Only show reviews for Hammer Black Widow Venom

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.38Write a Review    Read all 73 reviews

I Love It
 
68% (50 of 73)
I Like It
 
15% (11 of 73)
It's Ok
 
7% (5 of 73)
I Don't Like It
 
5% (4 of 73)
I Hate It
 
4% (3 of 73)

Hammer Black Widow Venom Reviewed By: BowlerWannabe 10/16/2008 22:14 ( stars)

25 of 25 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    194
Sport Shot Average    165
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Long story short, I'm downing all my equipment from 16 to 15. I used to throw a Roto-Grip Fuel, and first looked to replace that, and since I've heard good things about the venom, I figured I'd try that. I've got it drilled just a little longer than standard, and I dulled it out a little bit. (don't know exact grit, used a medium scuff pad) So. Having this ball for 2 weeks, I've been nothing but amazed with how it's been working. It finishes harder than anything else I have, and consequently, carries like a machine. I'm not a high rev bowler, somewhere around average, and I find that with a few hand, mark, footing adjustments, I can bowl most conditions with this alone. I've been bowling for about 6 years now, and managed to hold a 203 average in house league, 193 average in a traveling league, and 190 ish in various summer leagues. In the two weeks I've had this ball, my series have been 710, 590, 603 and 706. I can't seem to find anything bad to say about it at all, and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BowlerWannabe


Hammer Black Widow Venom Reviewed By: Dru24 09/22/2008 19:14 ( stars)

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    195
Sport Shot Average    168
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
Absolutely love this ball, I have all the balls in the widow line and this one seems to be my favorite. My BW Bite hold my highest series at 794 but with some practice the my venom is going to take the lead, Its a very strong ball tho not as strong as my bite. My venom goes long and snapp hard and lets me play a little straighter then my bite. I am a high revving lefty with a 15-16 mph ball throw and this ball works great. In My bags i have a BW pearl, venom, bite, Brunswick twisted fury, ultrazone, and blazing inferno and my venom is the first ball out and usually the ony ball out.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Dru24


Hammer Black Widow Venom Reviewed By: migaloti 01/13/2009 03:45 ( stars)

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    169
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8 X 1 up
 
I usually play on old-school wooden lanes with medium lane conditions. I'm comfortable with the balls I own. But my sons both have Hammers and swear by them. They pestered me to get one. But, I waited two seasons before I finally got myself a Hammer. I'll admit that I'm not as big a Hammer fan as some are. But, when I saw the Black Widow Venom the first time at my Pro shop... with its "sticky" coverstock, its menacing looking black widow logo, and its overall beauty of copper swirls surfacing on a black orb... I started to rethink my opinion about the Hammer line.

I finally broke down and got the Venom, and had it drilled with a stacked leverage for a stronger performance. I couldn't be happier with this ball. My fist game with it I shot 30 pins over average with an OOB finish. I liked how the Venom gets clean through the fronts and begins a hard roll to the back end. This extra length adds hitting power. I had no problem with carry that some reviewers have claimed. I was impressed by how much more backend the Venom has over what I had thought the Hammer line was capable of doing. It made a believer out of me. When you see this ball hook you will be amazed. It has enough hook to catch a fish! I've thrown this ball for a month now and it's still an amazing ball. My sons are happy and are now calling me a Hammerhead... could it be?



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by migaloti


Hammer Black Widow Venom Reviewed By: HammerBoy 12/06/2008 04:23 ( stars)

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


 
This is by far the best ball i have ever thrown in my life! Tried it at a demo day and absolutely loved it. I have it for around 2 months and i bowled 279 games with it! I know it ain't exactly a big deal but for a bowler who just started for 1 year, it's a good start! =) This ball skids so far back and just went it looks like its not gonna hit the pocket, it jams the break and flips all the way into the pocket! The carry i get from this ball is very very explosive and powerful, the pins rarely stand a chance once i hit the pocket! However, due to it a little to snappy at the end, it tends to leave solid 10s at bad pocket shots and this ball can only work well with oil, once it gets too dry, this ball flares up and rolls too early resulting in weaker carry...
Overall, this is definitely the best series in the Black Widow series by hammer, a hybrid of all the strong points of each of the other Black Widow balls. This is one monster and i definitely recommend it to everyone out there wanting to improve their average. xD


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by HammerBoy


Hammer Black Widow Venom Reviewed By: jedi78123 10/05/2008 21:10 ( stars)

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


 
ok, im a youth bowler, i have weak(very weak) wrist...little less than medium revs, but i can right out with this ball. my lanes are so wet they are dripping with oil...and so is my ball! i used to have a raw hammer anger and bowled a 179 average with it. This is my 3\'rd year bowling by the way. So, i decided i needed a better ball, so i saved up for this ball and i was amazed. i bowled the 2\'nd arrow with my anger....but this ball made me go to the 1\'rst arrow. The ball is amazing! Go to your local driller/pro shop and buy this now!

Eric Donohue,

3\'rd year youth bowler,

league average-204

states in florida winner 3 years running 1'rst place.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jedi78123


Hammer Black Widow Venom Reviewed By: bowlingfanatic28 08/24/2008 21:25 ( stars)

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Sport Shot Average    160
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This is the BEST ball I have thrown to date. I bowled with this ball at demo day and immediately fell in love with it. I shot 228 with grips that were too tight and a span that was a bit long. So, now I just bought one.. I'm very excited. I got it drilled with the pin right in the middle of the grips as opposed to my Black Widow Pearl that is drilled leverage to hook later. Even yet, my Venom hooks around the same time the Pearl does. But, the Venom has much more backend rotation.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlingfanatic28


Hammer Black Widow Venom Reviewed By: gitrdone79 09/12/2008 11:27 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
ok i just bought this ball for my girlfriend who has a 125 avg on two leagues...she has bowled two games with the ball since having it drilled and without changing her approach or mark she bowled a 159 and a 172...her old ball is a brunswick groove not a whole lot of movement in that ball...with the new venom she gets the backend that her style needs...i would recomend this ball to everybody i have thrown it a few times and i am a high rev bowler and it worked great for me granted i couldnt put my fingers in the ball...i will definatley be looking to get myself one too...i curently have the twisted fury and i carry a 183...179...178...176 avg on 4 dif leagues...if i decide to get a different ball it will be the venom

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Venom Reviewed By: subzer0themaster 07/17/2008 23:54 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
I am a high rev bowler so I don't use any of the matte covers unless they get polished but then again its not to same when you do that. So I bought a pearl and yeah thats a great ball but sometime just doesn't have the drive but I just drilled up a venom today and it was great one of there best I feel. It has a nice snap and a lot of drive so if you are ether playing on dryer lanes or if you are a high rev bowler I would recomend this ball!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Venom Reviewed By: BWG 04/18/2010 04:11 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    172
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Was my first perfomance ball ever thrown or used and I love this ball. First off I have size 18 feet and have to bowl in my socks and I went from spinning house balls in my socks to winning my very competitive league in 6 months with a high game of 264.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BWG


Read all 73 reviews

Hammer Black Widow Venom Bowling Balls 4.38 out of 5 based on 73 ratings. 73 user reviews.