Only show reviews for Pyramid Chosen Path Orange/Smoke

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.91Write a Review    Read all 11 reviews

I Love It
 
91% (10 of 11)
I Like It
 
9% (1 of 11)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 11)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 11)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 11)

Pyramid Chosen Path Orange/Smoke Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 02/19/2013 13:26 ( stars)

209 of 218 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
Your Path Is Chosen...Are You Ready?

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 3/4"
Relation Weight Layout - 5 3/4" x 3 3/4" x 3"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (2000 grit Matte)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I have been testing this ball since Pyramid first designed it. I had the luxury of throwing quite a few of the balls with many different layouts. This is the only Orange/Smoke Chosen Path in my bag right now. This ball has had plenty of games on it as I find it to give me a really good ball motion on a typical house pattern.

This layout was intended to produce a good amount of skid off my hand with a really angular move down lane. I have not tried changing the surface of this ball at all because at the 2000 grit finish I get that perfect mix of skid but not too far where I get dragged to a part of the lane I don't want to be in.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Even though the Orange/Smoke is identical to the Hot Pink/Acid Lime Chosen Path, it is not hard to see the significant differences in ball motion just
by using a different layout. As I said above this ball has turned into my "benchmark" ball during league. It offers the perfect mix of skid through the
heads with the right amount of motion in the mid-lanes setting up a strong and consistent backend move.

As you can see in the video this ball allows me to play in a very common area of the lane where my carry percentage goes up dramatically. All in all I feel very strongly that Pyramid has created a very unique product that will suit the eye of many bowlers on a variety of conditions.

The other neat option that we have is that this ball does come in two colors. This is the first time that a High Performance ball has been released with
a color option. The Path Has Been Chosen...The Color Hasn't.

Choose Your Path


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Pyramid Chosen Path Orange/Smoke Reviewed By: fairbanks09 09/14/2013 21:16 ( stars)

44 of 52 people found this review helpful.


 
Like some reviews have already said, I wasn't sure what to expect from Pyramid. However, after seeing how versatile this ball was I have become both a FAN and BELIEVER in this line!


Layout: 55 x 4 x 65
Surface Prep: 2000 (Out of Box)-Polished
With this layout I was seeing a very clean look through the front and middle part of the lane with one of the strongest back end reads I have seen. This ball hits HARD with a very angular motion. Great for anyone with carry issues!

Layout: 55 x 4 x 65
Surface Prep: 2000 (Broke down the polish)
This is when I realized how versatile this ball really is. I was looking for a little more mid lane read but still wanted it to push clean through the heads as well as see a good finishing motion to keep the hitting power I was seeing with the polish. Bringing the ball back to the box finish with the same layout gave me exactly what I was looking for. As aggressive as this ball was polished I was expecting to see the ball over read the dry, but didn't.

Conclusion:
I was able to play multiple angles with this ball regardless of the cover. Although it sounds like this ball is only good for the "fresh" conditions, don't be fooled. You can easily move in and see the same motion as you were seeing from the outside part of the lane. I have and will continue to suggest this ball to anyone looking for a strong, controllable and did I mention.. VERSATILE ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Pyramid Chosen Path Orange/Smoke Reviewed By: TheBowlingGuy 08/27/2013 08:03 ( stars)

39 of 40 people found this review helpful.


 
I found this ball to be much more versatile that I would have originally thought.

I bought this ball for heavier oil, I saw one in our league that they guy just opened up the lane with and shot 800 on a really heavy oil pattern. I love mine on heavy oil all the way down to medium light then it is just too much. I am ordering another on and going to get this one highly polished.

I really like that I can order the ball with the surface polished and at no extra charge.

So far I am a Pyramid fan. Have bought again and will buy their new stuff.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Pyramid Chosen Path Orange/Smoke Reviewed By: TomHart4 04/01/2013 21:20 ( stars)

24 of 32 people found this review helpful.


 
I was very impressed with its ability to provide me with a different look and shape when compared to anything that I have every thrown. The Chosen Path gives me the stron roll and strong flip action I so desire in any bowlingball but this is like nothing I have ever seen!!

I was impressed with the ability of this ball to get through the oil and still finish with a strong powerful angle and the motion with carry better than I have seen.

I have chosen my path and am SO glad I did.

Fast shipping and I liked the personalized touch of having all of the specs checked by hand and initialing before shipping. They make sure these balls are perfect before shipping.

Got my custom finished before shipping at no charge. 500/1000/2000/4000 high polish.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Pyramid Chosen Path Orange/Smoke Reviewed By: dilon22@ddcustompc.com 05/03/2013 13:50 ( stars)

22 of 28 people found this review helpful.


 
This is my third pyramid ball including the Path.
I am an assistant at my pro shop I help sell and stock equipment, as well as
build and tailor custom computers.
We drilled the balls about ten minutes before league was to start.
Our house uses Kegel's Bourbon street.
I started off with the Chosen path
off in practice. Came off my hand clean. Under control, lots of back end
reaction.
So I figured I'd give it a shot... here we go.
X X X X X X X X 9/ XX9
278 First game out of the box.
(10-pin in the 8th and a 9-pin in the 10th)
Finished with a 692 series, out of the gate with it.
Had lots of people turning heads asking what ball I was throwing where and
how they can get one.
I think my favorite comment all night was from the owner of the alley, Jack
Wadley who asked "What ball was that?" "Had a nice angle, crushed
everything"
He typically doesn't talk about the ball, it's always about the bowler how
they were throwing what they need to change.
I had that entire alley's heads turned last night. It was pretty cool.
All in all, I've been throwing storm prior to this, good job. This is a
great ball.
I've never had a ball I can throw well right out of the box.
Great craftsmanship. Honestly phenomenal!
Thank you
DDCUSTOMPClogobigf1TINY
Dillon Robinson
Manager/Owner
dillon@ddcustompc.com
www.ddcutompc.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by dilon22@ddcustompc.com


Pyramid Chosen Path Orange/Smoke Reviewed By: Nickstick33@gmail.com 09/10/2013 12:08 ( stars)

6 of 18 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    217
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
PAP    1/2 down 5 over
 
great ball!! threw 741 first night of league with it. had to polish it to get it down lane further. would highly recommend if you are a high speed low rev player. i went with a 60x5x35 layout and lightly polished.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Pyramid Chosen Path Orange/Smoke Reviewed By: dmcott@verizon.net 03/22/2014 18:21 ( stars)


 
I just picked up a Chosen Path as the price was too good to pass up. My driller and I had assumed that the Perfect Scale numbers on this ball were inflated to help sales. Wrong! This is a seriously strong rolling ball. I purchased the OOB 500/2000 finish, and after throwing a couple of shots to check fit after drilling, I quickly polished it.
This morning I bowled my first few games to try it out... 268, 277.
I'm very impressed with the continuation through the pin deck. It also kicks out the 10 nicely.
I was hesitant to purchase a Pyramid product, I was going to get a Genius to compliment my favorite Mastermind, but decided to try this ball because of its price point. This is one hard hitting ball for the bucks!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Pyramid Chosen Path Orange/Smoke Reviewed By: hulldub22@yahoo.com 01/10/2014 10:16 ( stars)


 
I'm a relatively newer league bowler after taking about 20 years off from bowling (I'm 35, so that means I hadn't bowled competitively in a league since I was a teenager). This is my 2nd year bowling in the league, but am a 200 avg. and needed something with more action and impact around the pins. I've researched premium balls, but hesitated to buy anything expensive because of my lack of experience, and after reading the reviews on the Chosen Path I decided to give it a whirl. I can now say that everything mentioned by every review here is true. The back end on this ball took a game to get used to, but then I came back with a 225 and a 255. Every veteran of the league was asking me about it during my last game, and some were familiar with it because of this site, but they were all commenting on how hard this ball was hitting. I was able to use the middle of the lane and go through the oil instead of the dried up outside which made my prior ball hit too high or slide through the patch of oil if I tried to get it too far to the outside. This ball helped give me the different option I was looking for for lane conditions and I couldn't be more happy with the purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Pyramid Chosen Path Orange/Smoke Reviewed By: leftintexas 11/06/2013 17:17 ( stars)


 
Left Handed - avg speed (15 1/2) avg rev (stroker)- used 4 x 4 x 2 layout - 278 - 300 - 254 / 832 on house shot. Even arc with defined pocket entry and great carry... less 7 pin leaves than any other ball I've owned. Buy it and enjoy.....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 11 reviews

Pyramid Chosen Path Orange/Smoke Bowling Balls 4.91 out of 5 based on 11 ratings. 11 user reviews.