Only show reviews for Pyramid Dark Path Hybrid NEW ITEM

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.92Write a Review    Read all 12 reviews

I Love It
 
92% (11 of 12)
I Like It
 
8% (1 of 12)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 12)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 12)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 12)

Pyramid Dark Path Hybrid NEW ITEM Reviewed By: bowlingball.com Reviews by Tony Ruocco 11/18/2013 08:03 ( stars)

462 of 468 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
Down the Dark Path there is victory.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4 1/2"
Relation Weight Layout - 4 1/2" x 4 3/4" x 4"
Balance Hole - 1" x 2" on VAL from center of grip through cg

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (2000 grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
The Dark Path Hybrid incorporates the extremely popular SG 19.5 Asymmetric core from the Chosen Path series with the first ever and all new GPS Navigational Hybrid coverstock from Pyramid.

This ball should provide a smoother overall ball motion then the Chosen Path series with just as much power at the pins. I used a very similar layout
on this ball as I used on the Chosen Path. I expect to see the Dark Path read the pattern a little earlier with a smoother motion downlane.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
The Dark Path delivered on what it was supposed to do.

It was a good 5-6 boards smoother overall for me. While it provided a similar overall motion it was less and a little smoother then the Chosen Path. Off my hand the ball still cleared the heads with ease, picking up a little sooner then the Chosen did in the middle part of the lane. As it transitioned to the back the Dark Path still provided plenty of movement and a ton of hitting power.

The intent was to offer a Hybrid cover with a similar motion to the Chosen and not sacrifice any hitting power. This was definitely accomplished and whether you have thrown a Chosen Path or not, you will love the Dark Path Hybrid.

Pyramid...You're Going To Like Our Dark Side.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlingball.com Reviews by Tony Ruocco


Pyramid Dark Path Hybrid NEW ITEM Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 10/09/2013 17:04 ( stars)

28 of 31 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The new Dark Path will be released Oct 18 we will have in Shop that day.
I drilled one two weeks ago with 4 x 4 x 2 layout also added polish for medium oil. The reaction is what I needed in my arsenal length with strong move in the backend and it will come back from almost well you have a lot of free swing.

The Dark Path that I have has switch grip so that we can test ball reactions for other bowlers. The orders for the new Dark Path are piling up no matter how you roll this will be your new favorite ball.

If you have any questions about the new line from Pyramid e-mail our shop and we respond asap.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Pyramid Dark Path Hybrid NEW ITEM Reviewed By: ToddB 10/23/2013 04:53 ( stars)

21 of 23 people found this review helpful.


 
This ball keeps a smooth even arc and exceptional carry power when through with the out of the box cover.

My first week with it the Dark Path makes this my new go to ball. Shot 798 just three days after using it. Haven't been able to get the carry with any other ball so far this season. My prior high set was 744. The ten carries very well for me.

The smooth transition of the ball along with a strong roll on the back end gives me plenty of hook without the ball being too jumpy.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Pyramid Dark Path Hybrid NEW ITEM Reviewed By: CoachKelly 03/13/2014 11:20 ( stars)

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.


 
Bowler's Specs:
Weight: 15 lbs
Core: Asymmetric SG 19.5
Coverstock: GPS Navigational Hybrid
Surface: 2000 grit Abralon
PAP: 5 3/4” by 1/2” up
Ball Layout 4” pin up with a 55 degree MB
Extra Hole: 5 inches on VAL 1 x 1 1/8
Ball Reaction
Length: Ball is very clean through the front end.
Midlane: Reads the body of the lane (midlane)
Breakpoint: STRONG backend with continuous directional change

The Dark Path by Pyramid is the first hybrid reactive from Pyramid and it is a winner. This ball is a perfect combo to have in the bag along with the Chosen Path. I truly have never seen a ball roll so strong with over/under reaction.

This ball's performance is outstanding on medium to heavy conditions. What really shocked me that when I was bowling a tournament recently I had to move to a pair that everyone swears they forgot to oil. I immediately went to something weak and found everything to roll out or be too jumpy. After 5 frames I decided to go back to my Dark Path because it felt better on my hand. I left one 4 pin on my first ball moved left 3/2 and went off the sheet. Everyone on my pair was amazed as to why this ball was rolling so well. I really don't know why either, I just decided to order another two to have for a rainy day.

I finished up winning this tournament, qualified 1st by 10 pins and it was because of the dry pair. Everyone else was averaging 165 on that pair, not me. :)

Outstanding ball and easily maintained.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Pyramid Dark Path Hybrid NEW ITEM Reviewed By: strike them down 11/14/2013 10:28 ( stars)

20 of 22 people found this review helpful.


 
Bought this ball about week ago had it drilled and shot a 706 series right out the box. No mater how far I threw this ball out on the lane it came back very aggressive and smooth. This ball gave me ability to read the lane early and adjust to the conditions with no problem. I would suggest this ball to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Pyramid Dark Path Hybrid NEW ITEM Reviewed By: JalenHarris 11/11/2013 16:00 ( stars)

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.


 
Hands down the most consistent ball I have ever owned. Smooth and strong. This was the best investment I ever made in a bowling ball.

Looks cool too and I like the name, which are added bonuses.

Oil is no longer a problem and I can make this ball hook a ton or stroke it down the lane. It responds very well to changes I make with my hand and ball speed.

It is a keeper.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Pyramid Dark Path Hybrid NEW ITEM Reviewed By: ejgreubel 12/08/2013 18:13 ( stars)

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Won this ball in the tag contest. Hoped my throwing shoulder would have healed up sufficiently to do an accurate assessment but has not.
Had this ball left in OOB with the 4X4X2 drilling. When I do throw it well it has a great movement to the pocket. It's been actually very versatile as I can actually flatten this ball out and pick up 10 pins. I was very impressed with the drilling on the ball done by bowlingball.com It fits fantastic. I would like to revisit my review later as my arm gets healed. But what I can say is this ball is really good for it's value. I will definitely be revisiting Pyramid in the future.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Pyramid Dark Path Hybrid NEW ITEM Reviewed By: kennyModestey 12/07/2013 10:03 ( stars)

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


 
Great ball with a very strong roll through the mid lane. Talked the wife into giving me my Christmas present early. It has already more than paid for itself. Won over $250 in brackets since getting this ball.

I am watching others struggle with carry while I string strikes.

Don't know the magic behind this ball but it certainly is unique and I have thrown about every new ball by ever major brand out there.

This is my out of bag ball. Thanks Pyramid.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Pyramid Dark Path Hybrid NEW ITEM Reviewed By: GregNusson 11/02/2013 05:02 ( stars)

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.


 
I found the Dark Path to hook a lot regardless of the conditions yet not too much or too jumpy. Smooth roll makes this a great ball for reading the lanes.

I love this ball especially on heavy to medium heavy oil. Just awesome and great carry.

It works great with my two handed style while most ball just jump too much on the backend.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 12 reviews

Pyramid Dark Path Hybrid NEW ITEM Bowling Balls 4.92 out of 5 based on 12 ratings. 12 user reviews.