Only show reviews for Brunswick Aura 15 16 Only

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.85Write a Review    Read all 13 reviews

I Love It
 
92% (12 of 13)
I Like It
 
0% ( of 13)
It's Ok
 
8% (1 of 13)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 13)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 13)

Brunswick Aura 15 16 Only Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 01/16/2013 14:07 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
Get ready for a reaction like you've never seen. The Brunswick Aura Paranormal bowling ball will defy everything you know about ball motion!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
Dual Angle Layout - 65* x 5" x 65*
Balance Hole - N/A

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500, 2000 grit Siaair)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I was a huge fan of the original Aura. As a matter of fact I ended updrilled another one after our test for my own use in leagues and love both of them.
The Aura Paranormal was to offer a stronger overall ball motion then the Aura with just as much hitting power as the original.

I used the exact same layout as my test Aura to see the differences between the two. I am expected this layout to pick up a strong roll in the middle part of the lane with a strong continuous motion instead of the sharp break point of the Aura.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
For me the Paranormal offered a much different look then my Aura.

It was much smoother overall with no big move in any one part of the lane. Off my hand the ball was rolling really strong. It is tough to pick up int he video because of the ball color but the ball is in a really strong early roll and that motion continues into the middle part of the lane. As it transitions into the backend the ball picks up a stronger motion and comes off the spot pretty strong.

All in all I had the Aura Paranormal less then my Aura due to the angles I was able to achieve with my Aura. The Paranormal will offer a great compliment tot he Aura and give you another great look from Brunswick.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Aura 15 16 Only Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 10/23/2012 10:59 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
The greats all have something about them. The "IT" factor. Swagger. Mojo. Find yours with the Brunswick Aura bowling ball!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4 1/2"
Dual Angle Layout - 55* x 4 1/2" x 65*
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500 Siaair; Rough Buff)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
The all new Aura was supposed to bring in a new ball motion for Brunswick. Offering outstanding length with a super quick response to friction down lane.

I used a fairly strong layout on this ball. With the thought that Brunswick was trying to get more of a long and strong ball motion I wanted to see what it could really do. With the 4 1/2" pin from PAP below my fingers I expected to see the ball come off my hand strong and read the mid lanes really good allowing the ball to set up nicely on the back end and pop off the break point.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
So I know that every ball that comes out from a manufacturer is supposed to be the greatest thing since the last ball they released. I understand that as bowlers we are always saying what else can they do to the balls to make then react any better then they already do.

The answer to that question is what you see with the Aura. Brunswick has completely changed their reaction profile and it is really good.

Off my hand the Aura was one of those balls that I felt like I could do anything with. From the first shot I threw I was able to create a ton of area.

It performed exactly how Brunswick said it would. It was strong but smooth in the heads with a really strong transition in the mid lanes and the strongest most consistent reaction I have seen from Brunswick off the break point. The fact that Brunswick has made this transformation over the last couple of years brings them right back to the forefront of the ball motion game and you need to look at this ball.

Later on in the night I threw this ball some more and as you can tell by our videos there is a wall left of the lane we use. I literally ran out of room left with this ball. I wanted to see where I could get it back from and I had to stop when I was bumped up against the wall. It is crazy.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Aura 15 16 Only Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 10/24/2012 11:46 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    6 3/16 x 1/2 down
 
Pin to PAP(6 3/16" over 1/2" down) - 5 7/8"
Dual Angle Layout - 65 x 5 7/8 x 70"

Surface Preparation - Out of Box ( 500 Siaair Micro Pad; Rough Buff)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
Brunswick has always been known for making bowling balls with a strong, predictable reaction. Whether it was the Danger Zone, Speed Zone, Inferno or Nexxxus f(P+S), their benchmark reaction was one of controllability and versatility. After looking at the core and coverstock of the Aura, I expected just that... as well as a lot of hook!

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Exactly what I expected! This ball really has the reaction shape of the Zones from the 90's, just a lot stronger! This ball rolls so smooth, it's unlike anything on the market right now. This is a ball that can be used on a wide variety of lane conditions, including heavy oil! With a bit of surface, this could be the strongest ball on the market. It's easy to read, easy to make adjustments and carries wonderfully!

Trust me, you'll see Sean Rash throwing this ball A LOT this year! If you're looking for a new benchmark on heavier conditions, DON'T look over the Aura!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Aura 15 16 Only Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 11/17/2012 15:31 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Brunswick Aura is the new release that we have been waiting for. The Optimum-Flip Solid Coverstock is new this will improve your rev rate and angle towards the pocket. There are a lot of new Bowling Balls that we all can pick from and the new Brunswick Aura is a great choice. Aura has Ultra Low RG Core so that it will increase your pin action.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Brunswick Aura 15 16 Only Reviewed By: GreatWhite 11/12/2012 17:20 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 5/8 over, 5/8 up
 
Although the Aura is a strong solid, it has no problem getting through the front part of the lane cleaner than the Nexxxus. The Aura does a really good job of opening up the lane for me on multiple lane conditions. On my local house pattern, if I get it a little left, it skids through the oil and reacts hard off of the friction at the end of the pattern. If the ball gets a little to the right, it tends to read clean and not over react. I really enjoy throwing the Aura on our local house pattern because it allows me to move deep into the oil and never doubt that it will turn hard off of the friction down the lane. Also for me the Aura is much more predictable on longer/wetter sport patterns than the Nexxxus, once it hits the friction down lane, it turns hard and never quits. Best release of the year!

Barry McKee
Brunswick Advisory Staff
The opinions expressed are soley those of the writer and not the Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by GreatWhite


Brunswick Aura 15 16 Only Reviewed By: Upstateproshop-Chris 11/08/2012 16:38 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4x 3/4 up
 
BALL SPECS
Ball 1:
Pin Length: 4
Starting Top Weight: 2.8 oz
Ball Weight: 15 lbs 4 oz
DRILL PATTERN
Ball: 80 x 5 x 35
X Hole (if there is one): No Hole
Ball 2:
Pin Length: 3.5
Starting Top Weight: 3.2 oz
Ball Weight: 15 lbs 3 oz
DRILL PATTERN
Ball: 45 x 4.5 x 80
X Hole (if there is one): Hole in P2 area just down VAL
BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: 375 rpms
Ball Speed:17.5 mph
PAP/Track: 4 3/4 over 3/4 up
SURFACE PREP
Grit: Ball 1: Box Ball 2: High Polish
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Ball: 1 compound finish Ball 2:polish
LANE CONDITIONS
Lengths of patterns: 41 and 46 feet house shots
Volumes: moderate to high
Type: house
BALL REACTION
Length: Clean through the heads, reads late in the midlane
Back End: Strong with lots of continuation....really hard arc
Overall Hook: A Ton!!!
Midlane Read: Late
Breakpoint Shape: Angular hard arc
COMMENTS
Likes: Ability to open the lane and overall versatility from a ball of this type
Dislikes: Needs oil or you will be throwing it from the next lane
The Brunswick line of balls has been going through a change over recent times. Each ball seems to bring a reaction to the table to fill a void in the line. This ball continues that trend in taking Brunswick ball motion to a new place. When I first heard of the Aura I was wondering how a ball that seemed so similar to the Nexxxus was being released a few months later. I was eager to test the Aura to see how it matched up. The Aura is a different shape from the Nexxxus for me all together and simply will provide options the Nexxxus will not. It is cleaner through the front than the Nexxxus by 2 or 3 boards but what really distinguishes the two is the breakpoint and versatility the Aura brings to the table. The Aura doesn't use its energy until late in the midlane and then as the Nexxxus is taking off with that skid/snap motion The Aura just keeps hooking. I find it to be less skid snappy than the Nexxxus but have more hook and angularity some how. The ball seems to defy the laws of physics with the motion you see. The Aura compared to a similarly drilled Nexxxus hooks 2 or 3 boards more. The ball simply comes back from almost everywhere on the two patterns I tested it on. If it finds some dry it will turn the corner period. There is no doubt about whether the ball will find the breakpoint. It does so predictably every time. The Aura has a breakpoint that just doesn't give up. I liked the motion the first pin up ball provided but it was simply too strong downlane for me to use most of the time so I decided to drill a second ball with the pin down to provide a smoother transition. When the first Aura is going sideways the second one provides a smoother arc to the pocket. After applying a coat of polish I can move right with it some and play a little closer to my comfort zone. It takes surface adjustments really well. Between the two Auras there is a wide enough difference in shape to carry both balls in the bag. The ball has Versamax type versatility on moderate to larger volumes of oil. The Aura is the strongest ball Brunswick has ever produced with its strongest down lane motion! If you are looking for lots of hook with plenty of down lane motion on a wide variety of conditions then check out the new Brunswick technology at your local pro shop today!
Chris Garrett
Upstate Pro Shop
Greenville, SC 864-248-4737
Upstateproshop@charter.net
PBA Member
Brunswick Regional Staff
Vise Regional Staff
The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Upstateproshop-Chris


Brunswick Aura 15 16 Only Reviewed By: DaBoss300 03/17/2013 21:19 ( stars)


 
Ball Roll- the Aura is probably the cleanest Brunswick ball I’ve ever thrown! For a solid ball this ball skids effortlessly through the heads. The Aura even gets through the mid-lanes very easily. The backend reaction of this ball is strong and controllable. I would describe the backend reaction of this ball to be a strong/continuous flip. The ball certainly has a quick reaction to the dry part of the lane.

Strength – Ball skids effortlessly through the heads. Provides a strong and continuous flipping backend reaction. A TOTALLY different ball shape! Something the Brunswick has never had!

Weakness – Feel like this ball doesn’t hook as much as I expected. At times I feel this ball gives me an over/under reaction because it gets down the lanes so easily.

I can use this ball the most when I need a ball to get through the head cleanly and need a ball to give me the most control on the backend.

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.

Jason Jones
Brunswick Staff
Bloomington, IL


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by DaBoss300


Brunswick Aura 15 16 Only Reviewed By: sommersinc1@att.net 01/22/2013 10:17 ( stars)


 
Right out of the box had it drill the way I wanted, rolled 280 first game. WHAT A GREAT BALL,LOVE IT. I know we're going to get along great. Thanks Keith

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Aura 15 16 Only Reviewed By: bbe300 01/07/2013 22:18 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8 x 1/8 up
 
Brunswick - Aura

Dual Angle Layout - 55* x 4 1/2" x 40
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500 Siaair; Rough Buff)

How did the ball roll, react?
The new Aura was exactly what I was looking for in my current arsenal. The ball is really clean through the front of the lane. I had absolutely no issues with the ball hooking early, even on a house shot that had been broken down. The ball has an fairly quick response on the backend but not overly aggressive. The ball stores a lot of energy and creates nice pocket entry angles.

I was very confident throwing this ball because I didn't have to worry about the ball hooking early or if I missed my mark outside, the ball recovered great.

What I liked about this ball:
Clean through the front, solid backend reaction. I felt like I could play multiple lines, with multiple angles and feel like I could strike from a lot of different areas on the lane. All in all this is a great new ball by Brunswick and look forward for more balls in this line.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bbe300


Read all 13 reviews

Brunswick Aura 15 16 Only Bowling Balls 4.85 out of 5 based on 13 ratings. 13 user reviews.