Only show reviews for Ebonite Clash Blue/Yellow Pearl

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.71Write a Review    Read all 7 reviews

I Love It
 
71% (5 of 7)
I Like It
 
29% (2 of 7)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 7)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 7)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 7)

Ebonite Clash Blue/Yellow Pearl Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 09/13/2007 14:19 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4 3/4"
Mass Bias Position - N/A
CG Placement - grip center
Balance Hole - none

Surface Preparation - Out of Box Finish (4000 Abralon with Powerhouse Factory Finish Ball Polish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I drilled this ball with a very specific purpose. To get down the lane with a moderate amount of movement on the backend for when the lanes started to dry out towards the end of the night. I thought this would be a good ball choice based off of the information I had from our local Ebonite rep and other reviews I had checked out.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Pretty much exactly what I thought. It did everything I was told through the heads and middle part of the lane. Lately they have been drying out quicker than normal at our regular house and I never really needed anything this low in a company's performance group. I have not had a chance to use it on really dry heads but from what i can tell this would be fine even on that type of condition.

Midlane was very solid, it reads the friction but stays clean. It does not really jump just reads it and sort of clears it at the same time. I was very taken back in a good way with the amount of backend movement I saw out of this ball. This is where the information I had was not really correct. This ball will surprise you on the back part of the lane. It made a much more aggressive move left than we thought it would. Not saying this is a bad thing but it was not really what we expected. Of course the way it always works, is you drill a ball for a specific condition that your are seeing lately and then you don't see it again for a few weeks. So far we have not needed to use this ball on the shot we drilled it for. I am thinking that once the lanes get to a point where I would pull this out I will be able to work with the ball to achieve the reaction I was looking for.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Clash Blue/Yellow Pearl Reviewed By: JimmyMartin 08/13/2007 17:24 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
Layout
Pin: 5" from PAP below middle finger
CG: 4" from PAP at 70 degrees
For the money you cannot beat the Clash and the Bash. The Clash for me is clean through the heads with a very distinct but predictable move at the break point. It works really well from inside angles once the lanes begin to break down. I changed the surface to 1000 abralon and it gave me a better look on the fresh patterns. If you are looking for a low priced great rolling ball for medium conditions look no further than the Clash.
Jimmy Martin
Semoran Pro Shop
Orlando
semoran@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Clash Blue/Yellow Pearl Reviewed By: WildBill 02/21/2009 07:09 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
Great Performer. Using a #8 pattern, on a 15lb'er, can lay it up the edge and it hooks in the backend for heavy hitting power every time. I was a bit skeptical at first as I'm throwing on old fashioned wood lanes (light/med oil). But the clash keeps its consistency and carries its hook all the way through the pins instead of glancing off. Don't have to strain yourself on this one either, I'm only throwing 16-18mph with medium revs and ranking in the top end of league averages. If you want medium hook ball thats forgiving and useful on different lanes, the Clash is the way to go.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by WildBill


Ebonite Clash Blue/Yellow Pearl Reviewed By: ratsinthehallwayagain 06/12/2008 11:56 ( stars)


 
Dollar for dollar, incredible ball. Best value on the market today. The conventional wisdom of more money=more hook doesn't hold true here, because you get plenty of hook for not much money. I bought this ball and a Total Inferno a week apart from each other, and I use the Inferno when the lanes dry out. This ball didn't do much out of the box, it took about 3-5 games until the polish wore off and then I saw what everybody told me about this ball. Gets through the heads nicely, and when you swing it out to the dry, it just SNAPS! I had it drilled pin under and just outside my ring finger, with the CG swung out. I'm thinking about buying another one in case they discontinue them and this one ends up dying down the road. For the price, anybody would be stupid NOT to buy one! I'm rolling Ebonite from now on.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ratsinthehallwayagain


Ebonite Clash Blue/Yellow Pearl Reviewed By: Webby 06/02/2008 22:39 ( stars)


 
When i first bought this ball i didnt like it very much as it hooked a lot more than what i was told it would. But as i used it more, the more i began to control it. As long as theres not too much oil on the lanes this ball will come back from pretty much anywhere. Great low performance ball, it keeps up with my high performance NVS.

well done guys.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Clash Blue/Yellow Pearl Reviewed By: MegaMan21 03/26/2008 13:06 ( stars)


 
I've been bowling for about 8ish years now and I have only been able to get my average over 180ish. I had good games here and there but nothing to jump joy about. However at the beginning of this season i bought the Clash and everything from then on has changed. I now average between 190 and 200s. The second night i bowled with it i shoot a 298. This ball has given me the confidence i need to get up there and bowling with the best in my area. I'm no longer trying to play catch up, instead I'm making them follow me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by MegaMan21


Ebonite Clash Blue/Yellow Pearl Reviewed By: t rookie3 03/04/2008 22:13 ( stars)


 
I bought this ball about a week ago and went straight to get it drilled. I bowled in my league and off the bat bowled a 213. That's good for me because I'm only a youth bowler and my average was a 121.37. Now I bowl 200's every week, and my average is about 138.86. I recommend this ball to anyone who has trouble bowling the clash works.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 7 reviews

Ebonite Clash Blue/Yellow Pearl Bowling Balls 4.71 out of 5 based on 7 ratings. 7 user reviews.