Only show reviews for Storm Freak'n Frantic 11 Only

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.87Write a Review    Read all 23 reviews

I Love It
 
87% (20 of 23)
I Like It
 
13% (3 of 23)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 23)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 23)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 23)

Storm Freak'n Frantic 11 Only Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 05/20/2013 17:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Storm Freak'n Frantic will be your new ball for most house patterns.
The R2S Pearl cover is clean through the front with a strong move in the backend.

If you need a ball for summer to try out this will be the one.Our Shop have a hard time keeping them on the shelf.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Freak'n Frantic 11 Only Reviewed By: StoRoto2013 05/29/2013 08:52 ( stars)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 5/8 over 3/4 up
 
I am very impressed with the versatility of the Freak’n Frantic! I have used the Freak’n Frantic on patterns where I played out and on patterns where I am playing the 4th arrow. The pearlized cover and medium ball speed (15mph) and my 300 rev rate is a pretty good match as long as the oil volume is on the medium side. The layout that I used for the Freak’n Frantic is pin over the fingers and an X-Hole 1 inch past my axis. The coordinates are 65 X 5 ½ X 45 for the dual angle guys! My axis point is 5 5/8 over and ¾ up and I am a more up the back of the ball bowler so I do not have a lot of tilt. I did not like the original Frantic at all from the ball motion to the colors not a good combo BUT the Freak’n Frantic is a beast! I would recommend this ball to anyone that is looking for a versatile ball!

I used the Freak’n Frantic on numerous patterns with success. I practiced with it on a house pattern and as long as I got it projected to the right the ball was money. The Freak’n Frantic provided enough length with more than enough backend motion. The only issue I had with Freak’n Frantic on a THS is that the cover had to be lightly hand scuffed with a 2000 pad to really open up the lane. I also bowled with it on a tournament condition where I had to the play the gutter and the ball made it look like a house pattern. The Freak’n Frantic mellowed out the over under and was consistent off the spot even for a pearlized ball. I also used the Freak’n Frantic on several medium volume and medium length sport shots and again provided a consistent reaction. I am very impressed by the Freak’n Frantic and if you are looking for a pearlized piece to go into your bag…. You do not have to look any farther.


Dan Schaden Jr
Storm/Roto Grip Staff
Vise Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by StoRoto2013


Storm Freak'n Frantic 11 Only Reviewed By: StormSteve 05/27/2013 18:53 ( stars)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


 
Freak’n Frantic
PAP - 4 3/16 over 1/4 up
Ball Speed 17-18 mph
Rev Rate 300-350
Right Handed
Layout 33 x 4.5 x 33
Surface Preparation: OOB

What I was looking for: I really wanted to take advantage of the pearl and get the ball really clean through the heads and react far down the lane.

What I got: I got exactly what I wanted out of this ball. It gets through the heads like a dream and gets really far down the lane, then it flies! It is a great ball for playing the track area on house shots and medium volume sport shots. When you need something to get down the lane this is a great ball to do so.

This ball paired with my Lights Out or the original Frantic is a great combo. The Lights out and this hook about the same amount from my experience but the Lights Out hooks just a little sooner, due to the Hybrid vs the Pearl.

I was looking for a ball to replace the Bandit, a ball that I just couldn’t seem to give up. This ball does just that and then some.

I also like the subtle sour apple scent and the Incredible Hulk colors.

Steven Fagan
Storm Pro Shop Staff
Lexington, KY


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by StormSteve


Storm Freak'n Frantic 11 Only Reviewed By: PJ Haggerty 05/23/2013 16:46 ( stars)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


 
Storm Freak’n Frantic Ball Review

After big a big fan of the Frantic, it was going to be hard to not be a bigger fan of the Freak’n Frantic. Within the first three weeks of throwing this puppy down the lane, I have had (3) 800 series and (3) 300’s. The one I drilled is 5 x 4 with a mid-size hole 2 inches under my pap. That drilling gives me a great read on how the lanes are playing and in which direction I should go in my arsenal. Because this core tends to roll heavier for me, I didn’t touch the surface out of the box. Recently, at a tournament in Orlando, the shape looked great but I needed it to read the mid-lane a hair sooner. I lightly scuffed the surface with 1000 pad and it suddenly rolled just like the original Frantic.

If you had drilled a Frantic, liked the motion, but need something that’s two or three feet cleaner down lane with a quicker response time, I would definitely drill a Freak’n Frantic. I feel like this ball can be used on multiple lane conditions because of its stable core. It’s not as early as some of the stronger, asymmetrical balls and is not as weak as a Lights Out or Tropical Breeze. This is definitely a great addition to the “Hot” line and should be a great fit for many types of players.

If you have any questions, feel free to shoot me an email at PJ.Haggerty@yahoo.com

For more information, visit Stormbowling.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by PJ Haggerty


Storm Freak'n Frantic 11 Only Reviewed By: im4pats54 05/04/2013 12:12 ( stars)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    241
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Used the Motion layout from Mo Pinel, pin over the ring finger and mass bias in the thumb. This layout without the weight hole had the ball go fairly long and it just wasn’t strong enough to turn the corner. I added the weight hole (10” from pin on bottom of ball) and the ball went a little longer but turned the corner MUCH harder. This layout is incredible when you have someone looking for that added backend. The FNF is much stronger than the original Frantic, but harder to read at the breakpoint. Compared to the Fringe, it goes a little longer, turns the corner harder, and retains the energy needed to carry that the Fringe wouldn’t do. Great piece for the bowler looking for that skid/ flip reaction and not trying to spend a lot of money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by im4pats54


Storm Freak'n Frantic 11 Only Reviewed By: bowlermatt321 01/04/2014 19:03 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    175
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
The Freak'n Frantic is a great ball on both dry and medium house patterns. I used to throw the Tropical Heat before I got this ball and it has made a world of difference throwing this ball. I drilled the ball with the pin under the ring finger and the CG kicked out to the right between 4 and 5 o'clock; this allowed the ball to skid easily threw the heads and give me a strong break point around boards 7 and 8. I have never hit the pocket more times with the consistency and reliability that this ball has. Don't waist your money on a higher end ball because you will see similar results with the Freak'n Frantic

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Freak'n Frantic 11 Only Reviewed By: J DE 10/27/2013 19:28 ( stars)


 
oob 245-300-233

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Freak'n Frantic 11 Only Reviewed By: sudoCrushMS 08/28/2013 17:10 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4.5R x 1/8U
 
I bought this ball for the occasions that I get to the extreme inside part of the lane and my other equipment runs out of energy or angle, so I wanted it to go long and turn sideways at the breakpoint while retaining enough energy to carry. This ball did exactly what I wanted it to, it was beautifully clean through 3/4 of the lane, then flipped into the pocket. The ball motion I got was expected, the energy downlane and carry was a surprise. I took it to a house with a lower volume pattern that I could torch in an hour or so and would need to move way left on. Switched to this ball and got exactly what I wanted plus quite a bit of extra. I had to move right a little bit switching from my Marvel-S, and it really started to bite at the breakpoint. I slowly chased the shot in and was very surprised by the result: when the line starts to burn up, it rolls too early and burns up, but when you make small moves further into fresh head oil it comes screaming back off the breakpoint (apparently flat-10 + 2-1 move left = stone-9...). I have found since then that it got better after 20 games or so, it was rolling just a little earlier than I wanted it to, and soaking up some oil got it through the heads a lot better. Mine is drilled with the pin above and right of the ring finger and the CG directly below it. The only problem with this ball is that is does not handle oil in the back of the lanes well, it will just die at the breakpoint. So if the oil carries down bad, leave it in your bag.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by sudoCrushMS


Storm Freak'n Frantic 11 Only Reviewed By: jfvstorm5 08/20/2013 10:13 ( stars)


 
Coverstock: R2S™ Pearl Reactive
Weight Block: N.O.S.™ Core
Light Weight Block: Modified Centripetal™ Core
Factory Finish: 1500-grit Polished
Ball Color: Lime/Violet
Durometer: 74-76 Rex D-scale
Flare Potential: 4” - 5” (Medium-High)
Fragrance: Freak’n Apple
Weight: 15 lbs.  RG: 2.53   Diff. 0.045
Layout: 55/4 3/4/45
PAP: 4-> 3/4^
Bowling hand: Left
        I have been loving this Freak'n Frantic soo far! I have always gotten a little more roll from the hot line over the thunder line. I was a huge fan of the Frantic, and i would use that ball if a Hyroad, or any other road line ball was a little over under, because it got down the lane too clean. With this new Freak'n Frantic, and the use of the N.O.S. core from the Frantic, I don't get too much length, I just get a lot stronger recovery than the Frantic. I have tested this ball out on a few different house shots, and a few medium sport shots, and I get this ball to recover off anything. This is definitely a must have ball for when you need to play a deeper inside line, and you need a stronger reaction through the carry down in order to carry, but not have your ball burn up too quickly. Another great thing about this ball is the amount of reaction you see, for not so high of a price! The Freak'n Frantic may only be in Storms Hot Line... but it will give you just as much reaction as someone elses High Performance line pearl ball.
This is a great ball to have in ones arsenal, and what is so great about it having a Storm logo on it, is it is extremely versatile, meaning whoever may be reading this, weather you throw the ball 18 mph, or 14 mph, have a 500 rev rate, or a 210 rev rate, can all throw this ball. That means you skhould put one in your bag.
Julian Valdaro
Storm Staff
The Right Approach Pro Shop
East Islip, NY
     


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jfvstorm5


Read all 23 reviews

Storm Freak'n Frantic 11 Only Bowling Balls 4.87 out of 5 based on 23 ratings. 23 user reviews.