Only show reviews for Storm Punch Out

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.93Write a Review    Read all 15 reviews

I Love It
 
93% (14 of 15)
I Like It
 
7% (1 of 15)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 15)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 15)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 15)

Storm Punch Out Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 05/14/2014 16:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The Punch Out is here and the wait was killing me.Punch Out has R2S Pearl cover polished and all the length you need on most house patterns.
Storm Punch Out will be the ball for any bowlers arsenal no matter what level you are.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Punch Out Reviewed By: storm_tajiri 05/01/2014 17:47 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
After throwing the Punch out on multiple conditions, I saw a great length with a strong wicked backend motion. On house conditions, I was able to stand left and get it far right into the friction and saw a tremendous amount of backend motion as it packed the pocket. On sport conditions such as USBC Open Singles/Doubles and Team event patterns, I saw this ball come into play after the oil started to transition and the oil carried down. I was able to move inside and this ball allowed me great push through the fronts and didn’t over hook in the backend. It allowed me to get in and wheel on it and showed some room for tug. Compared to the Lights Out, this ball goes longer and has a stronger snap at the breakpoint.

Based off performance, I give this ball an “B+.” Great backend and hook for the price point. Based off cosmetics, I rate this ball an “B.” The orange logo lettering doesn’t stand out on the white as much as I thought it would. The colors of this ball looks very similar to the wrecker, so it is a little hard to differentiate watching it go down lane if it is a wrecker or a punch out.

Joshua Tajiri
Storm/Roto Amateur Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by storm_tajiri


Storm Punch Out Reviewed By: mr straight ball 07/03/2014 10:49 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    227
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5x.25 up
 
Ball Specs
Weightt: 16.1
Pin 3.5”
TW: 3.2

Layout
5” Pin to PAP
5” CG to PAP
Surface: OOB

Review
First of all, if you owned the Turbine core previously, then you know why this ball is a must! One of the selling points of the Turbine core is that it works for a range of styles. One of the big selling points for the rev-challenged is that it revs up. For those who can make the ball look like a blur, this ball just opens up the down lane motion.

The ball is smooth but it does show some muscle down the lane. If you are after a more angular move than opt for the Hy-Road Pearl. The Punch Out has no trouble finishing even with the “lake” known as a top hat resting in the middle of the lane. When you drill a Punch Out, for a lot of people it may be the first ball out of the bag. Lower RPM guys will probably be able to use it as the lane break downs but the high octane guys will need to tame the drilling down if aiming it at the friction is the goal.

Stay alert and don't let the white & charcoal rock run you over!!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mr straight ball


Storm Punch Out Reviewed By: pharris5987 07/02/2014 23:43 ( stars)


 
This ball is just amazing I can use it in any game no matter the oil breakdown with very few adjustments. Rolls great and hits like a champ. First 3 weeks with it I'm averaging 240 and shot 300 1st game out the box.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by pharris5987


Storm Punch Out Reviewed By: caseyccg 06/30/2014 13:57 ( stars)


 
Storm PunchOut Review by Casey Murphy

Orientation: Right Handed
Rev Rate: 375 RPM
Speed: 16-17 MPH
PAP: 5 across ¾ up

Location: Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern: High Volume THS
Layout: 60, 5 ½, 40

The Tropical Heats are reborn with a serious upgrade in the form of the Storm PunchOut. Same proven Turbine core, but with a new cover in the R2S Pearl Reactive which is found on the very popular HyRoad Pearl and IQ Tour Pearl. The result is a much stronger and more predictable motion in the mid lane and on the backend. For those who were missing the Tropical Heats or want a ball to fit between the HyRoad Pearl and the IQ Tour Pearl, the PunchOut is the best option. The RG (2.55) and Diff (0.038) fall exactly between those two balls. You can drop the pin and get a smoother motion or raise the pin and see a much sharper backend. This makes the PunchOut one of the most dynamic balls on the market.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by caseyccg


Storm Punch Out Reviewed By: StoRoto2013 06/16/2014 07:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 5/8 over 3/4 up
 
The Punch Out was released in May and is in the Hot Line series. The Punch Out and the Wipe Out were introduced together. Both releases utilize the same Turbine Core that is the only similarities between the two releases. The Punch Out has the R2S Pearl Reactive cover stock whereas the Wipe Out has the R2S Solid Reactive cover stock. The Punch Out is a go long ball with a dramatic reaction on the backend. With that being said I drilled my Punch Out pin down with a slightly large hole down also…. The coordinates are 75 X 5 ¼ X 45. My axis point is 5 5/8 over and ¾ up with medium to slow ball speed (15mph to 16mph) with a rev rate around 300. I am right handed and my I am more up the back of the ball.

The Punch Out with its pearl cover stock is perfect for medium to light volume patterns with really good backend. On a typical house pattern, I was able to square up and go up the dry with success and follow it left as it broke down. However, the Punch Out needs dry to react and the farther I moved my feet left the more I had to get the Punch Out to the right. The launch angle became extremely drastic. At the same time, I was using the Wipe Out and I could move my feet and breakpoint to the left because of the solid cover stock. However, the backend motion was stronger with the Punch Out than with the Wipe Out. The last pattern that used the Punch Out on was a version of the Cheetah. The Punch Out made this pattern look easier than a house pattern with recovery and hold. I could square up and also give the Punch Out room to the right. The Punch Out really got through the front part of the lane with ease and the backend motion was impressive. I also used a Tropical Heat Pearl to see what the differences were and what I noticed was the Tropical Heat was not as easy to control as the Punch Out. The Tropical Heat was more sensitive to the pattern. If the Tropical Heat touched the dry too soon it jumped but if you did not get it to the dry no reaction. The Punch Out blended the pattern and made it easy to get to the pocket.

The Punch Out will be in my arsenal for the shorter and lighter oil patterns.



Dan Schaden Jr
Storm Roto Grip Staff Member
Vise Grip Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by StoRoto2013


Storm Punch Out Reviewed By: dhiggyJr 06/15/2014 13:33 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 up 3/8
 
By STORM staff: Dan Higgins
Right Handed
PAP 5 1/8 up 3/8
Rev rate 380-415

Pin down 5 inch from pap with CG under middle finger
Well this ball is surprisingly awesome. I went with this drilling just to play down and in on house patterns. This ball has great recovery for Storms lower line. I have used the past couple months in league play and look forward to this being a big seller in the proshop. The black berry scent along with white/charcoal look and the back end reaction this ball has will be good for the entry level to experience bowler to use in league play.
Similar core to the Lights out the Punch corners and has stronger recovery.
The Punch Out along with the new Wipe Out make a great 1-2 punch for league play.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by dhiggyJr


Storm Punch Out Reviewed By: srt400@gmail.com 06/11/2014 15:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I have bowled 8 games with this ball now. The first two were in league and I struggled to adjust...bowling a miserable 167 and a 213.

Since that I think I have adjusted and the lanes love this ball! Move to the middle to left of the lane and throw it hard way across and it make a huge move to the pocket with tons of hitting power!

First two full series with the ball in a league (house) shot were 733 and 683.

This ball glides through the heads and mid-lane very well and has a strong backend move! Highly recommend! It performs very well for a ball in this price point.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Punch Out Reviewed By: PJ Haggerty 06/09/2014 15:20 ( stars)


 
Storm Punch Out Ball Review

The Punch Out is a ball that is well worth its price point. It packs a ton of power for its punch. Marketed as a mid-performance ball, I feel this ball can be used in many different ways. I will get the most use out of this ball on high friction surfaces and when the front of the lane starts to hook and my feet need to be left with my eyes to the right. I don’t see myself using this ball on fresh sport patterns or flatter conditions. The response time is very quick, thus requiring some oil down lane to slow it down.

The one I drilled is approximately 5 ½ x 4 with a hole two inches under my axis. This puts the pin in my middle finger. Out of the box, this has to be one of the most angular balls I have ever thrown. Typically, I am not a huge fan of that type of reaction because of the risk/reward profile it presents. The extra hole helped slow down that response time, but I also used a 2000 pad by hand to help knock the shine off. This controlled the motion a lot more and made the Punch Out hook when it sees oil and not make as jerky of a motion off the friction.

To recap, I love the Punch Out on house patterns and sport patterns when after the pattern has developed and become more tapered. On fresh sport patterns, I think this ball will be too responsive. When the time calls for that motion, this is a perfect fit. I also find the Punch Out still reads the mid-lane strong enough so it doesn’t blow through the break point.

If you are missing that stand left/throw right ball that you will use late in blocks or when the lanes start to hook, the Punch Out is the way to go!

#StormNation


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by PJ Haggerty


Read all 15 reviews

Storm Punch Out Bowling Balls 4.93 out of 5 based on 15 ratings. 15 user reviews.