Only show reviews for Ebonite Pivot Point

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.88Write a Review    Read all 16 reviews

I Love It
 
88% (14 of 16)
I Like It
 
12% (2 of 16)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 16)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 16)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 16)

Ebonite Pivot Point Reviewed By: Ztrain300 01/27/2014 12:10 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
Another great addition to the Ebonite high performance line. The Pivot Point creates that sharp down lane motion. Out of the box this ball is finished with the 1500 grit abranet, and polished with Powerhouse factory finish. The Gold Pearl with Black and Purple highlights help enhance the Folds of Honor logo.
I drilled mine with a 70x5x30 layout, and left the box finish on it. My goal was to enhance the downlane movement that this ball promotes. I had a chance to throw this late in a block on a pattern that started at 40' with 28ml. I started the block playing 12 with the Pivot, but pulled this ball out and jumped into 20 game 4, and had a look that no one else could create.
High/Low rev players will like this for the easy length it creates, but also for the recovery it delivers downlane. Always use the Powerhouse Blurpint Program for fine tuning. #bowlitforward

Zach Endres
Highland Park Lanes Manager
Ebonite Staff Member
Bowler Specs- 4 3/8x 5/8 PAP, 16 MPH, 370RPM


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ztrain300


Ebonite Pivot Point Reviewed By: thorntonk 01/28/2014 15:03 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
I am a bowler with now too much rev rate but considered above average for a women. I recently drilled my pivot point with a dual angle layout of 60 x 4 1/4 x 55 and left the surface at box.

This ball rolls great for me. It is a great ball to have in the mid or lower point of your arsenal. Its really clean through the midlane and has a great reaction off the breakpoint that creates a good angle into the pocket and lots of pin carry. The ball really allows you to open up the lane and tak advantage of the hook spot to the right on broken down oil patterns.

As a collegiate coach, this will be a great asset as the number #3 or #4 ball in the 5 ball arsenal allowed in collegiate bowling. It will also be a great ball for league bowlers who prefer to move left.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Pivot Point Reviewed By: strikedr 01/17/2014 15:04 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    192
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
PAP    5 7/8 x 1
 
Another amazing ball by Ebonite. More length than the Pivot with the same continuous backend that drives through the pins. Worked great on the 35' pattern for our men's league without needing to jump way inside. And to boot, Ebonite is making a donation to the Folds of Honor Foundation for every ball sold.
Bowl it Forward.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Pivot Point Reviewed By: lefttyhook 04/02/2014 15:09 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Style    Tweener
 
i am not partial to any bowling manufacturer. i try usually what is discounted and has a good review for the condition i plan on using it for. that being said was at a state tournament noticed this ball liked the looks read the reviews so why not i could use an aggressive pearl. my Tuesday league has a 40' shot you want to talk about a match made in heaven.i am left handed medium rev rate play in between first and second arrow. i cut this ball loose and watch it smash the pins. i have more than thirty games on it with no signs of dieing. if you are looking for a strong pearl look no further give this ball a try you wont be sorry. thanks for reading my review.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by lefttyhook


Ebonite Pivot Point Reviewed By: ToolBoxESQ 01/21/2014 20:59 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Ebonite Pivot Ball
- Color: Purple/Gold/Black
- Coverstock: RCP MAX
- Core: CB-2 Asymmetric
- Factory Finish: 500, 1500 Abranet™ Polished with Powerhouse Factory Finish
- Reaction: Strong Backend Continuation
- Recommended Lane Condition: Medium to Heavy Oil
- RG: 2.48**
- Differential: .049**
- ** RG and Diff are based off of 15 lb. balls
- Rev Rate: 425
- Ball Speed: 17-18.5 MPH
- Layout: 5 ¼” X 4 ¾”
- Axis Rotation: 45 degrees
- Condition: 39’ Typical House Shot


First off I want to say that Ebonite is contributing $5 per ball sale will go to the Folds of Honor, supporting fallen and wounded soldier’s families. This ball having an updated cover that is wrapped around the CB-2 asymmetric core that was in the original Pivot. These two balls are close in overall hook potential when the Pivot hooks too early the Pivot Point is cleaner and more angular to help compliment with transition and breakdown. This ball is a great choice for house patterns and generating more angles through the pin deck to produce more strikes.
I drilled this ball like all my other balls that I like to compare pin above the fingers and CG kicked to right of my center grip. For me this is a control drill and it allows me to get a good read on what the ball does from shot to shot. With the Point I was able to move a 3-4 boards left off the Pivot and hit the pocket at will. This ball is a great compliment to the Pivot and overall hook than the Legacy. I will be throwing this ball, hopefully during the Masters competition in February. Until next time make good shots and strike more!!! Tool Box out!!!



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ToolBoxESQ


Ebonite Pivot Point Reviewed By: Matt Cannizzaro 04/13/2014 20:55 ( stars)


 
Hello everyone,

Simply enough, the Pivot Point is a great complement to the Pivot. Having both in your arsenal means easier decisions as the lanes transition during league or tournament play.

You can use the Pivot when the lanes are fresh, and then switch to the Pivot Point when you need more length and backend reaction.

It\\\\\\\'s a no-brainer. A 1-2 package that lets you stay with the same great core and roll for longer, at a very reasonable price. It definitely is a lot of ball for the money.

After enjoying some league and tournament success with the Pivot, I was glad to see the Pivot Point come out. When the Pivot starts to hook early or fade on the back, the Pivot Point is the next thing out of my bag. It\\\\\\\'s clean through the front and just angular enough.

The Pivot and Pivot Point were a nice upgrade for me from the Warning Sign and Innovate. Another great core in two good-looking pieces.

Matt Cannizzaro
Ebonite staff member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Pivot Point Reviewed By: raddad555 04/12/2014 16:45 ( stars)


 
Very Solid ball especially through the backend. Reads the mid-lane extremely well. Rolls a bit early when shooting on a 40' shot but nice continuation with little to no deflection on the deck. Works well with my style straight up 5 , avg 15.5 mph , mid- to low rev rate. Can move inside when necessary with a nice recovery.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Pivot Point Reviewed By: thefreeagent 04/03/2014 18:31 ( stars)


 
LANE CONDITION

Length: Multiple

Volume: Varies

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS, Sport shot.


COMMENTS

Drilling: I drilled my Pivot Point Pin above Middle with the CG and MB stacked in a line and left box finish on it.
Likes: For being a strong ball I find myself using is more on shorter and drier patterns.

Dislikes: Me and this ball did not match up particularly well, I think this ball is just too strong for me and with my higher speed with medium revs, I can’t get it the make the move down lane I have seen from others with this ball. If you are a slower ball speed and with any kind of rev rate you will see a ton of back end from this ball.
Ryan “Junk” Pitman
Ebonite Amateur staff.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by thefreeagent


Ebonite Pivot Point Reviewed By: Zio300 03/25/2014 14:03 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
I love this ball. It goes long and has a very controllable hook in the backend. I have used this ball on a house shot (here it is Kegel Stone Street) and I've used it on WTBA Atlanta. It has some nice pop on the backend without being overly aggressive. When it hits the pins it keeps on driving as opposed to deflecting after hitting.

On WTBA Atlanta I tried using my Legacy, but it wouldn't finish well on the back part of the lane and the carry wasn't great for me. The Pivot Point finished much better on the backend. My Pivot was just too aggressive for that pattern.

On the house shot, I can play tight, say 10 to 5, or I can play inside a little bit, say 20 to 8 (track area). Since it is a pearl ball, I can't get too deep with it to start out because it won't finish well for me.

A little info on me:
rev rate -> med-high (It's been a while since I checked. it was 415)
Speed -> med-high (It's been a while since I checked. It was 19)
PAP -> 4 3/4 right with 3/8 up
Axis Tilt -> 15 degrees
Axis Rotation -> 50 degrees
Layout I have for this ball -> 55x 4 3/4 xV19 (V = VAL Angle)
I am on Ebonite Advisory Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Zio300


Read all 16 reviews

Ebonite Pivot Point Bowling Balls 4.88 out of 5 based on 16 ratings. 16 user reviews.