Only show reviews for Columbia 300 Resurgence

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.65Write a Review    Read all 43 reviews

I Love It
 
74% (32 of 43)
I Like It
 
19% (8 of 43)
It's Ok
 
5% (2 of 43)
I Don't Like It
 
2% (1 of 43)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 43)

Columbia 300 Resurgence Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 09/06/2007 08:32 ( stars)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


The Resurgence is Columbia's first high performance ball release since they have changed over.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
Mass Bias Position - N/A
CG Placement - 1" right of grip center
Balance Hole - none

Surface Preparation - Box Finish 1000 Abralon

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
We were looking for flat out hook in this layout and surface combination. We knew this ball was supposed to be the strongest Columbia ball to date and we just wanted to see how aggressive it really was. Most likely we will end up changing the surface preparation after we do our initial test. We do not run into enough heavy oil to warrant such an aggressive surface but you never know. Sometimes with newer high performance balls you will find you can use the more aggressive finishes because the ball are so good they still have enough energy to finish well on the backend.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I love doing ball reviews when everything works out just as we thought. The Columbia Resurgence proved to be one of the strongest ball releases this season. I left the ball at box finish which is a lot heavier grit than I would normally even try to use but every year I like to have one really strong early rolling ball just in case. This is my ball for that this season so far.

In the heads just as expected the Resurgence grabs the lane early and rolls through just about any amount of oil. We threw this ball in practice because they did seem to be quite tighter than normal. Even though I ended up putting the ball away early on I could tell what we had. Obviously if you were going to leave the cover alone like we did you could not use this ball when there is any amount of friction in the heads.

Midlane was strong as expected again. The ball motion was a great continuation of the reaction we saw in the heads. I am telling you if you are seeing heavy volumes of oil the Resurgence was made for that.

The backend motion was strong but obviously it had a little less by the time it got to the backend. If I was lined up right with the ball and played the front and middle part of the lane correctly we were fine. It still hit really hard for as smooth as it ended up being on the backend.

Check back on this review at a later date because we may try polishing the shell to see what we get out of the ball. It is great to have a ball in the bag that hooks this much but it is not always needed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Resurgence Reviewed By: TeamTSU 08/18/2007 19:00 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
I am a collegiate bowler, and bought this ball the day it came out, because I prefer Columbia over any of the others. I have quite a few games on it already and this ball is amazing. It has a strong hit hook, even on heavier oil patterns, and it destroys the pins on the backend. This is the most pin action I have ever gotten from a ball. I have bowled nothing under a 230 with this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Resurgence Reviewed By: Resurgencebowler08 12/27/2007 14:49 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
Hey I just got my Resurgence today and bowled one game and bowled a 257 it was amazing how strong it is and the hook is amazing also this is a must buy bowling ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Resurgence Reviewed By: Resurgence300 12/27/2007 07:52 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
I went out yesterday and got the Resurgence because my other ball I was using just got a little too old (9 years). The way I throw my ball is hard with a curve. So, when I found out that the Resurgence will help me, I got it. I bowled a 123, 165, and a 189 with it just open bowling. I know that I will hit the pocket more when I bowl with this in my league cause of the oily lane conditions. AWESOME Ball. I recommend this ball to any bowler that if their ball just spins and not break? You gotta have this.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Resurgence Reviewed By: FooFighter 09/05/2007 18:05 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I had a bunch of great balls during my years of bowling. But the Columbia 300 Resurgence bowling ball is the ball I got the most out of. I do really enjoy playing with it every time. I polished it up a little and got more length, and it hits hard in the pocket. I would as you may understand strongly recommend it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Resurgence Reviewed By: BigMikeO 04/17/2009 22:04 ( stars)


 
Been out of bowling for about 8 years. Come back and this is the ball I purchase. Awesome. The ball makes it so easy to come back in and almost pick up right where I left off and actually after about 3 weeks of learning the ball I feel I am becoming better than I was before. This ball can hook through the heaviest of oil and does so much of the work for you, your fingers, hand, and arm will thank you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Resurgence Reviewed By: jeff61 03/30/2009 20:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    205
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
When I first got the ball I threw 26 shots with 24 strikes.I loved the reaction of this ball so much I bought one for my wife and daughter. I bowled 8 700+ series and several 680+ series. My wife bowled her first 700 series with it and my daughter bowled her first 600 with it. now that I have a few games with the ball it seems to have lost its drive so I sanded it to several grits from 500 to 4000 and I also polished it but I can't seem to get the that drive it used to have back.It appears the coverstock is dead now.My wife uses her ball now for picking up the 10 pin, her ball did the same as mine.I would really like to know what happened to the ball and if it could be fixed .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jeff61


Columbia 300 Resurgence Reviewed By: smichaud 03/30/2009 15:38 ( stars)


 
this ball is everything i could have asked for. When I go jersey, it destroys the pins. When I go flush in the pocket, it leaves nothing, and even when i struggled in a tournament recently i missed the head pin 3 times in a row and the action managed to take out a rail everytime. I recommend this ball to anyone, who plays on a medium-heavy oil house shot and keeps the ball speed around 17 with a high rev rate

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by smichaud


Columbia 300 Resurgence Reviewed By: Hammersmasher 03/16/2009 23:46 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    160
Sport Shot Average    160
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
This ball cracks easy when drilled or filled. I didn't like its preformence as much as my other bowling balls. Stays pretty much in a straighter line.

I recommend it for a spairball or a dry lane ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Hammersmasher


Read all 43 reviews

Columbia 300 Resurgence Bowling Balls 4.65 out of 5 based on 43 ratings. 43 user reviews.