Only show reviews for Storm Reign On

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.62Write a Review    Read all 26 reviews

I Love It
 
65% (17 of 26)
I Like It
 
31% (8 of 26)
It's Ok
 
4% (1 of 26)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 26)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 26)

Storm Reign On Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 08/29/2013 11:30 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    6 3/16 x 1/2 down
 
Pin to PAP(6 3/16" over 1/2" down) - 5"
PSA Layout - 5 x 5 x 2.5"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 Grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:

The Storm Thunder line is consistently my favorite line in bowling and has been for many years. The Reign of Power was my favorite ball of the past year, so needless to say I was excited for a hybrid version. I was expecting the Reign On to have a bit more length with a bit more angle on the backend.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:

The Reign On certainly did not disappoint! The proven C.A.M. core is the engine that controls this ball and matched with the R2S Hybrid coverstock, it runs like a well oiled machine. This ball has good length and a strong backend reaction. What makes the Thunder line so great though is the ability of the ball to read the midlane. Also, how easy it is for the bowler to see the transition between skid, hook and roll. This makes the ball very versatile and makes adjustments super easy.

The Reign On is another heir to the throne of the Thunder Line's long time dominance!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign On Reviewed By: seanbaker 11/17/2013 23:45 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    214
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5inches right 1/2 inch up
 
Storm Reign On
PAP-5 over and ½ up
Ball Speed: 15-17mph
Rev Rate: 300-500
Right Handed
Layout: 4x4x2
Surface Preparation: OTB

What I wanted from this ball: I wanted a pearl version of the Reign of Power

Result: Exactly what I expected from this ball. A pearl version of my Reign of Power with a good length down the lane and a smooth controllable roll toward the pocket.

Compared to the Reign of Power, the Reign on gives me the length I need to get the ball down the lane and have a good consistent smooth motion towards the pocket.

I tested this ball on our home wood lanes with our house pattern. Our house pattern is a pretty tough shot with dryer heads in the middle portion of the lane creating a huge early backend reaction for most and a massive out of bounds from the first arrow out. There is a small hold area around the 8 board but you cant miss inside or out.

The first set of 3 games on a freshly oiled pair, I quickly found out that I cannot play deep inside with this ball without really putting a lot on it. Over the 3 game duration, I migrated right until I ended up around the second arrow playing pretty straight up. Over the course of the next 5-10 games, I continued to stay around the second arrow with just a minor migration to the left with my stance and kept the same line and angle to the pocket. I also found out that If I throw this ball a little too firm, I tend to wrap a corner pin. Once I settled down and started stroking the ball up the shot, I found the Reign On to roll very consistent and predictable.

To sum this ball up, I expected much more backend reaction than I got, but ended up being happy with the length and consistent smooth roll to the pocket. I will utilize this ball on dryer lane conditions definitely or when I want to play a more straight up shot.

Pro Shop Reaction: A pretty good selling ball so far. My storm customers are slowly but surely buying this ball to compliment their Reign Of Power balls.

Recommendations: I would definitely recommend this ball for a dryer lane conditions or a snappy backend. This is a good ball to use when you want to calm down your shot and play a baby swing or straight up and have consistent control.

Storm/Roto Grip Staff
Sean Baker
Bowl Like a Pro Shop
Paducah, Ky 42001




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by seanbaker


Storm Reign On Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/05/2014 13:54 ( stars)


 
I first drilled the original Reign and I could not put that ball down. It was always a go to ball for me. Then the Reign Of Power came out and that ball was even better then the original Reign. Well, the Reign On has kept the tradition and the Reign line going. With the R2S Hybrid coverstock, the Reign On clears the front part of the lane with ease. Revving up in the mid lane and making a sharp motion at the break point.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Reign On Reviewed By: coryjody@yahoo.com 03/02/2014 20:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
 
14#
Layout 60 x 4 1/2 x 68
THS wood lanes

This ball is just what I was looking for. The ball is very forgiving and has a consistant and predictable motion. I typically average around 200 and since I have started throwing this ball I have been averaging around 215. The pin action and carry I get with this ball is amazing


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign On Reviewed By: Tony Reynaud 02/19/2014 23:08 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    239
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1 5/8 up
 
COVERSTOCK:R2S™ Hybrid Reactive
WEIGHT BLOCK:C.A.M.™
FACTORY FINISH:4000-grit Pad
BALL COLOR:White Silver/Deep Purple
DUROMETER:74-76 Rex D-scale
FLARE POTENTIAL:4” - 5” (Medium-High)
FRAGRANCE:Grape
WEIGHTS:12-16 lbs.
SKU:TGO
My layout: 4 3/8” x 4 7/8” x 1 3/4”
My PAP: 4 5/8" over 1 5/8 up
The Reign On from Storm is a hybrid reactive ball that comes out of the box 4000. This is a ball that took me a while before I decided to add it to my tournament bag. I heavily favor solid balls, so pearls and hybrids often take a back seat to balls like Marvel S’s and IQ Tours. I tend to use the Reign On when my IQ Tour Solid starts to go straighter in the back. The Reign on stores more energy and therefore turns the corner harder then the IQ Tour does. The Reign On has opened up the pocket for me a number of times when the IQ Tour was burning out. The Reign On isn’t the first ball out of my bag due to its cover, but it does fit nicely between my IQ Tour Solid and IQ Tour Pearl. I have watched high rev players destroy the lanes on numerous occasions with this ball. Like I said it took me a while to get to know and like this ball, but I feel it is really worth looking at. Even though they are some newer Storm and Roto Grip Balls on the market today, the Reign On deserves to be part of that buying decision. I give it a 4 on a scale of 5. Some people like me won’t be using the ball every day, but if you bowl tournaments you are going to come across lane conditions that call for Reign On!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Tony Reynaud


Storm Reign On Reviewed By: chardee 02/14/2014 10:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
 
Storm Reign On
PAP – 4-13/16th over and 5/8 up
Ball Speed: 15-16 mph
Rev Rate 225
Right Handed
Surface Preparation: OTB

What is there not to love about the Reign series from Storm? Absolute performance at a price level that keeps money in the bank.
The Storm Reign On is amazing piece the original CAM core that was in the reign wrapped in the ever so popular R2S hybrid cover gives you a reaction that is incredible.
This ball has multiple uses for me, on a house shot its a monster and loves to be in the oil. However on the sport patterns I am able to stay near the track area longer with it.
Sometimes I tend to think this ball has its own mind. Its seems to layoff when you need it to but yet come screaming back on some misses.
This is the strongest Hybrid I have had in my hands to date. One awesome and useful tool every bowler should have! When your solid covers are just to much and your pearls are to late down lane. This ball gives a great look when you need it most!

Just a simple pin below the ring layout with just a small kick of the cg is all I need out of this ball. I plan to have one of these in my arsenal for some time to come its ability to find the pocket is just amazing.

Christina Hardee


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by chardee


Storm Reign On Reviewed By: Jroshandtap 02/13/2014 11:43 ( stars)


 
Reign On ball review by Storm Staffer Josh Conner
PAP: 5 3/8 over, 1/2 up
Lane condition tested: 39' House condition

I first drilled the original Reign and I could not put that ball down. It was always a go to ball for me. Then the Reign Supreme came out and that ball was even better then the original Reign. Well, the Reign On has kept the tradition and the Reign line going. With the R2S Hybrid coverstock, the Reign On clears the front part of the lane with ease. Revving up in the mid lane and making a sharp motion at the break point.

I drilled one of my Reign On balls for short patterns and the other for league. I tried a 4 x 4 x 2 layout, one of storms more used and recommended layouts for symmetrical balls on my league Reign On and the result, was a very clean and controllable ball motion. I was able to blend my over under house condition and stay out of trouble. The Reign on has been a go to ball for me in tournaments and in league and if you drill a Reign on for yourself, I'm sure the same will be said by you!!

Stormnation!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Jroshandtap


Storm Reign On Reviewed By: Jroshandtap 02/13/2014 10:14 ( stars)


 
Reign On ball review by Storm Staffer Josh Conner
PAP: 5 3/8 over, 1/2 up
Lane condition tested: 39' House condition

I first drilled the original Reign and I could not put that ball down. It was always a go to ball for me. Then the Reign Supreme came out and that ball was even better then the original Reign. Well, the Reign On has kept the tradition and the Reign line going. With the R2S Hybrid coverstock, the Reign On clears the front part of the lane with ease. Revving up in the mid lane and making a sharp motion at the break point.

I drilled one of my Reign On balls for short patterns and the other for league. I tried a 4 x 4 x 2 layout, one of storms more used and recommended layouts for symmetrical balls on my league Reign On and the result, was a very clean and controllable ball motion. I was able to blend my over under house condition and stay out of trouble. The Reign on has been a go to ball for me in tournaments and in league and if you drill a Reign on for yourself, I'm sure the same will be said by you!!

Stormnation!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Jroshandtap


Storm Reign On Reviewed By: dhiggyJr 02/02/2014 19:29 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 up 3/8
 
By STORM staff: Dan Higgins
Right Handed
PAP 5 1/8 up 3/8
Rev rate 380-415

Pin up 5 ¼ x 7 1/8 x 3 ¼ (reverse 130 layout)
Pin buffer is 3 1/4, pin from pap 5 ¼ and I placed an * 6 ¾ from pin through cg and measures * to pap as 7 1/8 .
This layout is more about the cg being no further than 1 inch left or up or down from center of grip if right handed
The reverse 130 layout (Pin above fingers on center line cg kicked left and inch from center grip and a 7/8 hole about 40-45 degrees 9 inches from center of span, which is above and left of my middle finger and left of my last flares) I have this layout in a Modern Marvel and HyRoad, and soon the IQ Tour Fusion.
I use my Modern Marvel on modified house 39-42 foot patterns. Allows me to play closer to the track for longer period of time. The Hy Road lets me play drier versions of this or flatter patterns that are broken down easier. The Reign On is slightly longer and smoother than modern marvel.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by dhiggyJr


Read all 26 reviews

Storm Reign On Bowling Balls 4.62 out of 5 based on 26 ratings. 26 user reviews.