says it's going to do and then on top of that it's forgiving. 2nd week with the ball shot 700 even. 245-200-255. Nice and easy to control.
Dislikes: none
This ball tracks out sweet. Nice line to the pocket. And I toughed it in the second game and still shot a duce. This ball is truly forgiving. Nice hit and really cracked the pins. The last game I logged a seven bagger. In the first and second frames of game number three I left two nine pins, ball just went right by them, I was way too deep in the pocket. If this ball continues to roll like this I will have to purchase me a stand by. Nice job Roto-Grip you got me. If you’re looking for a mid priced ball with a lot of roll punch in the back end, get yourself a Grand Illusion. I am a league average 212 bowler, stroker and this ball allows me to play deeper than I have ever played before with consistency. Just to reiterate this ball really cracks the pocket nicely, for a stroker to hear the pins crack like that it has to be hitting the pocket with some force.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by leonarddwayne


Read all 35 reviews

Roto Grip Grand Illusion Bowling Balls 4.86 out of 5 based on 35 ratings. 35 user reviews.