Only show reviews for Ebonite Source

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.9Write a Review    Read all 10 reviews

I Love It
 
90% (9 of 10)
I Like It
 
10% (1 of 10)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 10)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 10)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 10)

Ebonite Source Reviewed By: Tomkroll@aol.com 03/05/2014 16:42 ( stars)


 
I love this bowling ball. I got it last March, I was at a 4 day bowling training camp and it included the Ebonite Pivot and the Source as part of the package. My house is in Hoffman Estates Illinois near Chicago. The house use to have a lot of oil so my primary equipment was the Pivot or my sanded Sync. This year they got a new Kegel oil machine and changed the pattery to Kegel Bourbon Street. The oil isn't as heavy as it use to be so now I start with the Source. This ball is very consistent and controllable in medium oil and has a great back end. I will take it to the USBC Open because I think it will be perfect for the last game in Singles and Doubles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Source Reviewed By: thefreeagent 01/10/2014 23:17 ( stars)


 
LANE CONDITION

Length: Multiple

Volume: N/A

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS, Sport shot.


COMMENTS

Drilling: I drilled my Source pin way up with the MB under the thumb and left box finish on it.
Likes: Where to start with this ball! This is by far the most angular ball since the Angular One. If there are any dry boards this ball is making an extreme motion on the back end. This ball is best suited for medium lanes with fresh back ends. This ball is less overall hook then the Pivot and Legacy but more backend movement then both. With the Mission core and a strong pearl cover this ball is sure to please!

Dislikes: The Source does not like tight backend it also can be a little much if the backends are too dry.

Ryan Pitman
Ebonite Amateur staff.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by thefreeagent


Ebonite Source Reviewed By: VegasFlutterbye 12/27/2013 13:22 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    95
 
I broke the bridge on my old ball and figured it was time for a new one, just in case. 3 different people told me that this is the ball i should go with so I went to a local proshop and bought it. (i do not buy my ball from my house proshop as the guy that drills has never looked at my hands and my thumb hole is never correct.) after it got drilled i bowled a game just to make sure that no adjustment were needed. keep in mind this ball is just out of the box and i am bowling on un-familiar lanes. With that in mind I threw a 138 for the first game with it. this delighted me as my average is 115 and the other factors mentioned above. I can't wait until my league starts up again after the 1st of the year to try it on lanes i am used to and see exactly what i can make it do. so far it seems as though i made a very good choice with this ball!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by VegasFlutterbye


Ebonite Source Reviewed By: ToolBoxESQ 10/25/2013 11:00 ( stars)


 
Ebonite Source
Layout: 5” X 4 1/16” to PAP
MB: 5 15/16” to PAP
Condition: 39’ THS
Ebonite Source Ball Specs:
- Color:Black/Purple
- Coverstock: XL2000 Pearl
- Core: Mission
- Factory Finish: 800, 1000, 2000 Abralon- Powerhouse Factory Finish Ball Polish
- Reaction: Length with Strong Backend Continuation
- Recommended Lane Condition: Any
- RG: 2.49**
- Differential: .050**
Good Day fellow bowling enthusiast it is your friendly neighborhood ToolBox, back to give some insight to the community. Today’s review is regarding the Ebonite Source; if you have notice that all the reviews that I give are based upon the same layout and varying the cover-stocks to give you an honest read on the ball from various aspects of the lane. The Source gives good length out of the box and very angular out of the box, almost too angular for my taste. With the lane conditions in the Houston area being on the medium to lighter side, for players that have lower rev rates and slower balls speeds this ball would be an ideal asset.
The cover is very versatile for players to change and create a different look. When I hit this ball with 4000 Abralon, no polish this ball definitely picked up about 5-7 feet sooner before hitting the breakpoint. When applying this grit to the surface it smoothed motion out, making more of an arcing move toward the pocket. Once the surface is right with this piece, your striking possibilities can be endless.
Remember to Bowl It Forward and run to your local pro shop and pre order the Ebonite Legacy. Thank you for your time once again, ToolBox Out!!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ToolBoxESQ


Ebonite Source Reviewed By: tazman1970 10/03/2013 08:39 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Sport Shot Average    170
Ball Speed    Medium
 
Ok got this ball last night before league. Really didn't have a choice my others didn't cure for my plug pitch . But wow what a great ball got drilled with pin over ring finger. This ball gains speed at like I never have seen. This my second ebonite in 3 weeks I'm kinda of becoming a fan. Really liking there stuff. Now to try on my sports on Monday hmm

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by tazman1970


Ebonite Source Reviewed By: RJA300 09/22/2013 20:02 ( stars)


 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 3 to 4
Starting Top Weight: 3.0
Ball Weight: 16

DRILL PATTERN
Pin to PAP: 4 inch pin ‘Vodoo’ drill

BOWLER STYLE: RH - Stroker – slightly speed dominant
Rev Rate: 280
Ball Speed: 17-18
PAP/Track: PAP: 4 11/16” and 7/8" up

SURFACE PREP
Box Finish

LANE CONDITION
House Shot – 42’

COMMENTS
The Source might be the best ball for league conditions I have ever tried. I used an unusual drilling, especially for someone with my style, but I tried this on a Challenge and was very pleased with the results, so I took a shot. The pin is about 5 and 5/8 inches above the center line of my grip. The CG is about 1 and ¼ inches to the right of the ring finger and the mass bias is an inch above my thumb hole at about a 2 o’clock position. There is also a weight hole about 3 inches further past the pin. I know this might sound crazy, but this ball strikes like crazy in league. I shot a 300 the second week with carry that bordered on amazing. If you are limited to one new ball for this league season, the Source just might be the one for you. I highly recommend that you get to an EBI Demo Days at a center near you to try this ball.

RJ Alman
Ebonite Regional/Amateur Staff




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RJA300


Ebonite Source Reviewed By: Tallsmooth1 09/17/2013 12:28 ( stars)


 
I have a Source drilled with a 4” pin, just under the ring finger and another with a 4 ½” tall pin and use both of them quite a bit on house conditions. What I like from the Source is that the cover is very clean, but the stronger Mission core gives it good mid-lane control. The Source isn’t a ball you can stand left and get back with a lot of angle, but what it does very well is clear the fronts and have a nice controllable motion. I actually like the surface touched with a 2000 Abralon pad to break some of the factory gloss which made it a bit touchy on fresh patterns. With the gloss taken off, it is a terrific first ball out on fresh, medium patterns. It also plays well on some of the sport patterns with a bit of friction where you don’t want to give up the pocket or have a ball with too much motion, but need something that gets through the mid-lane without too much aggression.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Tallsmooth1


Ebonite Source Reviewed By: Jim Lewis 09/14/2013 20:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    193
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 3/8 by 3/4 up
 
Ball Weight: 15
Layout: 80 by 2 5/8 by 30, no balance hole

Rev Rate: 320
Ball Speed: 16mph
PAP/Track: 5 3/8 by 3/4 up

Surface: 2000/polished

Oil patterns used: 35ft THS, 40ft WTBA Athens

Back End: moderate arc, the layout was intended to weaken the backend

Overall Hook: moderate hook

Midlane Read: delayed response through the midlane, the ball could be drilled far stronger than this layout

Breakpoint Shape: strong arc to flippy response on the broken down THS, layout was a bit too weak for the WTBA pattern with the box surface


Source coverstock gets considerable length prior to making the move. The layout on this ball was intended to delay the hook and be playable on broken down conditions or extreme wet/dry conditions. I would say the Source does perform well on the condition that it was drilled for. Anyone who enjoyed playing with the Innovate or Champion from the past season, or a shiny version of the Mission series will be pleased with the Source.


Jim Lewis
Sports Plus/Carmen Don Pro Shop
Ebonite Amateur Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Jim Lewis


Ebonite Source Reviewed By: Zio300 08/01/2013 16:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
This ball is awesome. It reminds me of the Mission 2.0, but with more pop to the backend. It's incredibly predictable and I have tried this on a typical house shot, WTBA Athens, and WTBA Tokyo. I was shocked to see it move on Tokyo being a 43 foot pattern and I kept this ball at box, 2000 polish, for all three. I've never been able to use a polish ball on long oil patterns before. This ball is just plain amazing, especially for that price. This is what my arsenal really needed.

Now for the technical stuff.
My axis tilt is 20 degrees, medium high rev rate, medium high speed,and axis rotation is about 45 degrees. My PAP is 5 1/8 over and 5/8 up. I used 55 x 5 1/4 x 34 (using Mo Pinel's dual angle). Basically, pin above fingers with Mass Bias kicked out about 1 3/4 inches from the center of grip line.

I am on Ebonite Advisory Staff.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Zio300


Read all 10 reviews

Ebonite Source Bowling Balls 4.90 out of 5 based on 10 ratings. 10 user reviews.