Only show reviews for Roto Grip Wrecker

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.89Write a Review    Read all 36 reviews

I Love It
 
89% (32 of 36)
I Like It
 
11% (4 of 36)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 36)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 36)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 36)

Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 12/18/2012 10:07 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
Some avoid obstacles. I leave a trail of rubble. The Roto Grip Wrecker.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4"
PSA Layout - 4" x 4" x 2 3/4"
Balance Hole - on VAL (7/8" x 2")

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 grit polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I was kind of in between with the Shatter release. I could tell it was a good ball but it was never what I needed when I tried to use it.

I went with a stronger layout on the Wrecker to see if I could get it to recover a little more for me down lane and hopefully use it when i was forced right on the lane. I am expecting to see a lot of length with a really strong look down lane and a good strong continuous motion into the pins.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Oh man, I really liked this ball. From the way it looked going down the lane to the ball reaction everything was good with the Wrecker.

It did exactly what I wanted and let me play a little further right and open up that side of the lane. I was able to get this ball down the lane with ease and watch it pick up a really good roll and go left off the point.

All in all I definitely threw more strikes with this ball then any others we tested that night. Compared to the Shatter I saw a much better motion down lane and overall more hook then the Shatter.

I think this will suit all bowler styles well and work on a variety of patterns. I think with the right layout and the right condition you will
love what the Wrecker has to offer.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 12/18/2012 10:59 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    6 3/16 x 1/2 down
 
Pin to PAP(6 3/16" over 1/2" down) - 5"
PSA Layout - 5" x 5" x 2 1/2"

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 Grit Polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:

If you've read any of my other reviews, you know I love hybrids. I like the combination of pearl and solid for its tendency to have good length with a controllable backend reaction. That's exactly what I was wanting from the Wrecker on medium-dry conditions.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:

Roto Grip hit the mark on this one. The Wrecker is going to be a short oil destroyer! It's got good length and a smooth backend reaction like I was looking for. I think if you were to take the surface to 2000 with no polish, you would have a great bowling ball for medium oil patterns after the oil carries down. I loved the Shatter as well so now I know that the Neutron core is a real winner. Don't sleep on the Wrecker!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 01/15/2013 16:19 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Roto Grip Wrecker is the new Hybrid that will give you more control.
Wrecker will give you length with a smooth roll in the backend. Great ball for med-dry lanes we all need this ball for the lanes that break down and there is not enough room the move get your Wrecker out and control the lanes.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: cakiyak@gmail.com 11/04/2013 13:08 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    175
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
It seems like most reviewers are bowlers with higher revs. I'm not. I'm a lower rev player who loves this ball. In my opinion, this is the go to ball for drier houses, the late league, or even as a complement when the oil pattern breaks down. As someone who is not a power player, I will struggle with this ball when the lanes are fresh.

This ball has very good length and it hits hard. When the lanes are dry enough for this ball, the carry is excellent. A well placed pocket shot will rarely leave 7 or a 10 (I'm a right hander who usually plays boards 6-10 and typically throws around 15.5-17.5 mph).

I've thrown about 300 games on it, and it still performs well. I'll likely buy another and stock it away for when I can't resurface this one anymore.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: daniel.schaden@beconet.com 04/09/2013 10:41 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 5/8 over 3/4 up
 
The Roto Grip Wrecker works well for me when the lanes are blended and I need a ball to recover. The Wrecker and the Shatter are very similar for me. The only difference is that the Wrecker is about 3 to 4 boards stronger especially in the mid lane. I changed the cover on the Wrecker to 2000 and on a house pattern I had everything hold and push and recovery!
I drilled the Wrecker 45 X 5 ΒΌ X 75 or basically pin slightly under ring finger with cg kicked out with a balance hole on my VAL. I changed the surface to 2000 and that made this ball a keeper. My lower rev rate (300) and my style more of a tweener and not a lot of axis tilt the polish for me leads to a lot of over/under. The most success that I found with the Wrecker is on the lower volume sports/PBA patterns that have you play to the right and then migrate left like the Viper, Cheetah, and or Kegel patterns that range in the mid to higher 30 foot length. The Wrecker is a medium strength bowling ball that generates length with a powerful backend motion!


Dan Schaden Jr
Storm/Roto Grip Staff
Vise Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by daniel.schaden@beconet.com


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: Housequake 04/21/2014 05:15 ( stars)


 
The Wrecker is probably the best ball in the market. The price of the Wrecker and performance makes it an elite bowling ball. You can spend more money on a bowling ball, but if you undecided about your next purchase, you cannot go wrong with the Wrecker.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Housequake


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: james.rozelle@med.navy.mil 01/10/2014 10:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    158
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2
 
Thought I would try a less aggressive ball for when the local house lanes start to dry out. The WRECKER allowed me to make a very small adjustment with my track and still get a hard hit into the pocket. It really surprised me how much longer it is, but I can still come down the 7-10 board, get back to the pocket, and WRECK 'EM...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by james.rozelle@med.navy.mil


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: james.rozelle@med.navy.mil 01/10/2014 10:36 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    158
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2
 
Thought I would try a less aggressive ball for when the local house lanes start to dry out. The WRECKER allowed me to make a very small adjustment with my track and still get a hard hit into the pocket. It really surprised me how much longer it is, but I can still come down the 7-10 board, get back to the pocket, and WRECK 'EM...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by james.rozelle@med.navy.mil


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: jrdiveman@msn.com 01/07/2014 14:10 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    198
Sport Shot Average    181
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/4 up
 
I Purchased this ball for my son. He is a high school bowler and bowls in at least three leagues during the bowling season.He is very versatial in his game and can throw both one or two handed. He has several balls in his aresanal Marvel S, IQ tour pearl a Lucid ,Mutant Cell Pearl and a Shooting Star. The house shot he mostly plays is a 41 ft Stonewall pattern. He wanted this ball for a two handed shot,well he was pleasantly surprised! This ball was way stronger than he expected it to be with really angular back end motion at the end of the pattern.Its just a monster in his bag!!! Roto Grip has another winner ,great ball great price!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jrdiveman@msn.com


Read all 36 reviews

Roto Grip Wrecker Bowling Balls 4.89 out of 5 based on 36 ratings. 36 user reviews.