Only show reviews for Storm Shift

Customer Reviews          Average: 3.73Write a Review    Read all 26 reviews

I Love It
 
58% (15 of 26)
I Like It
 
4% (1 of 26)
It's Ok
 
12% (3 of 26)
I Don't Like It
 
8% (2 of 26)
I Hate It
 
19% (5 of 26)

Storm Shift Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 03/15/2007 16:10 ( stars)

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


If there is any question that this is a pearl particle cover throw it once and you will know for sure. I am usually not a big fan a pearl particle covers because they tend to give me a real in between ball reaction. I truly think if this cover would have been on any other core shape this ball would have been no different. I am a believer int he new Shape-Lock core system from Storm. We used a fairly typical layout for us, pin 5" from PAP (5 1/8" over 1/8" up) with the "key" (mass bias) 2-2 1/4" to the right of my thumb.

The ball is somewhat clean through the front part of the lane. The ball reads the middle of the lane somewhat well and has a little left over on the back.

I think this core and cover combination is not what the bowlers expect from Storm, however given their track record recently with the Paradigm I guess this ball is OK. NOTE: Make sure you talk to your local pro, the wrong layout can make the ball a bit jumpy and worse that it already is.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Shift Reviewed By: theonewidow 05/13/2007 16:58 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
The Storm Shift bowling ball is great. My brother just got it. We have the same finger and thumb measurements so I do throw it occasionally. This ball handles all conditions well. The heavy oil requires moving right, but it will still change directions like crazy. This ball is good for carry down oil because it reacts so violent on the backend. I can throw this ball exactly like The One and it will react more. When you throw this ball cross lane on the dry, it will shift directions extremely violently, although it can't get very far outside.
As in all my reviews I will talk about maintenance of the ball. This ball absorbs oil at an insane rate. After 3 days I threw it in for a bath and so much oil came out of it. I was really surprised at the absorption rate of the ball. This ball, along with every performance ball must be cleaned after every time out. Great ball, my favorite of Storm's even though many people don't like the ball.
Note about layouts: PAP specific drilling's, CG standard layouts don't do the ball justice.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by theonewidow


Storm Shift Reviewed By: Madrox 03/09/2007 02:12 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
Layout, #1 on Drill sheet
PAP 4 1/4 over 3/4 up
Cranker

The Storm Shift bowling ball has a moderate midlane read with an explosive and incredibly quick reaction off the back end of the oil pattern. It handles carrydown extremely well too due to the particle coverstock.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Shift Reviewed By: Tim 03/04/2007 01:24 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
Drilling the Storm Shift bowling ball was a minor nightmare but worth it. This ball turns hard in all conditions even when thrown hard. Great ball, two thumbs up. I highly recommend this ball. You won't be disappointed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Shift Reviewed By: Storm 08/13/2007 11:25 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Congratulations to Chip Aki who just claimed his eagle at the USBC Open Championships using his Shift to shoot 814 in the singles. My Shift rolled just as good, but unfortunately failed to knock over as many pins as his, not the ball so might be the bowler??? ha ha

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Shift Reviewed By: Split Maniac 05/06/2007 13:10 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
If this scale went any higher I could say about....One Million.
Congratulations Storm, I love your ball! The drilling was a little, eh, complicated.
BUT bowlers you shouldn't get discouraged about that.
If you're new to the sport you may not like this ball. If you have been bowling for about a year to 5 years this ball is great.
Earlier I read a guy's reaction that this ball is not predictable of hook read. WRONG, you need to get the ball laid out for PAP not CG standard drilling.
If you get a standard drilling this ball absolutely blows. Have no fear, The first day I picked up the ball from my local pro shop, I bowled, 290, 258 AND my first 300.
I STRONGLY RECOMMEND THIS BALL TO ANYBODY THAT CAN MAP OUT PAP!
Some say this ball hooks around midlane but I can tell you this balls reaction is no joke at the pin deck.
12-16 MPH Bowlers
Light Oil-This ball is a STORM, It drives longer than usual making a standard house shot easy to clear with a LIGHTNING fast shift across the lane to the pocket, throw it anywhere it has heat sensors lol.
Medium Oil- The shift reacts with a midlane red and a fairly quick jolt to the pocket on synthetic or house.
Heavy Oil-The ball drives long and SHIFTS hard to the pocket when on the left through the middle arrow.
Keep in mind that rollers and strokers have the advantage with length here, so I might search a little more if you are a cranker.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Shift Reviewed By: Pikeman 03/13/2007 15:28 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
If you want back-end, the Storm Shift bowling ball has it!! Once I figured out that I am not Pete Weber, I started bowling better with this ball. LOL! I should have gone with a 15lber, but this ball is great. It goes long and then "shift"s to the pocket like a truck. As the lanes wear down, don't be afraid to let it out a little more. I love this ball. Thanks Storm & Bowlingball.com.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Pikeman


Storm Shift Reviewed By: jetlag 03/10/2007 16:34 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
A friend in my league bought the Storm Storm Shift bowling ball the day it was released. Unfortunately, the drilling was a little wide in the thumb for him so he let me borrow it for my fill ball in the 10th frame of the first game. I didn't give it back, starting a string of strikes that went deep into my second game. The overall hook is not impressive, but the length IS and the last 8 feet definitely IS. Another friend borrowed the ball on Monday and bowled a 300. He's fast, high rev, while I was bowling fast, lower rev.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jetlag


Storm Shift Reviewed By: 380Lady 12/15/2009 00:21 ( stars)


 
I really like the Shift. I picked this one 2 years ago, because I've heard good things about Storm. The ball has not disappointed me. I would definitely recommend this one, as the performance is very good. If anything, I need to work on my hook, lol! It's not the ball, it's my hook technique that needs improvement.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 26 reviews

Storm Shift Bowling Balls 3.73 out of 5 based on 26 ratings. 26 user reviews.