Only show reviews for Motiv Primal Rage

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.7Write a Review    Read all 10 reviews

I Love It
 
80% (8 of 10)
I Like It
 
10% (1 of 10)
It's Ok
 
10% (1 of 10)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 10)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 10)

Motiv Primal Rage Reviewed By: JuanitoM 09/22/2013 13:18 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
Bowling ball dot com does such a great job in so many areas. I would like to see them improve and "clean up" the ball ratings by separating the staffers' ratings from those of the regular folks. Clearly, there is no arms length relationship between staffers and their ratings. I own numerous balls from every manufacturer known to man, have no preference and am completely objective in rating a ball. Ok. Enough about that.

Let's talk about the Primal Rage. In a word, "Yikes", what a beast. This ball goes so long, my first thought was,"Uh oh better turn soon". No sooner did that thought enter my head than it was quickly dismissed. When this ball put the left hand turn signal on, it leaped to the pocket and crushed the pins.

You know how you always hear that this ball or that ball clears the heads, has great continuation, yada yada. More often than not, I have found that such a description is mere words nothing more than hyperbole, little, if any, truth in fact. With this ball, however, it is completely accurate. The length is extreme and the continuation is unstoppable. A ball that actually lives up to expectations, imagine that!

In our Friday night scratch league, as the first game wore wore on, I began wondering how long I could keep throwing the ball. However, I found it to highly responsive to minor speed adjustments. The ball performed as well at the end of league game number 3 as it did in game 1. I know that reporting scores can seem kind of self-congratulatory. But, I will take that risk, if it helps make a point about the "Rage". My three game set was 760 (248, 258, 254). Yeah, I know that 3 games is a tiny sample. However, with the way the ball "Raged" and watching others struggle with transition, I am confident, this will be my "go to" ball.

An added bonus, is that the Rage gave me excellent corner pin carry. The Rage seemed to keep the pins low to the deck, thus avoiding those evil ringing tens. That was despite the fact that it was hitting like a train. You must own this ball. You owe it to yourself. Remember, I am a regular dude with no affiliation to any manufacturer.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by JuanitoM


Motiv Primal Rage Reviewed By: zman 09/18/2013 09:18 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Motiv Primal Rage Review.

So what is all the Hype about this RED BALL? RED BALL, RED BALL , RED BALL Is it really that good? The answer to this question didn’t take long for me to realize –YES it is that good! Adding this weapon to my already strong line of MOTIV equipment is just what the doctor ordered. At some point you ask yourself what else can they come up with where could this product line go and what’s missing. Well the RED Ball- Primal Rage certainly answered that question. Absolutely the strongest , most devastating ball in the line the Primal Rage picks up where the Primal Scream left off. Incredible reaction, smooth roll and even stronger continuation through the pins. What an incredible addition to the already long and strong Thrash Frenzy as the Primal Rage brings in the ability to get in the oil and make that all so elusive left motion coming off the back of the pattern. This is the ball I’ve been waiting on for PBA event as it provides me the optimal shape and room on heavier oil conditions that are prominent at PBA stops. I promise you won’t be disappointed with this piece as it is really that good. Come get Motiv-ated with us and experience the RED Ball everyone is talking about.

Rick Zakrajsek


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by zman


Motiv Primal Rage Reviewed By: Asianboyinvade 12/14/2013 23:12 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    170
Sport Shot Average    150
Ball Speed    Fast
 
The ball it great. I love the angular motion of the ball, it's like someone kicked it. Being a high rev player I love the power it has. Though it has good back end if it doesn't reach the end of the oil and it is close to the gutter it will go in depending on the way you would drill it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Motiv Primal Rage Reviewed By: Alcoholic seamen thrower 12/01/2013 21:59 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    270-280
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Its the best ball from motiv

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Alcoholic seamen thrower


Motiv Primal Rage Reviewed By: Onefrombills 09/19/2013 05:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
PAP    5 right 1/2 up
 
My Motiv Primal Rage: Pin 1 inch above ring finger / CG 2 inches below ring finger
The Primal Rage has been a great addition to my bag. I thought I would drill it up and hardly be able to use it because it would just be too angular for me. I really like to see a smooth reaction off the spot, but after using this ball on the 2013 USBC pattern and house league shots. I have come to realize this is not a niche ball.
The Primal Rage is very clean in the fronts and more versatile than I was expecting, I have been able to open the lane and still get it back.
The cover is 1500 grit with Motiv Power Gel for shine. If you bowl in an older center or a center with high friction I would suggest taking the cover up to 2000 and use Power Gel to get through the mids.
Conditions I have used the Primal Rage on: 2013 USBC National’s, Yellow Brick Rd, Bourbon Street and various house/modified house shots.
Where it fits in my bag: It's the most angular ball in my bag when. It fits under my Raptor Talon when that is hooking too much.
When I use it: Typically I start with my “BIG” ball (Raptor Talon) and when it is hooking too much and I need a ball that will get down lane and control the back ends I use the Primal Rage. That is middle or so of game 2 on a THS. On a sport pattern I will take it one around game 3-4
Bowler Specifications:
Right Handed - Power Stroker
Ball Speed – 15 mph
Rev Rate 320
Positive Axis Point (PAP) 5 right ½ up
Brian Hirsch
Motiv Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Onefrombills


Motiv Primal Rage Reviewed By: thahn 09/04/2013 22:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I'm 70 years old I carry a 215 ave.My ball speed is slow 13 to 14 mph I consider my self a stroker. I really love this ball. I throw about 2 messengers a year. I have already thrown 4 or 5 and its only the second week of the season. The ball is amazing from the break point to the pocket. It really doesn't matter how deep I am. I even went to a 14 pounder, I think I can use this ball on a lot of conditions even the sport shot.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by thahn


Motiv Primal Rage Reviewed By: MOTIVmags 08/29/2013 10:03 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 Over x 1/8 Down
 
The Primal Rage’s response to friction is VERY fast!
This ball is able to create some steep entry angles for guys like me who aren’t able to do so naturally. It doesn’t
really have a best suited lane condition from what I have seen so far, although the Primal Rage is very
valuable when seeing carry down. I felt for a ball that creates so much torque off the breakpoint, I could
still stay aggressive. When I tend to go to a ball that really changes direction I feel I have to back off of it
a little bit to get around the corner. My game is based on being aggressive so to be able to create more
entry angle and still stay firm fills in a special void in my arsenal.

Mike Magolan


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by MOTIVmags


Motiv Primal Rage Reviewed By: beavess 08/02/2013 01:06 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
This is a follow up to my previous review. I have gotten to put another 30 games on the RAGE and "I LOVE THIS BALL." Just shot an 825 series in league play. Now that I've gotten more comfortable throwing it. I still feel it is very subject to hand position mistakes, but when you get it right. This ball smokes the pins. The RAGE also does well on dry lanes as well as heavy oil, by simply changing ball speeds. Motiv is starting to become a true force in the bowling world and looking good, buy it , you will not be sorry. Nuff Said

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by beavess


Motiv Primal Rage Reviewed By: jasonkentp@gmail.com 08/01/2013 13:17 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    223
Sport Shot Average    192
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/2 - x 1/2
 
Right handed
17* Tilt
50* Rotation
450 RPM
16.5MPH at the deck.
PAP 5 1/2 x 1/2^


I wanted a ball that would get down the lane but not over react when it hit the dry. I drilled my Rage @ 50X4.5x60 w/ p2.5 weight hole.

On the Chameleon pattern the ball played well at the box finish, hitting 23 at the arrows 10 at the break point. The box finish let me get the ball down the lane clean with a hard arc at the break point and great continuation at the pins. This layout on this pattern also gave me a couple boards of tug room which is always nice on a sport pattern.

The 40 ft. house shot that I played on didn't play as well as I hoped at the box finish. The ball wanted to wiggle down lane and didn't give me a consistent break point in practice. I hit it with a 4000 grit pad and smoothed out the reaction and firmed up the break point.

All in all a very nice piece from Motiv with the correct layout and surface for the lanes you are bowling on.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 10 reviews

Motiv Primal Rage Bowling Balls 4.70 out of 5 based on 10 ratings. 10 user reviews.