Only show reviews for Columbia 300 Enigma

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.5Write a Review    Read all 8 reviews

I Love It
 
62% (5 of 8)
I Like It
 
25% (2 of 8)
It's Ok
 
12% (1 of 8)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 8)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 8)

Columbia 300 Enigma Reviewed By: eienigma0407 06/15/2013 23:38 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I love this bowling ball. It drives through the pocket nice, and flips really nice when it hits dry. Very strong. I would reccomend this to all my friends. Way to Columbia 300!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Enigma Reviewed By: Lefty Nick 02/08/2014 18:57 ( stars)


 
Lefty - Tweener - 204 Average

What a ball. I would recommend this ball to anyone who throws a low rev style of shot and is looking for something to start a night off with. Hits hard, forgiving in the oil, but not when you get it outside it will come back either too hard or at too steep of an angle to carry.

If you put some revs on the ball, I would say that this could work for you with some surface prep.

As for the reaction I would say the encounter core, listed as Asymmetric acts more like a symmetric style core. Goes down and has a nice even hook to the pocket... granted if you put some fingers in it and swing it out there it will come ripping back with a strong continuous hook.

May purchase another before Columbia discontinues.

These comments are brought to you by an average bowler who has not affiliations to any bowling company.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Lefty Nick


Columbia 300 Enigma Reviewed By: DJC 06/30/2013 10:03 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I have owned this ball 4 months and I have had very mixed results with it. It was good out of the box but shortly after I got unpredictable ball reaction and that's not good for good consistent scoring. The cover stock is versatile as you can polish it or sand to higher or lower grit. I did everything imaginable to the cover stock but still got inconsistent results as this ball lived up to its name it was a total "Enigma".

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by DJC


Columbia 300 Enigma Reviewed By: sdr7984@yahoo.com 03/11/2013 22:31 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
Sport Shot Average    178
 
Love this ball! It is too much hook for the average house shot. I am very excited to use this ball on a sport pattern at the next tournament but for now it is more ball than I have ever had in my bag.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Enigma Reviewed By: jake_washington 03/04/2013 13:59 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Axis Point- 5-3/4 over, 9/16 up
Layout- 70X65 with a 5-7/8 inch pin

The Enigma has the Encounter weight block that was used in the Dark Encounter and Wicked Encounter, combined with the new TFT(total friction technology) coverstock to deliver a strong mid-lane roll that is continuous down the lane. This ball was designed to combat the heaviest oil. The box finish for the Enigma is cut with 800 abranet and finished off at a 1500 abranet soft surface.
I drilled my Enigma with the expectations of using it mainly for heavier oiled conditions. I placed the pin below my right finger. I have used the Enigma on multiple longer patterns ranging from 42’-45’, and this ball doesn’t disappoint. The Enigma reads through the oil very well, but still provides enough reaction on the backend to drive through the pins. The Enigma has provided me with added confidence to play heavy oil.
Overall, I’m impressed with how well the Enigma has performed on heavy oil, and I believe this ball would suit any bowler looking for success on heavier/longer oil.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jake_washington


Columbia 300 Enigma Reviewed By: laffey19 02/08/2013 12:39 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4.5 x 1/2
 
Great ball for lower rev players and strokers that see a big puddle in the middle of the lane on their normal house shot by leaving the cover out of the box or even adding surface. Also tweeners and high rev players who may run into an extremely wet pattern will find this ball helpful. By shining the surface or taking down to a 4000 grit the ball becomes more versatile for the higher rev bowler. This ball is going to give you hook guaranteed. The motion is a smoother continuation down lane and definitely packs a punch going through the pins.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by laffey19


Columbia 300 Enigma Reviewed By: C300FTW 02/07/2013 18:56 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4.5 over, 1/2 up
 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length:3-4 in.
Starting Top Weight:3.25 oz.
Ball Weight:15 lbs 3 oz.

DRILL PATTERN
Pin 2 inches from pap (next to ring finger) and MB next to the thumb
X Hole (if there is one): P4 position

BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: About 350 rpm
Ball Speed: 17 mph off the hand

PAP/Track: 4 1/4" right, 0 up/down

SURFACE PREP
Grit: OOB
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): OOB

LANE CONDITION
Length:39 ft. And 43 ft.

Volume: unknown
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS
Breakpoint Shape: strong arc

COMMENTS
Likes: This ball is hooks a lot. If you are having trouble on heavy oil, this ball is what you need. On the fresh the ball can recover from almost any miss.
Dislikes: THis ball needs oil and a lot of it. Loses energy way too early on the burn.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by C300FTW


Columbia 300 Enigma Reviewed By: bobby71114 01/11/2013 11:48 ( stars)


 
Right Handed
400 RPM
Stacked: pin by ring finger
61/64 hole

Ball is definitely strong. Strongest I have thrown. Stronger than the Wicked Encounter. Will be great for high volume patterns. Will be a great ball for the fresh which is where I have problems. Ball is still smoothe and continues through the pin deck. Hooks more than any ball on the market JMO. If your looking for a ball for longer patterns than this is definitely the ball to have. Clears the heads pretty good as well. Was able to use it on a burnt house shot around 5th arrow after league. Great color scheme as well. Bugsy definitely hit it out of the park on this one.

Bobby Walters Jr
C300


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bobby71114


Read all 8 reviews

Columbia 300 Enigma Bowling Balls 4.50 out of 5 based on 8 ratings. 8 user reviews.