Only show reviews for Brunswick Total Inferno

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.64Write a Review    Read all 77 reviews

I Love It
 
79% (61 of 77)
I Like It
 
13% (10 of 77)
It's Ok
 
4% (3 of 77)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 77)
I Hate It
 
4% (3 of 77)

Brunswick Total Inferno Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 12/02/2006 10:11 ( stars)

71 of 71 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 
Brunswick is back with their Total Inferno!

Brunswick's newest addition the their Inferno line is possibly the best we have seen since the Original Inferno.
We drilled the Total Inferno with the pin 5 1/8" from the PAP and the CG in a line underneath it. We left the surface how it came out of the box and it was throw on a league pattern. The ball reaction was classic Brunswick, clean through the heads, strong revving action in the mid-lane and plenty of hook on the backend. I absolutely love this ball reaction because it very consistent and easy to make moves with. Of course with that type of movement on the lanes we were able to throw the ball all night, only making small adjustments.
We threw this ball from all over the lane and we could not a line that this ball could not handle. With simple hand adjustments we could play up 7-8 or get in as deep as 4th arrow with no issues at all.
Loyal Brunswick fans will fall in love with the Total Inferno and bowlers who have not thrown an Inferno for a while should definitely give this one a chance.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Total Inferno Reviewed By: Brian Halstrom 02/03/2008 09:21 ( stars)

46 of 46 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2" x 1/2" Up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


The Total Infernoâ„¢ is the second ball to take full advantage of Brunswick's new Urethane casting machine. By fusing a new additive with new processing technology, Brunswick has created a version of Octane coverstock with more back-end grip.

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 1/2" up) - 5 1/2"
CG Placement - 1/2" right of grip center
Balance Hole - None

Surface Preparation - 500 Abralon, Rough Buff Polish

What I Was Looking For In This Layout: With this layout I was expecting to clear the heads smoothly and take advantage of the mid lane revving action this ball provides.

What I Ended Up With In This Ball Layout: Out of the box, it took some time for me to get used to. Making the right moves at first was key in carrying the corners. Once I got this ball broken in, simply unbelievable. one of the BEST Brunswick balls I've ever thrown. The mid-lane reaction is unparalleled, consistently reading the lanes shot after shot.

The reaction this ball gave me was exactly what I was hoping for. On the fresh, the ball works best when the surface is left a bit duller, around 500 to 1000 Abralon with no polish, or a light Rough Buff finish. If it's too shiny on the fresh, I found that it would skid through the mids easily without utilizing the power it had to rev up in the mid lane. When left dull, this ball surprised me. Typically when a ball uses energy in the mids, you end up leaving a lot of corner pins, primarily flat 10's. Not the case with the Total Inferno. Revved up nicely in the mids and gave me a strong backend motion. This ball is very forgiving when you miss right, yet also holds the line when you miss in. I find that to be an important aspect of a ball when it allows your margin of error to increase and not have to make perfect shots.

One thing I must add about this ball is its proven success to carry shot after shot. I have been using this ball for over a year now and it is still one of my top 3 balls that I throw. On March 10, 2007, this ball helped me set the Florida State record with games of 289,300,300 for 889. I'll admit that this wasn't a perfect set where I made perfect shots every shot, but this ball gave me the ability to miss right and make up ground and hold the pocket when I missed in. From both angles, the ball still recovered with enough power to carry 34 out of 36 shots. If you are wondering what pin I left, it was a stone 2-pin (So it can't carry every bad shot you throw!)

Overall, this is one of the best balls I have ever owned. A versatile ball that I believe you are going to want to have in your bag.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brian Halstrom


Brunswick Total Inferno Reviewed By: Berk 06/11/2007 01:55 ( stars)

36 of 36 people found this review helpful.


 
I'm an "old School" bowler...down and in, not a lot of revs. On medium lanes, the Brunswick Total Inferno ball works great for me, but on heavy oil, I'm left out in the rain. I haven't dulled the ball yet, probably should, but I like this ball on medium oil, not heavy!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Total Inferno Reviewed By: boo848 02/19/2007 23:06 ( stars)

26 of 26 people found this review helpful.


 
This Total Inferno bowling ball is great. Never thought Brunswick could make a ball that hits like this! Gotta have another one! I drilled this one pin left of the fingers, Mass Bias strong with 1/2 positive weight and 1/2 finger weight (static imbalance). Hits like a ton. Boo

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by boo848


Brunswick Total Inferno Reviewed By: angiekain 02/16/2007 15:56 ( stars)

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.


 
The Brunswick Total Inferno bowling ball is hard hitting, carries the 10 pin very well. Good mid-lane reaction. One of the more consistent bowling balls I have thrown in recent memory. I would highly recommend this ball for any seasoned bowler.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Total Inferno Reviewed By: bowlnlilpenny 03/06/2007 14:12 ( stars)

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.


 
I bought a Brunswick Total Inferno bowling ball right out of the box I bowled a 300 and 760 series. I love the way the ball rolls down the lane, nice and even. I would refer this ball to everyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlnlilpenny


Brunswick Total Inferno Reviewed By: FRUGIRL89 05/04/2007 13:11 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
The Brunswick TOTAL Inferno bowling ball is a great ball. This ball has a very consistent roll. I love this ball so much that I have 2 of them, one is drilled with the pin above the fingers, to go long( which is my favorite). The other one is drilled with the pin below the fingers, to allow the ball to roll up earlier. I am a 200 average bowler and just recently shot a 279 with it. I suggest this ball to any bowler looking for a true and consistent rolling bowling ball. It is AWESOME!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Total Inferno Reviewed By: ratsinthehallwayagain 06/12/2008 12:02 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
This is another case of people throwing "5's" around way too easily. This is a good ball, it will do what you ask of it and very versatile, but in the end you're just getting what you pay for. That's not a bad thing, it just is what it is. I throw this behind my Ebonite Clash, and that ball is about $50 less, and hooks more. I know what the "perfect scale" says, but I'm telling you, I throw the Clash for the 1st game, and about halfway through the 2nd there's a 2-3 frame transition period, and then it's the Inferno from there on out. Out of the box, this ball was great, but it lost a few boards after a couple weeks. It seems to have leveled off, but dollar for dollar, I can't complain, but I can't say I'd buy another one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ratsinthehallwayagain


Brunswick Total Inferno Reviewed By: adlinda1 07/09/2007 13:30 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
My average is 200+ in two leagues. I'm mid 50's and throw the ball average speed with average revs. I was looking for a ball that would allow me to move further inside and still have enough finish to carry all the pins. This ball worked well the first couple of weeks. Then the bowling alley changed the lane conditions from medium heavy oil to medium oil. As soon as this happened, the Total Inferno became real nervous. I could throw a perfect ball with a killer finish one frame and then think I threw the exact same ball the next frame and it would move earlier and give me a split. I was constantly trying to adjust and could never seem to find a consistent line to the pocket in these conditions. I tended to bowl a big first game but as soon as conditions broke down at all I found it very difficult to make a proper adjustment. For my speed and rev rate, this ball is only appropriate for heavy oil conditions.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by adlinda1


Read all 77 reviews

Brunswick Total Inferno Bowling Balls 4.64 out of 5 based on 77 ratings. 77 user reviews.