Only show reviews for Storm Gravity Shift

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.91Write a Review    Read all 32 reviews

I Love It
 
91% (29 of 32)
I Like It
 
9% (3 of 32)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 32)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 32)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 32)

Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 03/03/2008 12:05 ( stars)

175 of 175 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


The Gravity Shift offers the strongest ball reaction in the Shift series to date.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 5/8"
Mass Bias Position - 3" right of thumb
CG Placement - center of grip
Balance Hole - none

Surface Preparation - Box Finish (1500 grit polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
This layout was intended to give me much needed skid through the heads and mid lane with a very angular motion on the back part of the lane. I have used this layout before on Storm Dual Density cores and it tends to roll very strong for me. The Cover/Core combo on the Gravity Shift looked perfect to try this layout again.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Exactly what I wanted. I do not know that this is really the best ball for me int he first game when the shot is fresh, but when they start to break down and I need to get in and know I can clear the heads smoothly and have the ball make a left from wherever I want this is it.

The ball motion is awesome, the first few times I threw it I was worried. Because of the darker coloring of this pearl cover, the ball looked like it was skating down the lane never to return from the right side. After I got more comfortable with this motion I knew it would come back from any part of the lane I wanted.

The last two weeks I have not thrown this ball until the start of the second game but from there on out I used nothing but the Gravity Shift. It compliments the Attitude Shift better then anything else I have thrown since I drilled my Attitude.

If you are looking for something for medium/medium-heavy oil lanes or something to get through the front and middle part of the lane and have
plenty of energy left for the backend the Storm Gravity Shift should be in your bag.

Bowl Up A Storm!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: jp9506 02/20/2008 11:26 ( stars)

24 of 24 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    208
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 11/16 x 1 1/4 Up
 
As a PBA member, I was fortunate to get a hold of one of these before their release date. Simply put, this ball flat out carries. The new core keeps the pins extremely low.
Here is what I experienced with this ball:
First off, I am a med-high rev, med speed player. My pap is 5 11/16 by 1 1/8 up with an axis-tilt of only 6 degrees.
What I was going for:
Since my main goal was to layout this ball for the PTQ in Columbus, OH (Viper), I put a 60 deg / 4.5" / 40 deg layout on it with a crater on the PAP to bring it to zero side weight. We wanted something a little more angular than the majority of my equipment (most of my stuff has a 90 deg drilling angle) with a stronger response to friction.
What I got:
Out of the box, this ball was extremely aggressive at the break point. I shot 248 with it my first game, which I only mention because I was setting the ball down around 26, rolling over 17 at the arrows, and banking off the 2 board at nearly 50 feet down the lane. The most impressive part was that even using that extreme line, I still had room to miss outside. After some consideration, I decided that Storm's 1500 polish was not the surface I wanted to use in Ohio. I sanded the ball with a 2000 Abralon pad and left it matte. The overall hook was similar maybe 1-2 boards more. However, the ball made its move slightly earlier and was much more controllable. For a normal house shot this is probably the ideal surface. I have since brought the ball up to 4000 Abralon to get some more of the angularity back. Also since we will be on wood lanes, with 30 min of practice, I think that 2000 will be too much surface.
Overall, this is by far the best release in the Shift Line at a time when Storm really needs a successful high end ball with the Shift and Attitude (mostly the Attitude) being flops.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: JayGord 04/09/2008 11:48 ( stars)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
GET THIS BALL!! I recieved my Gravity shift 4/7/08 and took it right to the pro shop to get drilled. My team had league play on 4/8/08 and I was running late from work to the lanes. I didn't get there in time to bowl in first 2 games but I was able to bowl the 3rd. We bowl a 5 vs 5 team league and needless to say by the third game the oil was pretty dried out. I came in cold with, warmups, no practice throws, nothing. Just did my stretches while they were bowling (i'm anchor so i got some time before my turn)and got up and bowled. The first 3 frames were rough, split all three and was thinking to myself, not sure if i like this ball. Frame 4&5 spared and frame 6 is when i finally had got zoned in and comfortable. 4 bagger striking in 6-7-8-9, spare strike in 10th. Well needless to say this ball is great. Finished with a 193 my first time using it with no practice. Took a game that look like it was going to be trash to a fairl decent game. Would highly recommend it to any bowler from novice to pro. After games were over me and my team stayed a few and threw more. I couldn't miss, even if i missed my mark 2-4 boards left or right. It would still manage to find the pocket and strike. I let some teammates throw it they were very impressed too and this was a ball drilled for my hand and style not thiers. So 5 stars from me and 5 from my 4 teammates for 25 stars. GO buy this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: blang4515 05/07/2008 21:09 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
I recently purchased the Gravity shift at a Storm demo show in Chattanooga TN., and have since rolled my highest score ever(266). Never owning a pearl bowling ball, I did not know what to expect. I am a stroker(196 avg.), and own several other storm balls. None of them can compare to the "aggression" the Gravity brings to the lanes. To bowl with this ball, I had to quickly learned to move more inside, and use more hand. The Storm representative watched me bowl, and drilled my ball 3 x 5? The pin is a little out, and above the ring finger. The CG is a little further out and below, with a small weight hole out from that and up some(I hope this makes sense). The reason I wanted to give this review, is to let stroker bowlers know that this ball has to have hand, or you won't be able to control it. If your ready to take a step up, go for it! I did, and I can honestly see my avg. soaring 10-15 pins this summer, if not more. Great job Storm.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: jsmark 11/15/2008 13:52 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Had this drilled about a month ago. The late reaction on this ball is great. It reads the lane nicely. I rolled one game with it to just get the feel because this is really my first long ball. Not to bad. Rolled it the next week and shot 731, then another low 700 the following week. She doesn't overreact unless I really help her turn. A great ball all around ball. Will make a left turn late when the lanes are wet and not react heavily when they dry up. Thanks again to Storm .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: DCFrat 04/13/2008 18:21 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    196
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I'm a 42 year old bowler who until about 3 years ago just bought a ball I thought looked cool. I had a Ebonite Tornado and raised my avg to 194 so this year I did some research. I read the reviews on this ball (at the time there were only 3!) and thought yeah right like I am going to throw a 300 with this ball! I bought it 4 weeks ago and on Monday 4/7/08 I shot a 299! My highest game ever and every single shot was clean and in the pocket! This ball has given me loads of confidence. It is forgiving but you still have to do some of the work! Tempted to buy another one as a backup and have it drilled slightly different for alternate lane conditions! It finished so nice for me and several bowlers on my league are asking where to get one!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: 27timma@gmail.com 02/13/2013 08:59 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
The gravity shift is now a 5 year old ball, i received it months ago from my team's coach. I am a 15 year old bowler and i bowl on my high school team as anchor with a 80% fill and we just won our conference championship. I used this ball and it didn't let me down! The ball carries like no other and it takes 'em all down! Again i say its an old ball, i still choose it over most of the new balls! Thank you storm! I shot my highest game with this ball which was a 241 and my couch got a 300 with it, we both agree its an outstanding ball. All i wish was that i could have had it earlier!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 27timma@gmail.com


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: wyoming14 04/28/2009 16:44 ( stars)


 
My Gravity Shift is drilled 4 ½” x 4”. PAP is 5 1/4" x 1/4" up. This provides me with a late, yet strong motion. It is one of the best at getting through the fronts and mid lane no matter what the condition. I have thrown it on fresh patterns and some that have had 30 games on them. Works best on short to medium fresh patterns. This ball seems to have a way to the pocket on some tough patterns. I left it in box finish and it rolls great. I have also polished it, which delays the hook but keeps the ball from over hooking. Very forgiving, very powerful, enough said.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by wyoming14


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: copley321 03/20/2009 10:38 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
 
Profile:
Age - 53
Average - 201
Style - Tweener/Stroker
Ball Speed - medium
Hand - Right

When my El Nino Gold incurred lane damage 6 weeks ago my bowling went into a funk. The ball lost 5 - 7 boards of hook and constantly left 10 pins and pocket 7-10's. I had the ball dulled, polished, and even replaced the grips with no sustainable success. When I saw others rolling high scores with the virtual gravity and gravity shift I knew it was time to retire my 9 year old ball.

In studying the layouts, ball reactions and recommendations of both the Virtual Gravity and the Gravity Shift I was a little perplexed that bowlingball.com rated the hook potential of the Virtual Gravity higher than the Gravity Shift, while the Storm website shows that the hook patterns on the lanes for my style indicate that the Virtual Gravity being rolled down the 2nd arrow, while the Gravity Shift shows my style playing 3rd arrow and swinging it out to the 5 board. Doesn't that imply that the Gravity shift (with a slightly lower hook rating) hooks more since it recommends that a bowler starting farther left?
Nonetheless, I chose the Gravity shift based on the words of another bowler, mirrored in some of the reviews on this site. "This ball carries the corners!".

I asked Chris at Perfect Fit Pro shop which layout he recommended to better carry the corners and chose layout #2 (which has the pin to the right and slightly above the ring finger and the mass bias to the right of the thumb).

I play 2nd arrow 98% of the time, occasionally 1st arrow, and rarely play 3rd arrow.
Remembering the lane hook patterns on Storm's website I started by playing 3rd arrow..... Wow! 288 the first game right out of the box!!

Second game I played 2nd arrow.... 202 with a couple of shots right through the head pin. I had to throw it hard without much lift to avoid splits and didn't seem to carry the corners as well.
Third day I had the ball I'm still moving back and forth between 2nd and 3rd arrow to see which line has the most consistent results. The final game of our league I go back to 3rd arrow and shoot 299 (tried to be too careful on the 12th shot).

Granted I've had the ball for less than a week, but how can you argue with results like 288, 245, 257, 242, 236 and 299??

I also use Morich balls, which are drilled for a more continuous arc, so the Gravity Shift is a great complement to what I have and is the first one out of my bag.

Ahh, the memories of my El Nino....
Oooh, the potential of the Gravity Shift ......


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 32 reviews

Storm Gravity Shift Pro CG Bowling Balls 4.91 out of 5 based on 32 ratings. 32 user reviews.