Only show reviews for Storm Marvel-S

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.87Write a Review    Read all 30 reviews

I Love It
 
87% (26 of 30)
I Like It
 
13% (4 of 30)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 30)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 30)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 30)

Storm Marvel-S Reviewed By: bowlingball.com Reviews by Tony Ruocco 06/17/2013 12:22 ( stars)

658 of 663 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
Amaze everyone at the lanes with the Storm Marvel-S!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4 1/2"
PSA Layout - 4 1/2" x 4" x 1 1/2"
Balance Hole - P3

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (3000 Grit Pad)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I have used this layout on a few releases and had some really good feedback on it so I figured the introduction of the Marvel-S made sense to use it on as well. The Marvel-S combines the cover from the Sync (NRG Solid Reactive) with the Centripetal core used in previous Marvel balls.

This layout should provide me with a very strong motion int he mid-lane with strong continuation down lane.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I think this combination may end being a lot of bowlers favorite Marvel to date. The Marvel-S seems to combine everything we have loved from Storm into one great ball.

The cover is plenty strong enough but smooth enough that it does not read the pattern too early. This combined with the 3000 grit finish allowed me to get the ball down lane to where I wanted to see hook with ease. The symmetrical core allowed me to control the ball motion a little more. I was able to make some slight changes to my hand position and see some totally different
movement out of the ball.

As the ball transitioned from the mids to the back ends I saw a super strong motion that I felt was missed in previous Marvel releases.

The Marvel-S is definitely one you should check out this season from Storm.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlingball.com Reviews by Tony Ruocco


Storm Marvel-S Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 06/17/2013 12:24 ( stars)

103 of 111 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    6 3/16 x 1/2 down
 
Pin to PAP(6 3/16" over 1/2" down) - 5"
PSA Layout - 5 x 5 x 2.5"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (3000 Grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:

Knowing that this ball features the amazing Centripetal Core from the Marvel series, a great reaction shape was going to be a given. Add on the fact that it is wrapped with the NRG Solid coverstock featured on the Virtual Gravity NANO and Vivid, I was expecting big, controllable hook.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:

The Centripetal core gives the Marvel-S more length than the NANO or Vivid and this allows the ball to store energy and really HOOK on the back part of the lane! The Marvel-S is very easy to read and predictable. This ball will be a great compliment to the IQ Tour Pearl and Lucid.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Marvel-S Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 07/13/2013 12:36 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Marvel-S The wait is over Tuesday July 16 we will have in shop that day.
This will be your new ball for that pattern with oil you will have plenty of roll in the front and all the backend you will ever need.

Marvel-S with the Nano-Vivid coverstock and Marvel core wow Storm is the Bowlers company they are giving us the best of both.

We are having Match Maker identify your ARSENAL. Aug 9 Friday three squads if you are in the area let us know at the shop if you want to roll the new Storm/Roto Grip Bowling balls.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Marvel-S Reviewed By: Tony Reynaud 11/12/2013 09:18 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    239
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1 5/8 up
 
COVERSTOCK:NRG™ Solid Reactive
WEIGHT BLOCK: Centripetal™ Core
LIGHT WEIGHT BLOCK: Modified Centripetal™ Core
FACTORY FINISH: 3000-grit Pad
BALL COLOR: Aqua/Green/Black
DUROMETER: 73-75 Rex D-scale
FLARE POTENTIAL: 5” - 6” (High)
FRAGRANCE: Spearmint
WEIGHTS: 12-16 lbs.
SKU: TML


My layout: 55 x 3 7/8 "x 45
My PAP: 4 3/4" over 1 5/8 up

The Marvel S from Storm is a fantastic bowling ball. It is by far my favorite bowling ball since the IQ Tour which came out in July 2012. Anyone that knows me knows how much I loved the IQ Tour. I drilled 6 IQ Tours so far, {I am not done drilling IQ Tours yet} and there is a good chance I will end up drilling more Marvel S’s before I am done. I think that highly of this ball.

I really loved the Nano and was really disappointed when Storm discontinued it. The good news is the Marvel S has the same cover stock, which produces a nice heavy roll, which is great for a straighter player such as me. I feel because of the weight block, the marvel S is smoother then the Nano was. Basically if you liked the Nano you will also like the Marvel S.

I bowl tournaments every weekend, and I can always tell how popular a bowling ball will be just by paying attention to what people are throwing, as well as what they are saying about a bowling ball. When a new ball gets released from any company you will see people throwing them. The great balls pick up steam and still sell really well months down the road. The Marvel S has been out for about 4 months now and I keep seeing more and more of them on the racks. As a staffer that is the true test of knowing when a ball is truly great and the Marvel S fits that bill.

Next time you are in a bowling center watching good bowlers, find someone throwing this Aqua green and black ball, watch how nice it rolls, and how powerful it really is when it enters the pocket. In conclusion the Marvel S from Storm gets my highest rating. I can’t stress enough that everyone needs to own this balling ball!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Tony Reynaud


Storm Marvel-S Reviewed By: Housequake 04/02/2014 05:17 ( stars)


 
This ball is a beast! I drilled my NARVEL S strong. I stacked it This forced me to move in on the lane, but I carry everything. I call this ball "The Pinbuster!" This ball and the Fusion is the only two balls you need in your bag.If you understand lane transition. These two balls will consistently strikes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Housequake


Storm Marvel-S Reviewed By: albertracing_06@yahoo.com 01/30/2014 17:29 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Style    Tweener
 
Very strong ball, anybody looking for a strong smooth reaction should consider having one of these in there arsenal

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Marvel-S Reviewed By: cmsubowler 11/08/2013 16:09 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
Hello all and as always thanks for reading.
I cannot say enough good about the the whole Marvel line and now Storm decided to take their proven NRG coverstock and slap it on the most popular core Storm has made in the last 4 years. The combination is incredible providing a predictable motion downlane while the NRG coverstock is cutting through the heaviest of patterns. I went with a very high RG drilling with this ball attempting to help the ball get downlane and conserve energy and backend motion for a deeper inside line. This proved to be an award winning combination for me as I was able to use it on the Paris pattern and also Shark patterns. I was also able to use this on regular house shots using some light polish which helps the ball get cleaner through the heads. I compared this to the Modern Margel and as you can see with similar drilling patterns and the same surface I was able to keep my feet and target deeper in the oil and still maintain entry angle on the back part of the lane where the Modern Marvel needed a little more friction to the right in order to gain proper entry angle. This ball is an excellent choice to get deeper than your competition and not have anyone in your line. Keep up the good work Storm I only wonder how they are gonna top this one.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Storm Marvel-S Reviewed By: watson24@suddenlink.net 11/02/2013 19:19 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 up 1 1/4
 
Right handed
PAP- 4 up 1 1/4
Rev Rate - 380-400
Ball Speed - 16-17
Axis Tilt - 15

The Storm Marvel-S uses the Centripetal™ Core wrapped with the strong NRG™ Solid Reactive coverstock. This is the same cover that was used on the Nano.
I drilled mine like the Storm Matchmaker Balls, pin above and between the fingers stacked. This is like a 4 inch pin to pap for me. Lets just say that the Marvel-S is a very strong symmetrical ball. For me this ball will need some oil up front to allow the ball to store some of its power down lane. I was very impressed though with the continuation the Marvel-S had off of the spot, as the previous modern marvel was a little rolly. The Marvel-S had a very strong arc motion and backend, more than I was expecting from such a strong cover. I used the Marvel-S on a couple different house shot and the USBC white pattern. On the house shots I was able to stay in the puddle and open the lane up with great hitting power. On the white pattern I was a little further right but still the Marvel-S was still able to create a very strong arc off the spot with exceptional carry.
This ball will excel on the longer sport and PBA patterns with the strong cover.
I have watched bowlers with lower rev rates really fall in love with this ball as it allowed them to create more miss room, especially when missing left in the puddle.

The Marvel-S is one of the strongest symmetricals balls that Storm has ever made.

Brian Watson
Storm/RG Amateur Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by watson24@suddenlink.net


Storm Marvel-S Reviewed By: mr straight ball 10/26/2013 11:06 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    227
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5x.25 up
 
I was not going to put this ball in my bag as the Marvel™ I did not get to use a lot. The Marvel Pearl™ on the other hand, I cannot put it down! Storm’s Sales Manager presented a good case and told me to keep an open mind. He even told me how he wanted it drilled.

The first thing I noticed in my hand is that with the box finish, this ball was using up too much energy. If you don’t know anything about the Centripetal™ Core, it rolls heavy and it is continuous. And now sharing the NRG™ Solid Reactive cover (debuted on the Sync™) this ball is aggressive! This ball was just laughing at the oil so I knew in my hand this ball was going to come out anytime there is enough oil.

Well, I tried forcing the ball in my hand at times and then I used it on the PBA Scorpion shot. WOW! Despite the hard Brunswick Pro Lane Anvilane surface the ball was hooking through 43 foot pattern like a butter knife. It felt like a THS with the ability to miss wide and confident the ball would dance back.

The average bowler will use this ball to create a little room on the THS. The boomers will have to table this ball for the tighter patterns unless they shine it up. On the PBA tour they nicknamed this ball “Marvelous” so that tells you what the pros think of it. Liz Johnson grabbed a Marvel-S to win the Women’s US Open playing the out of bounds area.

COMMENTS
Great mid-lane read, strong hooking arc motion


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mr straight ball


Read all 30 reviews

Storm Marvel-S Bowling Balls 4.87 out of 5 based on 30 ratings. 30 user reviews.