Only show reviews for Brunswick Ringer

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.9Write a Review    Read all 10 reviews

I Love It
 
90% (9 of 10)
I Like It
 
10% (1 of 10)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 10)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 10)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 10)

Brunswick Ringer Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 01/18/2013 16:05 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
The all new Ringer from Brunswick.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/8"
Dual Angle Layout - (Rico Layout) 50* x 5 1/8" x *90
Balance Hole - 6 3/4" from pin through cg (1" x 2")

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500 Siaair, Rough Buff, High Gloss Polish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I don't know what got into me but when I pulled the Ringer out of the box, it hit me, this ball needs to be drilled with the Rico layout. I think I liked the fact that it would be the Ruocco Rico Ringer, sounds nice :)

Anyway, I had no clue what to expect. It had been years since I used this layout and I knew that this was a new ball motion from Brunswick, with hopes to replace the Karma series eventually. Lets see.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I think I remember throwing a Karma solid and I am pretty sure I did not like it as much as I like this ball. I am pretty sure this thing would out hook balls at price points and performance levels well above it.

It was not just me all of our testers immediately fell in love with this ball reaction. We all had it way stronger then we expected and it was a very pleasant and welcomed surprise. As for mine specifically, the video shows you exactly what I thought. I had the entire right side of the lane with this balls. I could tug it and it would hold, I could miss by an arrow and it would come screaming off the break point.

Literally I could do anything with this ball and it came back with authority every time. I hope you dont judge this ball by the price point because it could be one of the best Brunswick balls to hit the lanes this year.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Ringer Reviewed By: mireally 10/03/2013 01:11 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    171
Sport Shot Average    164
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I a lefty and ordered the Ringer as a replacement for my Brunswick Sidewinder.

I opted for a different layout from my other three balls consistent with the spec the ball came with (15lbs 5oz, 2-3" Pin and 2.5oz of top weight). The drilling laid out such that the pin was centered above and between both finger holes.

My first reaction when I threw the ringer for the first time was OMG! The ball went straight and long and then turned hard - not skid/flip, but a real hard arc. Hitting power was superb and carry was outstanding.

The thing I did learn with the Ringer is, for me at least, slower ball speed with a slower rev rate (225-250RPM) equals an outstanding reaction on a 40ft Typical House Shot. If I threw it too fast 16+ mph then the ball would flag the head pin. Keeping it on either side of 15MPH seems to be the optimal speed matched to my rev rate. So I would say you need to have your revs and ball speed match (i.e. low/low, med/med, or high/high).

You may have to learn to make small adjustments to pick up the 5, 8, 9, and 10 pin, because the ball is so strong on the dry it hooks past the pins on a shot that would convert with my other three balls.

In my opinion, the Ringer may end up being one of the best balls Brunswick has made at this price point given its performance.

You will be hard pressed to find a better ball for the price than the Ringer.

So if you're looking for a ball that goes longer, and then turns hard when it hits friction, and that has excellent hitting power and pin carry, then this is a must-have ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mireally


Brunswick Ringer Reviewed By: Spencer Watts 03/12/2014 10:16 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5.75, .125 down
 
I've finally entered into the 21st century with my bowling equipment, and the Ringer is that first piece. (You have to understand that I'd been away from bowling for 18 years, from 1996 until January of this year. And prior to last night, I'd been practicing with pieces like an original dull finished Blue Hammer, a dull finished Burgundy Hammer, a Track Sensor II, a Columbia Pearl Gold Dot and a Track NRg.)

So far, I have no complaints about the Ringer. I had a far more consistent ball motion and finish than the other pieces -- and probably for good reason since the technology in this ball matches up better with the oil patterns of the current bowling era. (In other words, I also didn't have to work as hard.) Now I'm looking forward to complement this ball with the Platinum Pearl version that's offered by the manufacturer.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Spencer Watts


Brunswick Ringer Reviewed By: djn 03/26/2013 15:42 ( stars)


 
what a great ball for dry lanes must have in your inventory, long and smooth through the front and mid lane and very snappy at the back end and hits solid. i have the nexxus pearl,versi max,damage and now this one and i carry 195 average in league play.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Ringer Reviewed By: R.J.B. 03/20/2013 15:04 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
The Ringer and the Versa max are a great one two punch for me. Being a senior bowler I recently switched to 14 lb. balls because I was rev dominant and need a little more ball speed.Since making the change and using these two balls I have been in the 700's quite a lot. When the Versa max gets me into the ball returns and sometimes isn't carrying that day leaving too many flat 10's I grab the Ringer usually moving back to the right and BOOM back on the strike train. It's added length and smooth continuous back-end our just as advertised and I'm back caring the 10 pin. Thanks to these balls I feel in 800 series is possible where I didn't think I could have before.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Ringer Reviewed By: DaBoss300 03/18/2013 11:07 ( stars)


 
Ball Roll - From the very first time I threw this ball I knew it was going to be a special ball! I was a little worried about this ball being a little to clean for me because of my lower track and higher ball speed. I went with the philosophy of drilling the weaker balls strong to all the shell of the ball to project the ball down lane to conserve it’s energy. This ball is probably the biggest surprise out of the three new balls. The ball got down the lane super easy and made a very controllable and predictable backend reaction. I was a little surprised that with this layout the backend reaction was as flippy as it is.

I’ve thrown this ball on anything from our THS to the PBA Cheetah pattern on old wood lanes with Lane Shield over the top. On the THS pattern I was able to get this ball to work because of the amount of backend this ball provides. It was a little longer than I like to see, but a simple move close to the gutter cured that problem. On the PBA Cheetah pattern, which is where I really wanted to use this ball, it was a little to clean and angular off the fresh! Once the oil started to carry down I was able to go to the Ringer and throw it towards the gutter and have the confidence the ball get far enough down the lane and get back.

What I compared this ball to - I compared this ball to my Karma Pearl (Pink/Purple). I found the Ringer to be cleaner and longer than the Karma Pearl with a more continuous and angular backend. I can’t wait to get another Ringer and drill it pin up!

Strengths: PRICE! This is a heck of a ball for the price! Pearl cover stock allows the ball to be the cleanest ball in the Brunswick line. Another strength of this ball is the controllability of this ball, as this give me even more confidence.

Weakness: Only stating the obvious as this ball does not perform well on longer/heavier oil patterns

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.

Jason Jones
Brunswick Staff
Bloomington, IL


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by DaBoss300


Brunswick Ringer Reviewed By: normn3116@gmail.com 03/05/2013 11:03 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    234
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I think this might be the ball that puts Brunswick back on the mid-price map!

I got this drilled up pin down, stacked leverage. With the high gloss finish, it cleans the heads easy. Downlane, however, it picks up a nice roll midlane (on a THS) about 35-40 feet, and has a sharp, strong, yet controllable move on the backend. The last 2 sessions, I've been 740 and 815, with my first 300 game!

The symmetric core allows you to play with your release and get the reaction shape you're looking for.

Perhaps the biggest attribute about this ball is its forgiveness. I've thrown a good many pieces, and there have been very few that react off the dry quite like this. I miss left, it comes roaring back. I miss right, it floats in the oil, turns over, and still hits hard.

In sum, I think this is a very versatile piece that would have a pretty unique place in a bowler's bag. You won't be disappointed.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Ringer Reviewed By: brunswick802 02/02/2013 22:35 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    205-210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8" right
 
Bowler’s Stats:
Right handed
18.5 mph
450 rpm
7 degree tilt
35-45 degree rotation

Layout:
50 by 5.5” by 50
No hole
OOB surface

Purpose:
It’s finally happened! I think I speak for the masses when I say that we were waiting for the same technology used in high performance balls to be used at the lower end of the price scale. Before even throwing it, I know I have in my hand a high performance ball at a great price. The same chemical friction technology used to create covers in Brunswick’s higher performance categories is now available in the Ringer. I struggle late in tournaments when the pattern is blown to bits and people start getting wayyyy inside and possibly start lofting the gutter. With my rev rate and tilt (or lack of tilt I should say) I need a ball to go really long and still pop off the spot so I can play right as long as possible. Hence, I went with the weaker layout to help aid in that.

On the lanes:
My 39’ medium volume house shot was absolutely no match for the Ringer. I saw incredibly easy length through the heads and midlane before an angular move to the pocket. I started the day crossing 15 at the arrows out to a breakpoint of 5-6-7. Although the ball looked great on the fresh, the reaction became untouchable as the practice session wore on. Once a bit more friction was created, I could pipe it up the track area or jump in and really hit on it at the bottom and send the pins flying either way. While moving in and ripping on it after some burn was created, it was unfair how much miss room it gave me. Shots sent seemingly out to no-man’s land scrapped and came up dead flush. Most importantly, shots pulled into the puddle of oil in the middle weren’t squeamish to the lack of friction and would still face up enough to send all 10 straight back. Compared to the Meanstreak on the fresh, the Ringer for me needs a 2 board move outside with my feet but I can throw it to the same spot downlane if not a board outside (keep in mind my Meanstreak is drilled with similar angles but about 1” stronger pin placement). My Ringer pushes further past the start of the friction (about a foot or two) than the Meanstreak before making its move back to the pocket. However, when the pattern becomes more burnt up, the Ringer will hook the same about of boards as the Meanstreak but it will actually push downlane and still give a big backend move whereas the Meanstreak might begin starting its motion sooner and lose energy. Now when the Meanstreak becomes a bit too much ball or starts a little too early, I know I can automatically jump into the Ringer, stand in the same place, target the same spot, and be very close to being perfectly lined up without any guessing games. Except for bowling on a very long and heavy pattern, this ball is not going to be scarred to hook up to the pocket. Some weak balls have to have a ton of friction to strut their stuff. Not this ball! The Chemical Projection Technology cover lets the Ringer get really get downlane before the cover grabs hold for a consistently angular backend.

Overall thoughts:
I predict this ball is really going to save me some pins when I have to get deep in long tournaments. I know the cover will let me throw a comfortable shot and still consistently check up where I want it to without me having to force it through the fronts. The Ringer adds the weaker half of a 1-2 punch with the Meansteak. Tom Smallwood said it best in Brunswick’s Video: The Ringer doesn’t hydroplane past the breakpoint and actually reads the proper spot downlane. Combine that with the fact that Brunswick has put their latest and greatest chemical coverstock technologies into a ball in a lower price point and you have a ball that should be a no-brainer to add to your bag.

Good luck and good bowling!

Jared Wolf
Jonesboro, AR
Brunswick Advisory Staff
The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by brunswick802


Brunswick Ringer Reviewed By: baer300 01/27/2013 21:06 ( stars)


 


The Ringer is the newest release into the Affordable Performace line. Well let me tell you what. This ball is alot of bang for the buck. Very clean and a lot of motion down lane. This ball is best used when the lanes breakdown and you need a ball to get through the fronts. A few weeks ago in a tournament after a lot of bowling the lanes were on fire. Usually I am forced to start lofting over the gutter. When I went to this ball I did not have to. It blew through the front and gave me plenty of backend flip with great continuation through the pins.

I have one drilled 70x5x40 which is one of my favorite layouts. This provides me the the cleanest most angular motion I have ever seen from a Brunswick ball. When compared to a similar drilled Karma Pearl the Ringer is a about a foot longer and more motion down lane.

My second one is drilled 65x2.75x40. I drilled this ball for the shorter patterns and haven't been able to use it yet. I threw it a few shots just to see what it did. Is still as clean but smoother. I will probably add a little surface to this just to get it a little smoother yet.

When looking for a ball that is super clean and plenty of backend motion look no further. This will be great for the tournament bowler for the late games of a block and for drier house shots.


Adam Baer
Brunswick Regional Staff
Vise Staff

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by baer300


Read all 10 reviews

Brunswick Ringer Bowling Balls 4.90 out of 5 based on 10 ratings. 10 user reviews.