Only show reviews for Roto Grip Hyper Cell

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.81Write a Review    Read all 31 reviews

I Love It
 
81% (25 of 31)
I Like It
 
19% (6 of 31)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 31)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 31)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 31)

Roto Grip Hyper Cell Reviewed By: bowlingball.com Reviews by Tony Ruocco 12/09/2013 14:22 ( stars)

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
SUPERHEROES NEVER DIE THEY'RE REBORN FOR A GREATER PURPOSE

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
PSA Layout - 5" x 4 5/8" x 2 1/4"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (2000 grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
The Hyper Cell is supposed to offer the strongest reaction to date from Roto Grip and the Cell series.

I went with a proven layout that I have used for strong ball motion on heavier volume patterns. This layout on the Hyper Cell should produce a strong roll off my hand with an even stronger motion as it transitions and still finishing
with plenty of power. With the 2000 grit OOB finish this should react very strong on our East Street test pattern.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Definitely the strongest Roto Grip ball I have thrown in a while.

The Hyper Cell gave me everything they said it would and so much more. I was super impressed by how smooth it was off my hand. With the 2000 grit finish and stronger layout I was expecting to see it roll up a bit earlier but the added length off my hand was welcomed after I saw how much this ball hooked overall.

The Hyper Cell really went to work in the middle part of the lane. It cut through the fresh with ease and never showed signs of not getting enough friction. As it transitioned through the mids and into the backend this ball just kept going. There were a few shots were I clearly missed to the right and kept the speed up on the shot and the ball just came barreling back from where ever I wanted with no loss of power at the pins.

I was absolutely amazed at how hard this ball hit the pins each and every shot. There were a few shots we did not keep where I completely killed the pins and they were flying all over the deck with messengers just missing ten pins, etc.

Overall I think the new Hyper Cell is exactly what Roto Grip needed to put a charge back in their HP4 line up for 2014.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlingball.com Reviews by Tony Ruocco


Roto Grip Hyper Cell Reviewed By: daniel.schaden@beconet.com 12/30/2013 12:16 ( stars)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 5/8 over 3/4 up
 
The Hyper Cell is the newest addition to HP4 line for Roto Grip. The cover stock of the Hyper Cell is 80H Micro bite and the core is the Nucleus. The Nucleus core was also used in the original Cell. The layout that I used for the Hyper Cell is 45 X 5 ½ X 45 or pin above the fingers with mass bias kicked out around 2 ½ inches from center line. I normally would need an X hole for this layout but the cg was not in line with the pin and mass bias. My PAP is 5 5/8 over and ¾ up and my rev rate is around 300. My ball speed is roughly around 15 to 16 mph and I am right handed.

The first pattern I threw the Hyper Cell on was a THS with some games on it from the previous night’s league. The Hyper Cell was checking up pretty quick in the track area so I started to move left. The Hyper Cell just wanted to Hook but the continuation down the lane was impressive…. Even for a low rev guy like myself! I ended up playing around the fourth arrow and my feet were around 35. For a comparison, the only ball I could think of was a disturbed. The disturbed was too aggressive early and had no down lane help. For comparison purposes I also threw a Totally Defiant which is a strong ball but it is pearlized. It was an easy 15 board difference with my feet and an arrow to the right between the Hyper Cell and Totally Defiant. The Totally Defiant was a lot straighter than the Hyper Cell.

The next pattern was a version of the Don Carter which is 50 feet and the Hyper Cell performed well. It was more than strong enough to handle the oil and when the pattern started to break down the Hyper Cell was still in play. The Hyper Cell’s backend continuation is very similar to the original Cell but just more hook! The only ball that I had with me to compare was the IQ Tour which was drilled stronger and had more surface on it was no comparison. The Hyper Cell had more reaction and just more performance. The Hyper Cell is a beast when there is some head oil!

The last pattern was a version of the USBC White Pattern. This version was tight and did not have a distinct hook spot. The Hyper Cell was in play from game one until game 5 when the pattern just became too dry in the heads. The continuation and the aggressiveness of the Hyper Cell allowed me to play outside where most of the players could not. The Hyper Cell allowed me to open up the lane and make this pattern look like a house pattern!
The Hyper Cell is the new and improved Cell!



Dan Schaden Jr
Storm/ Roto Grip Staff
Vise Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by daniel.schaden@beconet.com


Roto Grip Hyper Cell Reviewed By: Hurting 03/02/2014 19:41 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
My new Hyper Cell on the 2014 Team Pattern.

What I can tell you is if you liked the original Cell you will most likely fall in love with the Hyper Cell. The ball revs up nice in the mid-lane and has a very strong continuous motion on the back end. If you're in the market for a ball for medium long to long oil patterns this nugget should fit the bill. This ball is layed out using the VLS. It's 3 x 5 7/8 x 2 1/8. The ball is 4 to 5 boards stronger in overall ball motion than the Disturbed I have. When the ball starts to labor to get to the pocket it's time to put it away and go with something that will clear the heads and corner better.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Hurting


Roto Grip Hyper Cell Reviewed By: Roto_Roller 02/22/2014 16:47 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    3 1/8 1/2 up
 
Weight: 14 lbs.
Pin Length: 3 1/2”
Drilling: Pin right of ring, CG in palm
Pattern Length: 40 ft.
Pattern Volume: Medium/Heavy
Pattern Type: Modified House
Right Handed

The HYPER CELL has the proven Nucleus Core from the popular CELL line, and the also proven, MicroBite Coverstock, from the DEFIANT line.
What a combination ROTOGRIP has put together in this ball!

I have used the HYPER CELL on house patterns, modified house patterns, and sport patterns. Just by changing the surface of the HYPER CELL, I was able to use this ball on a variety of different patterns.

For our 39 ft. THS, I’ve had much success using the HYPER CELL at 4000 grit, no polish. It gets through the heads very smooth, and still has a strong turn to the pocket, continuing through the pins. As the pattern broke down, I was able to move in with the HYPER CELL and did not lose carry on the corner pins.

On our modified house/tournament shot, I brought the cover back to the 2000 grit box finish and it was plenty of ball for the shot. I had no trouble getting the corners out. It had plenty of energy on the back end, even with the extra surface on it.

On sport pattern, I took the cover down to 1000 grit. Once again, very smooth through the heads, and made a nice even roll to the pocket and right through the pins.

This is a very versatile piece, that can be used on a variety of oil patterns with just some slight surface changes. If you were a fan of the CELL line years ago, and/or the more recent DEFIANT line, then don’t let this ball pass you by. It is a “must have” in MY arsenal, and should be in yours too.

Carol Teel
Roto Grip Amateur Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto_Roller


Roto Grip Hyper Cell Reviewed By: bbarthol@hotmail.com 02/16/2014 09:11 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    185
Ball Speed    Fast
 
Having thrown nothing but Storm products the past 6-7 years I bought the Hyper Cell at the advice of one of the better bowlers in our league. I am a full roller with a 185 book average and was having problems with my Sync leaving 10 pins. Taking the advice of a 225 bowler I purchased the Hyper Cell and wow, does this ball drive through the pocket. Realizing that most full rollers roll throw straight, I do have a little hook on my ball and the Hyper Cell delivers a consistent track to the pocket. I rolled it out of the box after getting it drilled and threw a 576 series. The next week I upped that to a 615 series and just this past week increased it to a 655 series. Needless to say, those 10 pens are now in the pit as the Hyper Cell drives through the pins like a wrecking ball - great ball for my arsenal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bbarthol@hotmail.com


Roto Grip Hyper Cell Reviewed By: L.Hoffman 04/11/2014 20:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    229
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
My Hyper Cell is layed out with a 3 inch pin below ring finger & CG kicked out 1 inch. As a LH senior Stroker I can used on league house conditions. My ball speed 13-14 mph. On a medium league pattern & with hand behind ball I can go straight up 8-10 with a smooth entry to the pocket.In leagues with less oil I had to stand 8-10 boards right of center crossing 12-15 to the bump at 5-6,(yes, older lefties do move) but still had a smooth return to pocket area. Keep in mind that I am behind ball so it gets further down the lane before weight block takes over. The H Cell carries light hits like pocket hits due to the continuous movement through the deck. The Hyper Cell should be in running for another ball of the year for RG....Larry Hofman, Roto Grip Advisory Staff.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by L.Hoffman


Roto Grip Hyper Cell Reviewed By: Jeremy Hunt 04/08/2014 13:07 ( stars)


 
Lane Conditions: Medium-Heavy Oil
Typical Conditions: Variety of Shots
Type of Lane: All Synthetic
What part of the lane did you play? Third Arrow
Did the ball track out? Normal
Weight of bowling ball: 15
Surface of bowling ball: Factory/Box
Likes: I was really impressed on how easy this ball is to get through the front of the lane. Most strong cover/core balls do not get through the front of the lane as easy as this one does.
Dislikes: When using this ball for what it is made for I have yet to see anything I dislike about the Hyper Cell

Layout: 5-1/2x4-3/4x3-3/4 ( dual angle : 55x5.5x40)
I went with a weaker pin placement on this Hyper Cell because I was concerned that with my rev rate it wouldn't get through the front and middle of the lane like I wanted but after throwing it some I probably could have drilled it a little stronger. This one get through the front of the lane with ease and still picks up in the middle of the lane and continues like no other asymmetrical ball I have ever thrown. This ball has a lot of continuation for a ball with such a strong cover and core. The Hyper Cell is the strongest ball in my arsenal but is more versatile than most dull asymmetrical balls that I have thrown.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Jeremy Hunt


Roto Grip Hyper Cell Reviewed By: TommyGN 04/07/2014 10:16 ( stars)


 
The Hyper Cell is a combination of using the original Nucleus core that has an Rg of 2.52 and a differential of 0.056 with a PSA differential of 0.018 in 15lb balls; and the 80H Microbite cover that was on the Defiant, finished to 2000 grit abralon. The Hyper Cell really needs some oil in the front of the lane to get it moving in the correct direction with the box finish. A simple trip to the ball spinner for a coat of polish or a smoother surface will help if there isn’t enough oil on the lane to keep the Hyper Cell from slowing down too fast.
I choose to go with a 3¾ x6 ¼ x2 ½ layout to compliment the Asylum that I drilled up (4x6 ½ x2 ½). I wanted that true oil ball. I didn’t want a big backend reaction, and I didn’t want a ball that needed shined just to keep it from slowing down too fast even on oil. The 3 ¾” pin placement allows the ball to rev up, while the long PSA placement of 6 ¼” allows for a longer transition in the hook phase of ball motion. Translation; I drilled for heavier, longer, slightly flatter from left to right patterns. I used the Hyper Cell in a tournament that used the new 43 ft USBC team pattern. It was great on the fresh pattern. I kept my angles in front of me and moved in as the oil depleted. I was then able to go to the Asylum as the pattern broke down in the front of the lane because of the righties moving left, into my lay down area. This ball would’ve been great had we bowled on the fresh for the match play portion, as I can see where it wanted to allow me to move in (15 minutes of practice with only a few people on the pair can tell you a lot), if there is oil to move into. A slight change of the hand position to create more downlane motion as the angles become steeper is really all that is required.
The Hyper Cell is a strong cover and strong core ball. It likes oil. I can see players having success with this ball at nationals this year. The only issue I can see for me personally is because of the long PSA drill angle, I can get a little too much over under on the typical Abe Lincoln top hat house condition. If I drilled another Hyper Cell for that, I would go with a shorter PSA to PAP angle, so that the transition of the hook phase is faster, and a longer pin distance from PAP as well, to reduce the overall board coverage and hook potential. If you need a heavy oil ball, give the Hyper Cell a try. With cover modifications, you can use it on medium volume patterns, but I would recommend a different ball like an Up Roar for medium-light to dry lanes.
Thank you for taking the time to read my review of the Roto Grip Hyper Cell.

Tommy Gollick
Storm/Vise regional staff player


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TommyGN


Roto Grip Hyper Cell Reviewed By: grstorm 04/06/2014 23:46 ( stars)


 
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 16-17mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 5 ¼ x 4 x 2 ¾
The Hyper Cell is drilled pin above bridge and Preferred Spin Axis 1 inch away from the thumb with a weight hole down. With the success of the original Cell core and the success of the Defiant micro bite cover I knew this was going to be hit and it is. The Hyper Cell is great on higher volume of oil for when I need to stand a lil more right and play an inside shot and still have the motion on the back end to get to the pocket this ball works great for that. Comparing it to the Defiant the Hyper Cell gives me 3 to 5 more boards of overall ball reaction than the Defiant due to the weight block and having more back end motion also. I can see the weight block wanting to turn over when it gets down lane close to the dry and when it does get to the dry it makes a strong yet smooth motion. If you loved the Defiant and the Cell in the past then you will for sure love the Hyper Cell.

Garrett Richardson
Storm/Roto Grip Pro Shop Staff



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by grstorm


Read all 31 reviews

Roto Grip Hyper Cell Bowling Balls 4.81 out of 5 based on 31 ratings. 31 user reviews.