Only show reviews for Brunswick Thumb Saver Right Handed

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.14Write a Review    Read all 37 reviews

I Love It
 
57% (21 of 37)
I Like It
 
22% (8 of 37)
It's Ok
 
5% (2 of 37)
I Don't Like It
 
11% (4 of 37)
I Hate It
 
5% (2 of 37)

Brunswick Thumb Saver Right Handed Reviewed By: hammer4ver 12/06/2008 18:30 ( stars)

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.


 
This simply did the trick, it is well worth the small investment. Note you will most likely need a new one every season or two. NO MORE BLISTERS.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hammer4ver


Brunswick Thumb Saver Right Handed Reviewed By: deanlampe 01/22/2009 23:26 ( stars)

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


 
First off, I would like to say ordering from bowlingball.com was one of my most pleasant online retail experiences to date. The shipping was unbelievably fast and the prices are awesome. I know where I’m going first for my bowling equipment, right here.



I ordered the Thumb Saver because I started having a problem with my thumb, it would stick when I started to swell. I used more baby powder than a ten child family. Upon receiving the product, I immediately noticed it had somewhat sloppy, cumbersome stitching and knew it wouldn’t fit the thumb hole of my balls. I was right, in fact, if you have a properly fit hole there is no way this thing will fit. If you buy this product and it fits in your thumb hole, your reason for buying it most likely the result of a improperly fit hole/span to begin with. I went and did what I should’ve started with and talked with a new driller who asked a lot of questions and took the time to understand my issue. He pulled back the angle a smidge (I was at 0) and put in a Vise oval shaped insert. All I can say is wow, what a difference. So, if you’re like me and contemplating this to fix a thumb problem, save yourself the step and get a good ball fitting companion. You won’t regret it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by deanlampe


Brunswick Thumb Saver Right Handed Reviewed By: rhiggins20 04/30/2009 15:48 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Its ok but the stitching makes it a bit uncomfortable. You also probably need to drill you're thumb a bit larger for it to work properly.

It was uncomfortable almost to the point of pain to fit my thumb in my ball after putting it on.

It may work for others but I personally dislike it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Thumb Saver Right Handed Reviewed By: The Great One 05/30/2008 22:49 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
I recently purchased the thumb saver because I was having issues with a callus on the side of my thumb that became irritating. I understand calluses are a part of bowling, but I went out searching for a solution to endure less irritation around the effected area.



It works fairly well. It's not 100% effective, as my thumb still gets a little sore after 3 games of bowling in the same area - but it helps. However, what I really like about the thumb saver is that it seems to ensure a much more clean and smooth release off the hand. This is now my primary reason for using it. I would recommend this product to anyone wishing to get the ball of their hand more cleaning, and perhaps provide a little more protection of irritated skin.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by The Great One


Brunswick Thumb Saver Right Handed Reviewed By: HappiGaL 03/29/2007 20:54 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
The Brunswick Thumb Saver really does save my thumb from getting blisters, and it gave me very smooth release as well. I got to have it on every time when I bowl, anyone have problem with their thumb should buy one of this. It really works.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Thumb Saver Right Handed Reviewed By: vic smyth 03/04/2014 12:56 ( stars)


 
I am so impressed with this product that I just ordered another one as a backup! I've used it for 6 sessions and I like it better than tape. It does have a seam that can be annoying, but a slight shifting of it takes care of that. After a few frames I don't even notice that I have it on. The rubber at the tip of the thumb helps me to hang on to the ball longer rather than occasionally dropping the ball at my feet. And I can switch from balls with thumb inserts to my spare ball that has no inserts, they have the same feel. Not sure whether it will outlast a roll of tape, but after about 30 games I haven't noticed any wear and tear on it. It does seem to put some wear on my thumb inserts (soft plastic) so that could be an issue. But the consistency in feel that I get between all my different balls outweighs the $5 I'd spend to replace a thumb insert occasionally.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by vic smyth


Brunswick Thumb Saver Right Handed Reviewed By: Kevin_Roberts16 02/13/2012 20:22 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
 
This product has been a life saver for me. I've always had trouble with the thumb hole on my bowling balls due to my hands being cold and clammy most all year. At first, I thought it was a fitting issue, but after getting a new ball that was properly fitted, I still found trouble maintaining a consistent release. I tried using powder, but the amount I would use and the inconsistency of it was very annoying. I had my thumb holes opened up, but then found myself losing the ball early at times and feeling like I had to grab it to hold on. Tape helped a little, but it still wasn't the fit I was searching for. So in a last ditch effort to find some sort of consistency, I purchased a thumb saver. All I can say now is WHY didn't I try this earlier?! I am now able to maintain a consistent release with all of my bowling balls and have found that my game has picked up because of it. I am also able to use it with tape if needed (typically in the winter), as it still comes off smoothly.

I would highly recommend this product to anyone having issues with their thumb, especially when tape and powder just don't seem to be doing the trick.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Thumb Saver Right Handed Reviewed By: woody93 02/04/2012 15:07 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    120
Ball Speed    Medium
 
Hello there i hope your reading this before you buy this item well i got this cause i get blisters on my thumb when i bowl and this thing DOES NOT WORK i still get blisters so i dont use it much im thinking about going to a thumb condom im going to try that out and hope it works like this said it will hope this works for you thanks :D

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by woody93


Brunswick Thumb Saver Right Handed Reviewed By: sahpec30 12/13/2011 16:37 ( stars)


 
Great product. This was delivered on time and looks great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 37 reviews

Brunswick Thumb Saver Right Handed Bowling Accessories 4.14 out of 5 based on 37 ratings. 37 user reviews.