Only show reviews for Hammer Black Widow

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.63Write a Review    Read all 145 reviews

I Love It
 
81% (118 of 145)
I Like It
 
7% (10 of 145)
It's Ok
 
8% (12 of 145)
I Don't Like It
 
1% (2 of 145)
I Hate It
 
1% (2 of 145)

Hammer Black Widow Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 08/06/2006 11:49 ( stars)

40 of 40 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


We drilled three Hammer Black Widows with three different layouts. We drilled one for a high rev high ball speed bowler. We drilled the second for a low rev mid ball speed bowler. We drilled the third for a low rev low ball speed bowler. We found that some fine tuning of the coverstock was required to attain the proper reaction. Once the proper surface was found the ball performance was way beyond our expectations, especially at this price point. For the high rev high ball speed bowler we polished the ball to 3000 and the lane opened right up. For the low rev mid ball speed bowler we left the coverstock as it came out of the box and the ball flat out hooked. Rolled strong through the mid lane without rolling out. Keep plenty of energy for the back end finish through the pocket. Absolutely awesome. For the low rev low ball speed bowler we polished the ball to 1500 and found that the ball got down the lane and still had plenty left for the backend without rolling out. On our scale of 1-5 this could be one of the first 6's. You will not be disappointed. Discover why this ball is the number one seller in the nation right now.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Reviewed By: DaNikkster 11/27/2006 23:21 ( stars)

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.


 
I've been a Hammer girl since I started bowling. The Widow is one heck of a ball! A lot stronger than my No Mercy and more powerful than any of the diesel series. Absolutely amazing. My ball was drilled to the max in all specs- barely legal...sanded to a 600 grit...MONSTER! I'm a stroker, not a cranker, and typically play 15 board, in to 10 and hard snap into the pocket...this ball is perfect! Remember, if it starts breaking too hard, play further outside (where the oil is--people think to move in when its hooking too much; they're wrong, oil moves out) Overall, this is a great ball and I don't think anyone would be disappointed with it. Good luck!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by DaNikkster


Hammer Black Widow Reviewed By: bigjohn7447 12/20/2006 21:07 ( stars)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


 
I am new to bowling and play for my high school team. I was playing on JV with a average of 130 and then got the Black Widow and the first 3 games I played with it was 212, 229, and 210! This ball is amazing. To tell you the truth, I don't know anything about backend or flare, but this ball will flat out hook with a little revs.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Reviewed By: gryndryno 02/06/2007 13:43 ( stars)

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


 
I am the only person I know that wouldn't bother getting a Hammer Black Widow bowling ball if I could wind back the clock. It has a heck of a core and great movement, but I find it is too hard to control, when you are on, it is devastating, but when you are having trouble, it is tough to even get to the pocket.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by gryndryno


Hammer Black Widow Reviewed By: Maurice Anderson 09/05/2006 12:34 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
I've had some big time problems on the lanes and it was getting to the point where I was going to stop bowling period and I tried the Hammer Widow Spider and it took not only my game to another level, it motivated me to continue to bowl. The Hammer Black Widow bowling ball is a awesome ball and I have a Brunswick Ultimate Inferno that's good, I have a Columbia Pulse that's good, I have a Ebonite Vortex #2 that's alright at times, the Hammer Black Widow spider works better then all these balls altogether. I'd recommend this ball to anybody who is trying to step up their game.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Reviewed By: Vonramon 08/13/2006 12:27 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    184
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
With a "routine" 5x5 drill and not changing the factory surface, the Hammer Black Widow bowling ball was taken to a medium oiled house. It went so long I thought it wouldn't get to the pocket. When it turned and hit the pocket high flush, I was amazed and eager to "let me see that again." Over and over, whether outside or deep inside, regardless of going through the heads or around the heads, the ball would turn to the pocket at an amazing angle. It proved less versatile in an oily house, but still was impressive using a conservative line. Bowlers with medium to high revs and better than average ball speed will love this ball, particularly because of its generous forgiveness rate.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Vonramon


Hammer Black Widow Reviewed By: 10 pin magnet 01/19/2007 12:17 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
When I first got the Hammer Black Widow bowling ball drilled out of the box. I couldn't get enough of it, but lately the ball just seems to go nuts. It is really hard to control but it is alright in heavy oil. Otherwise don't even bother.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 10 pin magnet


Hammer Black Widow Reviewed By: ComStar 08/31/2006 23:26 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
Just got the ball for a house with heavy and my old Track Heat just didn't move well enough. I'm a 190 bowler and my 1st game with the Widow was a 266 in route to a 691 series. Awesome finishing power! The winter leagues are in trouble!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ComStar


Hammer Black Widow Reviewed By: johnny5 08/28/2006 12:11 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
I am a stroker. I throw around 16.5 MPH on my Strike ball and rev the crap out of it. I figured that the Black Widow would be way too aggressive for me. Boy was I wrong. I have a 204 average and my first night throwing this ball I went 279-265-280. This ball blew up the pocket. I have a feeling my bowling center will be fixing lanes after I tear them up.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by johnny5


Read all 145 reviews

Hammer Black Widow Bowling Balls 4.63 out of 5 based on 145 ratings. 145 user reviews.