Only show reviews for Brunswick Fury

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.85Write a Review    Read all 180 reviews

I Love It
 
88% (159 of 180)
I Like It
 
8% (15 of 180)
It's Ok
 
3% (6 of 180)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 180)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 180)

Brunswick Fury Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 02/09/2007 00:00 ( stars)

74 of 76 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


If you read our first review of Brunswick's Fury you would have seen us telling you to make sure that you had plenty of oil because this ball hooked and hooked early.

After a little more thought and trying different layouts. bowlingball.com's Keith Spear tested the ball and changed the surface, and found immediate success. Along with some work with Brunswick's Billy Orlikowski we decided to smooth the surface out and bring it up to 2000 grit Abralon and use Brunswick Factory Finish Rough Buff and then use Brunswick Factory Finish High Polish over that. We did that to all of our test balls and saw a dramatic positive change in the ball reaction.

Just in case you did not see our first review here is what we ended up doing. We drilled the Fury with the pin 5 1/2" from the PAP (5 1/8" over 1/8" up) with the cg back under the ring finger. After further discussion about altering the surface we also decided to place a 1" x 2" hole 2 1/4" past the PAP, to help increase flare.

We were so surprised at the difference in ball reaction from our first review that we could not believe what we were seeing. This ball is possibly the best reacting ball we have reviewed in months. Granted the other recent releases are great as well, for example the Total NV but this ball reacted much cleaner for us on our typical house shot.

With the addition of the polish we saw much more skid through the heads with a almost indescribable backend motion. It really looked as if this ball was picking up revolutions from the break point to the pins. The amount of overall hook was equal to other new releases as mentioned earlier but the ball motion was totally different.

We know that the Fury will be the ball that sets the new standard for ball reaction in the bowling industry. This ball comes highly recommended by our testers to bowlers of all skill levels as long as they realize that altering the surface may be a mandatory factor to get the impressive ball reaction that we have seen.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Fury Reviewed By: heolchic 05/14/2007 22:13 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
I bought the Brunswick Fury bowling ball because when I play in oily conditions my ball isn't good enough so I needed a ball that hook and it does. Also, it's a good price for the specifications.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Fury Reviewed By: djclover85 07/31/2007 17:43 ( stars)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
I drilled it up pin down/hole down, I hooked it less than my tame RSX300. I plugged it and drilled it 1L on drilling sheet this time I got the movement I was looking for. I should have read the reviews and drilled the ball properly and had it polished.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by djclover85


Brunswick Fury Reviewed By: 23hitman23 09/29/2007 18:12 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
I had the Brunswick Fury bowling ball drilled couple weeks ago, don't have a whole lot of games on it. Pin @ 3 1/2 inches with 3oz top weight. Had it drilled leverage to get maximum hook out of the ball. Now there is a fine line between like and love in this case. I threw my first ever 300 with this ball on the 21 of Sept. If you don't have oil on the lanes though this ball does not need to be out of the bag. Ball is very sensitive to speed also, just a slight change in ball speed and reaction is completely different. All in all though if you are a consistent bowler then the ball is great for heavy oil.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Fury Reviewed By: 2burly 05/15/2007 23:31 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
First off let me say that I have not bowled since the Cuda-C Pearl was a brand new release, and I have never written a review or bought anything online. I am a up and in stroker med/low rev type of bowler with a 178 average and have been subbing for a few months now and decided to get back into league full time, so I bought the Brunswick Fury from this site and the price and service were outstanding. I have bowled 18 games in practice, 6 with the out of the box finish and 12 polished as recommended by this site. In heavy oil on synthetic lanes the ball was awesome, I never thought I would ever be throwing 20 out to 8 break at 3 and blast the pocket, for I usually have to throw straight up 5, shot 658 then a 642. Polished on wood medium oil at my regular house had to move starting point left from 15 to 20 out over 7 or 8 and the ball would go longer and make a hard but smooth left turn to the pocket, could shoot deuces at will. Ball is drilled basically at Brunswick's 1E pattern with balance hole. Now all I have to do is by another Fury and get it laid out differently and I will be set for summer and fall. Excellent ball and excellent website.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Fury Reviewed By: bigmatt 03/23/2007 20:10 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
I read a lot about the Brunswick Fury bowling ball on the net from several web sites. Trying to decide if this was the ball for me. Bowled league on Wednesday night on a fairly tough house shot. I am a 185+ avg over the last couple of years, give or take. After struggling to shoot 500 I had my pro shop guy drill up a FURY. WOW!!! Put a little shine to get some length since I generally play around 11-7 board. First three games out of the box ten minutes after shooting 500, threw 714 (223,267,224). Could not believe it. First three shots in the first game (all opens) were feeler shots to get a handle on the ball. Ball had great reaction in the oil and drove hard every time I threw it. I did not see the struggle that some people write about with too much roll. For me this ball was fairly easy to control, even for the dreaded ten pen. Best ball purchase I have made.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Fury Reviewed By: kylec3015 08/22/2007 02:24 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I have just gotten fully into bowling in the past year or so. I've been in a couple leagues before hand but never was anything competitive. I decided to make the plunge and finally buy my own ball (before i was using my partner's). This ball has been absolutely everything that people have said. It's hook is outrageous and I have been able to pick up some pretty amazing pins. This ball took my game from a 175 average to a 205 average. Definitely worth it for me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Fury Reviewed By: bleone 07/13/2007 08:14 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I'm not getting the hook I really hoped to see out of the ball......but maybe that's just my inability to throw it correctly. Throwing it straight down and in it works pretty well, but I was looking for a ball I could throw from the center of the lane out to the right and get the aggressive hook back to the pocket. I haven't been able to do that with this ball right out of the box. My average has gone up about 10 pins with the ball throwing it straight down and in, so I guess I shouldn't complain.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Fury Reviewed By: 2tallgiant 07/09/2007 13:20 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
The Brunswick bowling ball.... where to start...
I have been bowling every Friday night close to a year now. I used to use the bowling alleys balls, just like everyone else did, but I wanted to purchase a ball that I could call my own. I was going to go with Lane #1's newest ball, but I found out that I didn't want to get a high performance ball for my first. But then I ran into the Brunswick Fury, and I fell in love. It is by far the best ball I have ever used, and I GUARANTEE that you'll love it too


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 180 reviews

Brunswick Fury Bowling Balls 4.85 out of 5 based on 180 ratings. 180 user reviews.