Only show reviews for DV8 Marauder Madness

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.85Write a Review    Read all 13 reviews

I Love It
 
85% (11 of 13)
I Like It
 
15% (2 of 13)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 13)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 13)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 13)

DV8 Marauder Madness Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 10/17/2012 10:18 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
This one's meaner than the last.. declare war on the pins with the DV8 Marauder Madness bowling ball!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
Dual Angle Layout - 60* x 5" x 65*
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500, 4000 Siaair)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
Well DV8 is saying that the Marauder Madness is meaner then the original Marauder. From the looks of the ball out of the box it appears it should have more teeth.

I used a standard pin down layout to see what this bad boy can do. I am expecting this ball to start up sooner then the Marauder with a continuous motion off the break point. I know our buddies at DV8 were very proud of this ball and excited to see what it did for us.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Oh my, the Marauder was a really solid ball release. It did exactly what DV8 said it would and they stepped it up with the release of the Madness.

My first comment after throwing this ball was...Did they get it too close to their high performance ball motion. I swear this is the strongest mid performance ball I have thrown in a long time. I think you will be hard pressed to find a ball at this price point that offers this kind of motion.

Off my hand it was a little earlier then I expected but it did not stop. I swear this ball just kept hooking more and more as it got down lane. The recovery area I had with this ball was incredible. I am a huge fan of mid performance balls because they tend to store up energy better and provide a more consistent ball motion for me. That is definitely the case here. The Marauder Madness is possibly my new favorite ball.

You have not tried a DV8 ball yet, this is a great place to start. You will not be sorry.




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Marauder Madness Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 11/02/2012 16:45 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
DV8 new release in the Marauder line is Madness. The Madness will give you more roll in the front and a strong flip in the backend.
The special coverstock formulation will hold up under a lot of tough oil patterns. Easy to take care with ball cleaner after use and you are ready for the Madness.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


DV8 Marauder Madness Reviewed By: OkiBowling 07/02/2013 22:09 ( stars)


 
Tried ball out in 1st league bowling on 6-30-13. Seems like its a pretty neat ball but, still learning about the ball reacts to different lane conditions. I'm in a 16week league and just finished up in our 9th week. My average before this ball was 160. Give me 7 more weeks and i'll give you another review. Dont forget to remind me!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Marauder Madness Reviewed By: jeff kelley 05/13/2013 20:29 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5.25 by 7/8 up
 
This is a nice compliment to the original Marauder. This ball is about 4-5 boards stronger in the mid lane than the Marauder and is more angular off the break point. I drilled mine with pin up 4.75 inches from PAP with no weight hole. Got exactly what I was looking for. A ball I can leave box finish and get inside and play around 18 or go up to 2000 abralon and polish and play up the boards. The opinions expressed are solely that of the writer and not of the
Brunswick Corporation. Jeff Kelley DV8 Advisory Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jeff kelley


DV8 Marauder Madness Reviewed By: qmastr4540 04/28/2013 22:25 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    221
Sport Shot Average    196
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 out
 
I've spent the last several years loyal to storm products, but have a buddy who throws a hellrasier and said give it a try! I drilled up this ball and have been pleasantly surprised with this solid performer! At first was weary about color scheme, but have to admit these bright colors allow for one to read down lane breaks realiativly easy! Strong performer, solid back end break and can manage carry down conditions without drastic moves! DV8 is helping to put Brunswick back on the map

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by qmastr4540


DV8 Marauder Madness Reviewed By: ben.daniels@gmail.com 03/20/2013 11:45 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    110
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I went from a Misfit to a Marauder Madness and I'll never look back. Love love LOVE this ball. Not only does it look awesome and is probably one of the best looking balls going down lane, but it performs really well. I beat my high score right out of the box and was getting strikes my first game with it. Had it drilled "the big curve" style per DV8's drilling layouts. My average may not be that great and I'm a new bowler, but I still love this ball and would recommend it to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Marauder Madness Reviewed By: mwilliams43 02/23/2013 09:19 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    217
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
With the Marauder Madness, I was looking for something a little more than the Marauder. The Marauder Madness is just that. I left the surface as out of the box, and haven't been disappointed. I found that as I would leave weak 10's or 7's with the Marauder, due to the ball checking up early, the Marauder Madness continues and finishes strong to the pocket. With the mid price balls and low price balls that DV8 offers, so far I have not been disappointed.

I have been able to use this ball on most house and modified house patterns. It had been very predictable.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mwilliams43


DV8 Marauder Madness Reviewed By: laserboypa 01/03/2013 09:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 4"
Ball Weight: 16 lbs
DRILL PATTERN
Dual Angle: 75 x 4 1/2" x 45
X Hole (if there is one): P2
BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: Higher, between 370 and 410 rpm, aka Cranker
Ball Speed: 16.50 mph
PAP/Track: 5 3/8" over and 7/8" up with a high track
SURFACE PREP
Grit: Box - 4000
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Sanded
LANE CONDITION
Length: Multiple
Volume: Multiple
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS and sport
BALL REACTION
Length: 6/10
Back End: 7/10
Overall Hook: 6/10
Midlane Read: 7/10
Breakpoint Shape: 7/10
COMMENTS
Likes: Great compliment to the Marauder
Dislikes: None
This ball is a great compliment to the Marauder. With the box 4000 surface, it can handle a heavier volume of oil than the Marauder. I like how the Marauder Madness reads the mid lane stronger and has a stronger backend reaction than the Marauder. It can be used on the fresh to break down the oil pattern, and then you can switch to the Marauder to smooth out the over reaction with the hybrid cover. It can be used as a benchmark ball for leagues or as another tool for a tournament. The ball can be drilled using standard layouts for symmetrical balls. I really like the overall strength of this ball and it allows me to keep moving left to stay in the fresh oil. If you are looking for a strong solid coverstock ball or a compliment to the Marauder, then go get one today!
Brandon Hinderer
Brunswick Advisory Staff
The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by laserboypa


DV8 Marauder Madness Reviewed By: brunswick802 11/25/2012 01:00 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    205-210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8" right
 
Bowler’s Stats:
18.5 mph
450 rpm
7 degree tilt
35-45 degree tilt

Layout:
60 by 4.5” by 45
No hole
OOB Surface

Purpose:
By the numbers, the Marauder Madness (MM) is supposed to be slightly stronger than the Brunswick Maxxed-Out. Thus, I drilled the MM identically to a Maxxed-out of mine to give a slightly stronger look and a great 1-2 punch on heavier volume oil conditions. This layout also mimics the layout of my original Marauder.

On the lanes:
I’ve thrown this ball on the 44’ WTBA London pattern and our 39’ lower-medium volume house shot. On both, the MM provided great midlane traction and plenty of tip in the backend to carry the corners. On London, the MM allowed me to start deeper than everyone else at 4th arrow and send it out to a breakpoint of 10-11. The strong cover of the MM really let it dig into the pattern, despite the heavier volume and longer length. Traditionally, such a strong midlane read would translate to a decrease in backend response and questionable pin carry. The MM refuses to fit that mold. The carry I got from this ball was very surprising to me when taking into consideration the pattern and my ball roll. On London, the original Marauder, with its weaker cover and surface, was a whole 6 board move right with my feet and I also had to tighten up my line downlane by my moving my breakpoint into 12-13. The Maxxed-out was a 2 board move outside with my feet while keeping the same breakpoint. The Maxxed-out does have a more recovery on the backend, but less in the midlane. I can’t wait to throw the MM on more heavy volume patterns like this.
On my house shot, although on the drier side of medium volume, the MM did fine. The strength of the cover forced me to play in the meat of the pattern without really sending the ball out to the friction right. If I tried to play further right, the cover of the MM coupled with my rev rate and low tilt required me to force it through the fronts a little more than I prefer. This ball for is simply not for drier conditions. That being said, the MM was still more than useable on this pattern. I started out just inside of 4th arrow and projected it to a breakpoint of 10-11. Like before, I saw a strong midlane read and plenty of backend to slap out 10s. I have no doubt that a coat of polish would make this a great ball to smooth out the over under/reaction of house shots. The original Marauder let me move back into the easy part of the pattern by moving 5 right with my feet and 4 right with my breakpoint. The Maxxed-out only required a 1 board move right with my feet and I could target 8-9 at the break. This shows me what a great 1-2 punch the MM and Maxxed-out are for heavy-med patterns. When the MM becomes too much, I know I should be able to immediately switch to the Maxxed-out and have it project a little further downlane.

Overview:
Those of you on heavier volume conditions will absolutely love the midlane bite of this ball. The same goes to those of you with higher speeds coupled with a lower rev rate on more medium conditions. In each case the Marauder Madness is a great ball to blend out the pattern and reduce the over/under seen on today’s house patterns. The way in digs into the midlane while still saving energy for the backends makes it a great choice for sport patterns and (depending on the patterns revealed) could be absolute money at Nationals this year.

Good luck and good bowling!

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by brunswick802


Read all 13 reviews

DV8 Marauder Madness Bowling Balls 4.85 out of 5 based on 13 ratings. 13 user reviews.